We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, well-placed, but with one or two caveats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Beijing Square Hotel
Ranked #150 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 1 November 2015

This hotel is pretty, there's no doubt about that. When you walk in, you really feel like you're entering someone's home. The beautiful entry way, the common area, the rooms, all are pretty and feel very authentic. When we arrived, there was even a young girl strumming on the Chinese mandolin. We certainly felt like we had arrived in China. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the shower worked adequately well.

The front desk didn't speak hardly any English. I'm not holding that against them, as this seems to be the norm, but it's just a head's up. Breakfast was good and more than adequate to get the day started.

Two things broke the spell for us, and will make us hesitate in returning. The first was an incredibly bad order coming from the sink. It smelled like someone had stuffed dead animals down the drain a month ago. We spoke to the front desk, but their response was just to give us a little fragrance dispenser. This didn't help at all, and we hated coming back to the stinky room at the end of the day. To be fair, our friends who stayed with us in a different wing did not have this problem.

The second was the noise. The common room is right next to half of the bedrooms and its design (old open courtyard that was covered) acts as an echo chamber. Every chair scrape, word spoken, cough emoted sounded ten times louder than it needed to be. Not sure what they can do, but at least put some anti-scrap things on the bottom of the chairs. The walls are very thin, and we heard everything that was spoken by our neighbors.

It's a shame that these two items took away from the experience, because the hotel is well-situated and very pretty.

Room Tip: The "family" rooms are located near the common room, and thus more suspect to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with a couple of friends and we absolutely loved it! One of my friends was from China also but he confessed that he had never stayed in a Hotel like this. He was, as we, couple of friends from Mexico, fascinated.
If you are looking for an original place located right in the middle of where regular chinese live, you should stay here.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank IvetteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Stayed here for eight nights and thoroughly enjoyed this unique courtyard style hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable, although if you re expecting a Western hotel chain experience you'll be disappointed. Price included a reasonable breakfast. Felt strong sense of security without it being obvious. The location is excellent. Located in one of the many hutong lanes makes this a great place to experience everyday life in Beijing, with great eateries and a couple of good bars practically on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I stayed at the Old Beijing Squarevwith a friend for 2 nights. On arrival at about 3pm nobody seemed to know we were coming, our room wasn't ready so we had to wait for it to be cleaned even though it looked like there were hardly any other people staying, and then they put us in the wrong room type.... Having seen the lead in room type I would strongly recommend upgrading to the next room type , a garden room, which has a very small enclosed courtyard off it.
The rooms are VERY small with the toilet just next to the beds so you'd want to be very comfortable with your roomie!! Hardly anyone at the hotel spoke English and seemed to rely on google translate on the phone,,
Location wise you couldn't get better. Being in the Hutongs was great... You get a great idea of how the locals lived and still do. Lots of good restaurants around ( the breakfast at the hotel is extremely average but having just come from North Korea we enjoyed it), and you have to go to Mr Shi's for dumplings! They were amazing!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wilsonsa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We just returned from staying at the Old Beijing Square Hotel. Our taxi from the airport had some trouble finding the hotel, but after asking a local for some directions we eventually tracked it down.
We were 2 couples and stayed in the Family Garden Rooms, which were quite spacious. I asked for 2 quiet rooms but the hotel staff nonetheless put us directly next to the main entrance area where everyone has breakfast. The noise was a bit much in the mornings and unfortunately did disturb us relatively early.
The location of the hotel is great - the hutongs around the hotel are very busy and loud but once you walk into the hotel area it's like an oasis and really very quiet and relaxing. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even gave one of our party a small present for his birthday, which was very thoughtful.
The hotel is rated as a 4 star establishment, but I would definitely say it's more at the lower end of 3 stars. Our room was not clean at all! There were cobwebs on the walls, we found clumps of long hair on the floor and the breakfast tables were NEVER wiped between servings. Our main shower head had a big hole in it resulting in water streaming out of it, so we had to use the smaller handheld shower head. The toiletries were also not changed before we arrived, so we had half used shampoo and shower gel. The drainage in the shower was also very poor and the toilet area was flooded every time we had a shower. Breakfast was included in our rate, but it was incredibly basic. You're allowed to pick either a coffee or orange juice, not both! Also, they could really do with offering some fruit salad...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at the Old Beijing Square Hotel. If you truly want to experience the city, the location could not be beat. The maze of neighborhoods known as the "hutongs" provided excellent walking adventures. The 350-year old courtyard home, now a small hotel with 18-rooms, was an oasis of calm in the busy, huge city of Beijing. We felt welcomed and the atmosphere was friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasHoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015

it was a nice surprise to discover this hotel, from the entrance, you feel that you enter the history of china and Beijing.
the stuff was very helpful, the hotel had kind of warm making you travel through thousands of centuries.
the only regret, that they don't have room bathroom but a common one for all the rooms.
if i go back to Beijing, i will choose it again!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fathi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager D, Director of Sales at Old Beijing Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Thanks a lot for your patient comment. Old Beijing Square Hotel is distinguished as one of the typical structure themed as folk music. Every week, musical performance is held for every guest to enjoy the beauty of chinese instrucment. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#41 of 6,606 in Beijing
524 reviews
Houhai
Ji House
Ji House
#201 of 6,606 in Beijing
22 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#66 of 6,606 in Beijing
264 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Beijing Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Beijing Square Hotel

Address: No.38A Baochao Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: C$102 - C$5,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Beijing Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a typical two-entrance quadrangle, Old Beijing Square Hotel, with a long history of 300 years, locates at the thousand-year-old Baochao Hutong. It now becomes the must-go tour site of old Beijing hutong trip, serving as the bridge to experience old Beijing Hutong and quadrangle architectural culture. As the only folk music themed hotel, every guest room is named by ethical instruments and folk music performance is held every week, and thus the whole hotel is burst with folk music artistic atmosphere. Our hotel is located at No.38,Baochong Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing, with an housing area of together 700 square meters. Nearby is the Bell House, as well as South Luogu Alley, Houhai, Lord Chunqin's Mansion, Lord Gongqin's Mansion, North Sea Park, Imperial Academy, Jingshan Park, as well as the Lama Buddhist Temple. Our location is perfect and transportation is convenient. Elegant and comfortable, the hotel is of rare quietness in this fast-pace city life. Lively 200-year-old date tree stands still within the courtyard , till now fruitful on autumn; back the courtyard is the luxuriant wisteria, below which stone table stands, which could be the perfect place for friends' chatting. The hotel could provide you a nice place to enjoy the very leisure in the busy life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Beijing Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing