We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference and holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Ranked #21 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Fantastic hotel, after the initial argument about room rate (which was not necessarily the hotels fault) everything was great. Stayed in a room with Executive floor access which was well worth the extra cost as every evening free drinks and snacks were served (including botels of Moet). Hotel staff were very freindly and accomodating but the language barrier remained an issue (but this is a given in China). Room was very spacious and very well appointed. Would definetlfy stay again. Stayed for a week in May 2011

Room Tip: Shop around for the best rate and confirm booking with hotel
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthHoliday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Living in Beijing, we decided to spend a night at the Shangri-La for a romantic getaway. When we entered the hotel, we entered another world. We were approached with warm greetings and genuine smiles. Check-in went very smooth. Our new wing room was spacious and clean. We loved the living room area with the Chinese tea set. What a great touch to enter a room filled with a fragrant tea note. We booked S.T.A.Y. for dinner. Wow, amazing. From the amuse-bouche throughout dessert, the food was outstanding. Service was top-notch including very professional wine guidance. Hands down, dining at its best. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The new wing rooms are great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLF_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Check-in in room, if needed somethinng, I was asked before I could do it!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I frequent ShangrLa Hotels and always found to be consistantly excellent. The hotel has two towers, and in the past I stayed in the first tower. Rooms and Suites are large, however the new wings rooms especially on the Horizon Floor are warm and very comfortable and very Asia. Staffing is excellent and in a city like Beijing with its impossible traffic, its good to call ShangrLa Beijing "your" residence.

Room Tip: Stay in high floor in new wing on Horizon Club. Ask for a room that has a window that opens as in th...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

It was very pleasant hotel very organized,very helpful crew and very friendly.
Home away from home.

Room Tip: The garden view is excellent
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_motawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

After arriving from a tedious and long flight, of course we were all worn out. The Shangri-La were very welcoming and showed us to our rooms which were spacious and had all the right amenities for our stay. We had lunch in 'Cafe Cha', a bustling, quintessential buffet style restaurant which although there was quite a large language barrier, we got what we wanted! Noodles ....
The hotel was not situated so amazingly for all the normal tourist attrations , ie. Tiannemen Square, The Forbidden City, but of course they were only a taxi ride away, which surprisingly were not that expensive! Beijing Zoo is very near, amazing pandas there. Overall, I would say the Shangri-La is great to stay, but not for too long otherwise it can become to feel like you're in a station. Service is good, staff are friendly, just right for about 2-3 nights

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweety9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Upon arrival you receive a very warm welcome from the staff, who are extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby is impressively decorated.

We were escorted to our room which was the main disappointment. The room and bathroom were old and not well maintained. The lampshades and curtains were stained, the towels were old and had holes in them. The bed however was extremely comfortable. Overall the hotel is extremely dated.

It appears that the hotel has recently been refurbished. It has a new wing, where the rooms are fantastic and the old wing where the rooms are disappointing and above all do not reflect a 5 star standard. To upgrade to the nice rooms you have to pay more.

The hotel is located far out of central beijing (erica 20 min drive) and for this reason, I would not recommend this hotel for site seeing tourists. The only two site which are in within easy reach are the zoo and the summer palace. (not to forget the olympic stadium).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,474 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#20 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#65 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $147 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing