We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Tour-Beijing-Day Tour tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Tour-Beijing-Day Tour
from US$100.00
More Info
from US$160.00
More Info
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,318 results
Traveller rating
1,218
72
9
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,218
72
9
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour mutianyu great wall sales manager tiananmen square guide jackie summer palace international travel service hour layover great tour ming tombs long layover chinese lunch highly recommend this company spoke very good english booked this tour hour visa hotel lobby
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,318 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was so nervous booking a China tour online, you never know if it's for real but the reviews were reassuring... Vivian Tang, patiently and professionally ensured our trip was tailored to our requests...
It took us an hour longer than normal to get through customs because we didn't know where to get the entry visa and we didn't have phone or internet connection but Lisa, our lovely and informative tour guide was still waiting to make us welcome and help us out to the car for 3 days packed full of fantastic sights, culture, history.
Mr Long, our driver, took us door to door, so smoothly and safely, it was a really comfortable and relaxing ride. The 3 star hotel was more like 4 star with an all you can eat breakfast provided every morning. (Wifi was useless)
When booking, I thought it was expensive (as we were travelling on a tight budget,) but considering how much we did and how well we were catered for and looked after for the 3 days, it was actually really great value. It was so nice to have everything done and not have to worry about a thing.
Thanks to Beijing Tour and their very capable staff, we have memories to cherish for the rest of our lives.
My only advice to travellers is to take enough cash - credit cards are not always
appropriate or accepted and we couldn't use our bank cards in any ATM's

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank sarinozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booking was a breeze! Beijing is very cold in the winter but Mike made the tour worth braving the chill. He was very knowledgeable and gave cultural context for each site we visited. The tour was quite long and it felt like I soaked in everything that was available. Tour Beijing should give Mike a raise, his English is great too (which is a plus)! Thanks for a memorable experience.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank techiyahtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2018

Was our first trip to Beijing, China and hike the great wall from Jiankou to Mutianyu was our goal. We made it thanks to the experience of our guide Jack. He made the trip very interesting and explain us all the history of the wall while we were hiking. He gave us the time to do it at our own pace and even took picture of us. Chen drove us to the wall and to the hotel in a very safety manner. Thanks to both of them we had a good time in Beijing. Next time you have the chance to hike the great wall, do not hesitate and ask for Jack, you will not be disappointed. We'll be back soon! Your friend Hector & Silvia from Lancaster, California, USA.-

Date of experience: October 2018
3  Thank 100USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2018

I see several negative reviews here, but I just returned from China and we had a great experience with this company. We didn't have a lot of time, so we booked a private day trip to the Great Wall at Badaling, Tiananman Square and Forbidden City. We worked with Vivian Tang and had no problems booking the tour. Cady, our guide, showed up on time at our hotel, we had a nice clean car (quite comfortable and I am not a small person) . Cady was very knowledgable, had a great historical perspective, and really made the day enjoyable.

I highly recommend this company and if you can get Cady, please do so, I have used several other tour companies over the years and this one is the best.

Only down side is lunch - what is included is a large 4 story "factory restaurant with attached large tourist gift shop" In retrospect I would have gladly paid for my own lunch and eaten somewhere that was good and authentic. The place we went was neither.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank randallheiser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2018

Our initial contact with Tour Beijing was great with Adele helping us to book a 15 Minutes Badaling Helicopter Tour and Great Wall Walking Tour. Angela our local guide was lovely, very warm and friendly.

The night before we were advised by both Adele and our guide Angela that the wind was bad and the Badaling section of the Great Wall was no longer an option. Our choices were to cancel or we could opt to go to Mutianyu for the 15 Minutes Mutianyu & Jiankou Great Wall Aerial Tour And Mutianyu Great Wall Walking Tour option. This was an additional $55USD per person (380RMB or $75AUD pp). Not a cheap upgrade.

We chose to proceed but unfortunately communication wasn't clear and there were a couple of hiccups along the way. Initially we booked through Tour Beijing as everything was included. The tour was promoted as being from 9.00am - 5.00pm and our request to start earlier was gratefully accommodated. However we were hearded back to the car at lunch time and encouraged to buy our own lunch back in Beijing. There seemed a great rush to get us back as quickly as possible - not a full day tour after all but a half day. When this was queried, it was confirmed that yes our lunch had already been paid for and a very good local restaurant was quickly found. Lucky we asked. We were also asked to pay extra for the chairlift and luge, which confused us. This was included in the Badling tour option and we were unaware that these were extras in the Mutianyu one. We were very confused by the whole thing.

Sadly when we queried what exactly the deal was we were met with abrupt and unpleasant emails from Adele. It seems that once you pay, the service dwindles to nil. We were back in Beijing by 2.30pm, having been steered to a Jade factory - despite choosing a private tour to avoid these forced shopping expeditions.

The helicopter flight was magnificent and Angela lovely. Confusion, poor communication and later quite unpleasant correspondence left a sour taste in our mouth on what had started out as a great day was our most expensive activity in China.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourBeijingTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Tour-Beijing-Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Dear Karen d,

We are very sorry to hear you are not pleased with us.
Apologize for the unpleasant experirence.

It seems our 2 similar products made you confused. Hope we can explain again to make it clear.
As the first inbound OTA collaborating with Badaling Airport, we have competitive price for Badaling Great Wall helicopter service, that's why the price for this tour is much more cheaper.
Badaling Great Wall is the most crowded section of Great Wall, and there are always long lines. To save traveler's time, Badaling helicoper tour includes cable car ride.

On the day before your tour, we got confirmed information from Badaling Airport that the tour was impossible due to heavy wind, so we provided 2 options for your reference: 1: cancel the trip and get full refund 2: go to Mutianyu Great Wall instead, but the helicopter tour was uncertain (all depends on weather).

As the itinerary changed, and Adelle quoted different prices based on different conditions, our guide misunderstood it so she made a mistake on lunch. However, she realized it after she double checked with our office. We admit this is our fault.

There is only one way to the exit at Mutianyu Great Wall, and there are so many shops along the way.
Those shops are not commision-based shops working with travel agents.
Such shopping street on the way to exit is populare in many tourist sites in China. It's a part of the site.

Thanks very much for taking time to write this review, which makes us recognize our defects.
We will adjust our helicoper tour products, to avoid such confusion.

We do hope we have chance to serve you in the future.

Best regards,




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2018

Very friendly company who dealt with our requests with efficiency and good humour - we asked to be picked up at 9 rather than 8 so we could get breakfast at our hotel! We only had one full day in Beijing and there is no way we could have done this all on our own. Lisa our guide met us at our hotel and took us to meet Mr Chen our driver - off we went to Tiananman Square and the Forbidden City and skipped the lines as the company had already booked and sorted entry requirements etc. Lisa spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable about the history and architecture of the places we visited, she was friendly and good company, taking photos for us. Mr Chen was an excellent driver and the car was extremely comfortable, they provided water and tissues for us in the back. The drive to the wall was about 90 minutes and we stopped at a local Farmer's Garden restaurant - Lisa had ordered for us in advance according to our likes and any food allergies we had and I have to say it was one of the best meals we had during our whole trip to China and Hong Kong. A quick walk to the shuttle bus to take us up to the ski lift to the wall. We took the toboggan back down, great fun and would recommend it! The wall itself was amazing, the weather wasn't great (cold, dry and a bit misty) but there were hardly any people there so got some great photos and you could appreciate the workmanship and the sheer size of it.
A wonderful day out - we arrived back at our hotel around 5.30 but they would have dropped us somewhere else in the city if we had chosen to. Thank you!!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank tidytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews