We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$156
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$67
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$216
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
273
556
176
54
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
556
176
54
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforbidden citywangfujing streetdongsi subwayminute walkswimming capwithin walking distancenice hotelthe main shopping areanon smokinglarge roombit datedhotel is locatedbreakfast buffetairport shuttlemajor attractionslanguage barriernice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2018

Overall the hotel is in a very good location and within walking distance from many historical attractions.
The rooms were fairly large and well appointed.
Generally everything was clean except the carpet could have a little more attention, but overall acceptable.
Checking out we overheard other guests complain about some expensive charges for tea bags, and bottled drinks from the room fridge.
The hotel blocks several thousand yuan more than your reservation rate and then does a final billing upon checkout. The front desk called housekeeping and has them inventory the room to determine if any chargeable items were consumed before the final bill is prepared. Anyone in a hurry to check out may want to consider this to allow more time in the schedule.
We received a final bill reflecting the exact room rate on the reservation but the final credit card charge was about $50 US dollars more (315 Yuan).
The reservation was made through Booking.com so I checked with them and found out the hotel just plain overcharged us. I was assured that the hotel would credit our card within 10 days.
We didn't use any of the facilities in the hotel other than get our boarding passes printed. The service was charged as 10 Yuan per page, which I paid directly in cash.
Food and room service prices seemed fairly high but in line with other hotels in the area.
We tried to eat local foods except for breakfast and morning coffee which we found at a nearby McDonald's.
We arranged to go to the Great Wall for an afternoon through the "Tours Desk" in the lobby.
We were quoted 800 Yuan for a private car and driver for up to 8 hours. This was for transportation only and no entrance fees or guide services.
We easily negotiated this amount to 700 Yuan.
The car was a new VW. The service was as represented without any additional charges.
We took the subway to several locations. We would recommend using it along with the express train to and from the airport.
The hardest part is buying the tickets through the vending machines.

Room Tip: Interior facing rooms (a view only of the roof) probably are the most quiet,
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank porterjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018

This hotel is value for money . Centrally located for both shopping and near by attractions. We booked a club room which was large and well equipped. The room was kept immaculate. The club room was adequate, and the staff were very friendly. The lobby bar was pleasant and spacious. Check in and out was a smooth experience. Travel to this hotel from Beijing west train station costs 42 yuan.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank annlKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018

I don't know where the name "Prime Hotel" came from. The chinese name for this place is 'overseas chinese grand hotel'. A lot of these 'overseas chinese' hotels were built 10-20 years ago and were built and fit out with the best quality materials that money could buy. Unfortunately, this 'style' of dark woods, carpet, marble, and grand spaces has gone slightly out of fashion and (with a name like "prime hotel") you can see that branding and marketing to foreigners is not a strong point. However, this is what makes this hotel absolutely EXTRAORDINARY value. I was just looking for a few nights stay in a big room with my kids and this place absolutely delivered - and for the same price as the backpacker place we were staying a few nights before!!! So if you want giant room, giant super comfortable bed, fluffy white towels, marble floors and carpet - at backpacker accommodation prices... then stay here. The location is very good too and back alleys of hou hai, lama temple, forbidden city etc are all within 45 minutes WALK away (or short taxi ride)

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kang Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

POSITIVE
Very good location, VG value for money with respect what they offer and how much you pay.
The rooms are quit big with all advertised facilities , clean
The wifi was ok . I was staying on the 4th floor with no problem.
The personnel are always willing to help you and take any corrective actions when needed. They found my glasses.
The food is rich but the European food is limited to 3-5 items
They help you to find easy a taxi which is very cheap in Beijing
Ask to put you on the outside rooms , they have better view
RECOMMENDATIONS WHILE STAYING IN BEIJING
If you are from abroad (Europe- USA ) take a taxi and go to Silk market OR Perl market (city center) . Apart from silk and pearls jewelry they have excellent imitations of ALL western brands, Lacost, Polo, Gucci, Calvin Klein, Armani, etc. They are excellent imitations with very good materials and prices. There is too much
price bargaining. If you manage to lower the price by 60 to 70% then buy it.
Try Chinese food is good and tasty AND I lost 3 Kg in one week
Wiper is not working in China download WeChat, is working perfect. Also download an of line Beijing map mobile application, download also i-translator of line
China is a life experience save money and go. Life is too short, different culture, food ethics, happy people, honest, no thieves in the streets, ok too much police, VG places to see etc

NEGATIVE
Not all staff speaks fluent English and some cases causes problems
The air-condition in my room could not be adjusted so in spite I switch it off it was still cold. They try two times with no results.

NOW BE CAREFUL FOR MY ADVICES WHEN STAYING IN BEIJING
From the ATM located in the hotel (China Bank) I withdraw 2000 Chinese Yuan (20 notes of 100 CHY. (Approximately 265 Euros) The note of 100 CHY is the largest they have. On the other day the taxi driver (no English ) with his hands show me that 7 out of 20 notes are copies, NO Value. So check your money when you get them. Never allow anybody to taught your money. In my case either somebody from the China bank put fake money on the ATM or the taxi driver change the real money with fake while he was checking them (magic hands). ASK any Chinese person to explain you how to recognize them. The collar of Mao is not engraved and there is no water print above numbers 100.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the outer of the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ioannisangeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

Pros: room was fairly big. Gym was one of the more better equipped ones with squat rack and actual barbells.

Cons: Here we go.

First issue, the service staff has abysmal English. Anything outside the realm of check in, luggage, paying a bill or check out, they would be incredibly confused. I understand this is a Chinese hotel, however, this is the capital and this is supposedly a five star hotel. Shouldn't there be at least one staff member who could speak somewhat fluently to facilitate foreign tourists when Beijing is one of the hottest tourist spots for foreigners? An example of this was when we were stuck in the streets of Beijing having an incredibly difficult time hailing a taxi. We called the hotel asking to see if they could get us a car to pick us up but they were incredibly incompetent and in the end, we had to find our own overpriced taxi instead.

Secondly, the hotel is incredibly "scammy" in the sense that they will try to nickel and dime you and get you to incur extra charges. Ive been in a bunch of hotels now in my current trip, and room slippers are almost always in the closet. Prime hotel had 110rmb slippers there to try to trick you to open them while the standard disposable ones were tucked under a cubby in the nightstand.

Third, while the room was big, the shower was dirty and the poor lighting didn't help. On the edges and on the caulking, there was black mold and the shower leaked.

Fourth, the location of the hotel. It was located in a very hotel concentrated area while having no local businesses around it aside from a convenience store. You had to walk 15 minutes in every direction to find anything to eat or buy.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you are not proficient in Mandarin because the hotel is 0 help.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lwell1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews