We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tea Trips Beijing - Private One-day Tour
Save
Review Highlights
Nice if this is your thing

This was nice to see how tea is made. It was very expensive. A lot of time was spent there on the... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2017
Kerri D
,
swan hill
via mobile
Amazing intro to tea and regional cuisine

We spent an entire day wandering the streets and subways of Beijing with a great guide, Becky. She... read more

Reviewed August 4, 2018
Sandi L
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
  
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
5
1
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
1
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

We spent an entire day wandering the streets and subways of Beijing with a great guide, Becky. She took us to sample a real tea ceremony, then we went to 7 different local eateries to snack on provincial delicacies from hot pot to dessert. It was a real treat. Come very hungry!

Thank Sandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

This was nice to see how tea is made. It was very expensive. A lot of time was spent there on the tour. Unfortunately this was a waste of time gor a lot on our tour and not many sales of tea were made over 200 for small amount. Tea cups were akso way over priced.

Thank Kerri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Nice to see and learn about different types of tea

For sure they will try to convince you that the tea makes them health and cure for a lots of problems but don't buy... it is just rip off place

Thank 351mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2015

Enjoy but save your money. This is an over priced rip off. They try to convince you that tea is what makes them "young" looking and will help you live longer. Very very expensive

1  Thank jeffreyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015

Visiting Chinese Tea House spots can be an informative visit especially if you are interested in knowing about different types of tea. You are also offered various flavors of tea for tasting. But, their prices are specifically designed to rip off tourists who have little knowledge about the local cost of living. Most Tea houses will charge tourists 5-10 times the local retail price. Your travel guide (if traveling under arranged/packaged tour) gets a sizable cut from your purchases and all tea houses have an arrangement with tour guides.

To avoid disappointment I want to help tourists visiting Chinese Tea Houses with the price range. The best quality Jasmine tea from a premium producer in China will cost around 15-20 Yuan for 100-150 grams packs. Other Jasmine tea (non-premium quality) will cost less.

Other flavors of tea will be slightly more or sometimes less expensive depending upon quality and brand. The inflation in price in comparison to Jasmine tea is not too much (example: Best quality Authentic Ginseng Oolong Tea will cost around 30 Yuan 'Tops' for a 150 gram pack and like wise for other teas like litchi tea etc).

4  Thank 01viki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2012

By your tea in a regular tea shop instead, these prices are not reasonable; tea quality was difficult to judge

1  Thank Niklas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I'd wholeheartedly recommend this tea tour to the Beijing tourist or the grizzled ex-pat - as it's difficult to know how else a foreigner could get so close to such high-end teas without being cheated royally. As an experienced tea drinker, I doubled my knowledge in a single day. But even if you're someone who doesn't yet know much about tea, this tour will set you on a lifetime's journey, and tell you much about China in the bargain. Those shy of caffeine would do well to pace themselves and abstain from endless refills. But a hearty, unique lunch should stop your head spinning - until the afternoon at least. Thoroughly good value, good humoured and (probably) good for you.

4  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Awesome tour, excellent food and tea! Would recommend it to anyone passing through the city to get away from the normal tourist sites. Great way to spend a morning and see the old Beijing.

2  Thank dlaw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My company organsied a tour as part of a team-building day and it couldn't have been better. I've never thought of myself as a real tea lover but some of the teas we tasted were real amazing, better than anything I've had. It helps to have an expert tell you what to look for in each cup, explain how to taste and why one tea is different from the next. My only complaint was that the tea area is a bit out of town, so it took me some time to reach. But apart form that, one of the best days out in Beijing. Oh, and the lunch really is out of this world. OMG delish!

2  Thank owally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I was originally hoping for a short 2-3 hour session of tea, we all got more than we could ask for. Nearly 6 hours of food and tea was a lot more than I thought I could handle, but the whole time passed by beautifully. Fully recommended to anyone passing through Beijing. Also, the tour seemed to be made up of many other expat types living in the city. They helped plan the rest of my short stay in Beijing in just a few moments of conversation and napkin writing. Far exceeded my expectations!

4  Thank danations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews