We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
25
28
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
28
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr shi's dumplings enclosed courtyard bell tower chinese style other guests beautiful hotel hutong english taxi
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 65 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with a couple of friends and we absolutely loved it! One of my friends was from China also but he confessed that he had never stayed in a Hotel like this. He was, as we, couple of friends from Mexico, fascinated.
If you are looking for an original place located right in the middle of where regular chinese live, you should stay here.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank IvetteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Stayed here for eight nights and thoroughly enjoyed this unique courtyard style hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable, although if you re expecting a Western hotel chain experience you'll be disappointed. Price included a reasonable breakfast. Felt strong sense of security without it being obvious. The location is excellent. Located in one of the many hutong lanes makes this a great place to experience everyday life in Beijing, with great eateries and a couple of good bars practically on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2015

I stayed at the Old Beijing Squarevwith a friend for 2 nights. On arrival at about 3pm nobody seemed to know we were coming, our room wasn't ready so we had to wait for it to be cleaned even though it looked like there were hardly any other people staying, and then they put us in the wrong room type.... Having seen the lead in room type I would strongly recommend upgrading to the next room type , a garden room, which has a very small enclosed courtyard off it.
The rooms are VERY small with the toilet just next to the beds so you'd want to be very comfortable with your roomie!! Hardly anyone at the hotel spoke English and seemed to rely on google translate on the phone,,
Location wise you couldn't get better. Being in the Hutongs was great... You get a great idea of how the locals lived and still do. Lots of good restaurants around ( the breakfast at the hotel is extremely average but having just come from North Korea we enjoyed it), and you have to go to Mr Shi's for dumplings! They were amazing!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a courtyard
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wilsonsa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2015

We just returned from staying at the Old Beijing Square Hotel. Our taxi from the airport had some trouble finding the hotel, but after asking a local for some directions we eventually tracked it down.
We were 2 couples and stayed in the Family Garden Rooms, which were quite spacious. I asked for 2 quiet rooms but the hotel staff nonetheless put us directly next to the main entrance area where everyone has breakfast. The noise was a bit much in the mornings and unfortunately did disturb us relatively early.
The location of the hotel is great - the hutongs around the hotel are very busy and loud but once you walk into the hotel area it's like an oasis and really very quiet and relaxing. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even gave one of our party a small present for his birthday, which was very thoughtful.
The hotel is rated as a 4 star establishment, but I would definitely say it's more at the lower end of 3 stars. Our room was not clean at all! There were cobwebs on the walls, we found clumps of long hair on the floor and the breakfast tables were NEVER wiped between servings. Our main shower head had a big hole in it resulting in water streaming out of it, so we had to use the smaller handheld shower head. The toiletries were also not changed before we arrived, so we had half used shampoo and shower gel. The drainage in the shower was also very poor and the toilet area was flooded every time we had a shower. Breakfast was included in our rate, but it was incredibly basic. You're allowed to pick either a coffee or orange juice, not both! Also, they could really do with offering some fruit salad...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2015

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at the Old Beijing Square Hotel. If you truly want to experience the city, the location could not be beat. The maze of neighborhoods known as the "hutongs" provided excellent walking adventures. The 350-year old courtyard home, now a small hotel with 18-rooms, was an oasis of calm in the busy, huge city of Beijing. We felt welcomed and the atmosphere was friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasHoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews