We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby not chique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
Ranked #218 of 6,610 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We were booked in as part of a tour so not our choice. It's a depressing place to stay. The rooms are OK but the place is dark and dingy, the carpets stained, the atmosphere full of stale cigarette smoke. The breakfast is good but the bar area functional at best and drinks expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveinNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

We were on a group tour, so I cannot comment on "value for money", as we paid an all-inclusive price. The room was big, and well equipped, and the wi-fi was good. Breakfast was really good, with a very wide choice of dishes. As we were on a group tour, we did not have to worry about location, we were being taken to various places by coach. However, I would definitely like to stay here if I was traveling to Beijing on my own, as the hotel is really well located, well within the second ring road, and less than 2 km from Tiananmen Square. Plus, as everywhere in China, the staff were very very polite, cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: Any room ought to be good! Ours faced the main road, noise was NOT a problem !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alex280546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Nice rooms of a good size with free WiFi (limited of course). Tea and coffee and kettle. 2 free small waters everyday. Currency exchange machine in lobby which exchanges dollars and pounds. Staff are friendly and helpful but with limited English. The breakfast is buffet and is acceptable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Reception staff were very nice and efficient.

We get to the room.. here is where it all goes wrong.

Room was filthy.

A black pubic hair was found on one of the twin beds.

More long black hairs found on one of the chairs under the desk.

The room had been heavily scented to disguise cigarette smoke. My wife called downstairs to complain about this and the fact we booked a double room and not a twin. Nothing was done to change that.

Whilst we prepared to go to bed we noticed that the smoke was getting worse and appeared to be coming from the ventilation from the bathroom..

My wife called down to reception again to complain and eventually we recieved a call from the manager..he offered kindly to change rooms.

We moved to a room that had no smoke issues but still had the same dirty look and feel and had the added problem of noise from the main road.

Another pubic hair found on the light fitting next to the bed...

The bed linen was clean but a mascara stain was found on one of the pillow cases..

Overall i would not recommend this hotel in a million years however the staff became more helpful as the evening progressed. We thank them for their help but thats all that was good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jimmershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable with good air conditioning - important as it was pretty warm when we arrived.
It is a good location although traffic like anywhere in Beijing is pretty bad.
Breakfast is excellent, a good variety of food, well topped up buffet. It gets busy, and tables are hard to come by, depending on when the tours are going out but if you go early it is excellent.
The local area is good and very safe, plenty restaurants and a few good bakeries. We had street food from a local vendor which was great. There is a Mcdonalds 5 min walk away if needed. Also a park around 15mins away.
The metro is close though we didn't use it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Breakfast was ok, nice freshly made omelette and good selection of local and international food.the first morning we ate in a different place, although the reception pointed us to the closed restaurant.
Bedroom clean. Obviously there were guests who did not adhere to the non smoking rules but we smelt smoke every day, . We stayed 4 nights. Lobby staff speak little or no English, asked for a knife to cut an orange even with sign language the first girl said no then she said yes. The second looked on and also said no. Finally as I approached the bar the bar attendant opened the drawer and gave me the knife. On the day or departure we tried to check out saying we had nothing to pay. Betty the receptionist was very rude and when we explained that we needed our key back to pick up the hand luggage she threw the key at us. Housekeeping staff on the corridor were friendly

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. By western standards its a mid range hotel in need of a good clean. Our room consisted of 2 beds, both rock hard but this is how the chinese like their beds and as they are the ones this hotel is catering to its to be expected.complimentary 2 bottles of water were left every day and a mini bar fridge in room. If you want room service you must go down to reception first to pay. Room had a bath with shower overhead. Had liquid dispensers for soaps but empty, obviously preferred you to use i one bar of soap or small gel tube.Hairdryer in room worked. Only CNN on loop was all you could get on tv, the rest is Chinese but not here to watch tv. Found breakfast an okay mix of chinese and western fare. Fresh fruit, juices, youghurt cereals, boiled eggs etc was fine for start of your day.We found the seat covers and carpets to be in desperate need of a good clean or throw out. Hotel had in house souvenir shop, very expensive, massages available. Staff spoken little to none in english so relied on a guide. Across the road there are numerous shops to buy extra water, dont buy large flagons , thet look like water but have high alcohol content. Some western items ie. Icecreams etc can be bought. Hotel is home of Peking Opera which had a great feedback but we were unable to go so only word of mouth. Walking distance to nearby theatre, show fantastic for acrobatics,gymnastics etc, book a vip seat unless you want to have a chinese neighbour constantly talking or spitting on the floor ( its the chinese way) The actual hotel is wheelchair friendly but nothing outside is.In a relatively good area and central. (If you have found this review helpful please tick the box tks )

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CheltenhamBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
Beijing Dong Fang Hotel
#435 of 6,610 in Beijing
334 reviews
Inner Mongolia Hotel Forbidden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jianguo Garden Hotel
Jianguo Garden Hotel
#154 of 6,610 in Beijing
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing

Address: No.175 Yong'an Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100050, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 6,610 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $92 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing