We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Beijing Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$147
Park Plaza
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
US$134
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$146
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$328
US$171
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$148
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$129
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$190
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
25
28
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
28
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr shi's dumplingsenclosed courtyardbell towerchinese styleother guestsbeautiful hotelhutongenglishtaxi
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2017

The hotel is renovated from an old Hutong style house, and it definitely maintains the ambience well. The rooms are very comfortable and furnished nicely.

Breakfast is simple, but it does the job. We opted for their lunch twice. It was customized to our dietary needs and was quite good.

The staff speaks limited English. But they are always ready to help. Many thanks to one of their staff members - Jenny - who helped us with most of our queries.

Overall, highly recommended!

One tip: The Hutong area is primarily a network of narrow alleys.If you are leaving the hotel to catch a train/flight, call the taxi and KEEP A LOT OF BUFFER TIME. We missed our train because of the traffic jam in Hutong area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank we_the_trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

This was originally our second choice for hotels. It was more hidden than I thought. The longer we stayed the more we fell in love with the neighborhood and the staff of this hotel. They helped us out so much when we really needed it and noticed as they helped other guests as well. Some of the staff didn't speak English but they really do try hard to help you regardless using translating apps. I also really enjoyed reading my book and drinking tea in the enclosed courtyard. If we were to return we would definitely come back to this place.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jetters13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2016

A very good alternative to the fancy hotels and modern possibilities in Beijing. It is lost in a huton not far from the bell tower. After my 4th time in Beijing, I appreciated the fact that I really lived the Beijing experience among the Beijing people. That is the real advantage of this place. The hutong house is nicely renovated and the former yard of the hutong has become the meeting place under a nice veranda. My parents from Europe loved it.
Having said that, some drawbacks tha tyou shoudl be aware of:
- the bathroom is extremely small;
- we only got room cleaning on the second day of our stay out of four. That means no towler replacement, no floor cleaning, no sheet replacement but also not paper tissue.
- some forgotten personal items from the previous guests were still here. I assume they did not do a thorough investigation of the rom in between;
- the nights are a little bit bumpy as the walls are as thin as a sheet of paper. You can hear the bipping sounds of the cell phone next door. So you need to bet that your neihbours are not noisy, do not wake up at 5am or do not come back from party at 5 am.
- the personnel is very nice but not very professional (I have to say that it happens a lot in China as they are not used to servicing people; all this is very new to them and there is not real education, qualification or training that they are getting). We asked for breakfast and they did not bring anything. When we reminded them, they replied that we needed to ask for the menu because they have three choices of breakfast. Of course, asking for breakfast did not imply that we then wanted the menu... (sic) anyway, breakfast is not their specialty at all. So with or without, does not really make a difference.

Room Tip: avoid room near kitchen. Two rooms are separate from the yard (east and west sides). They might be quieter
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galopade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2015

This hotel is pretty, there's no doubt about that. When you walk in, you really feel like you're entering someone's home. The beautiful entry way, the common area, the rooms, all are pretty and feel very authentic. When we arrived, there was even a young girl strumming on the Chinese mandolin. We certainly felt like we had arrived in China. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the shower worked adequately well.

The front desk didn't speak hardly any English. I'm not holding that against them, as this seems to be the norm, but it's just a head's up. Breakfast was good and more than adequate to get the day started.

Two things broke the spell for us, and will make us hesitate in returning. The first was an incredibly bad order coming from the sink. It smelled like someone had stuffed dead animals down the drain a month ago. We spoke to the front desk, but their response was just to give us a little fragrance dispenser. This didn't help at all, and we hated coming back to the stinky room at the end of the day. To be fair, our friends who stayed with us in a different wing did not have this problem.

The second was the noise. The common room is right next to half of the bedrooms and its design (old open courtyard that was covered) acts as an echo chamber. Every chair scrape, word spoken, cough emoted sounded ten times louder than it needed to be. Not sure what they can do, but at least put some anti-scrap things on the bottom of the chairs. The walls are very thin, and we heard everything that was spoken by our neighbors.

It's a shame that these two items took away from the experience, because the hotel is well-situated and very pretty.

Room Tip: The "family" rooms are located near the common room, and thus more suspect to noise.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with a couple of friends and we absolutely loved it! One of my friends was from China also but he confessed that he had never stayed in a Hotel like this. He was, as we, couple of friends from Mexico, fascinated.
If you are looking for an original place located right in the middle of where regular chinese live, you should stay here.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank IvetteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews