We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pearl Market (Hongqiao Market)
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pearl Market (Hongqiao Market)
from US$38.00
More Info
from US$48.00
More Info
from US$72.00
More Info
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
313
370
226
66
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
370
226
66
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sales people bargain hard asking price knock offs fake bags initial price starting price silk scarves bargaining skills original price real price stall holders shop keepers buy something silk street great shopping fun experience
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

There are too many inexperienced buyers patronizing this place. Especially Americans, who don't know how to bargain for good prices. They see something that they think if nice, and it may be a little cheaper than back in the US, however the price in China should be much much lower since this is where everything is made. I have seen better prices in Bangkok, or other cities. The saleswomen on the 2nd floor are very aggressive, to the point they grab you and push you back into their stall preventing you from leaving. It was difficult to even look and see what they had because they are in your face offering you what they want to sell, instead of you picking out your own item.
In the lower level by the food court is where we got counterfeit 100 Yuan notes from the Agriculture Bank of China ATM. Do not trust those machines!!!! Read the forums about counterfeit money, and how cashiers are quick to change out real notes for fake notes.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Travelsalot1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

My family was on a group tour and we were scheduled to go to the Temple of Heaven but I had read that the Pearl Market was close by. It was actually directly across the street, so we ditched the group tour to do some shopping. The internet states it opens at 9:30, but it didn’t open until 10:00 so we only had 30 minutes to shop. This place is huge, so we hurried through it and picked up the most items for the best prices in our 10 day trip. We went to the bizarre in Shanghai and the prices were much higher and they didn’t bargain as much. This is a great place to pick up cheaper items to take home to family and friends. Be ready to bargain and start at 1/10 of the price and go up to the price you feel comfortable with. You can get some amazing deals. I just wish we would have had at least a half day here.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Luv2GoArlingtonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

I visit HongQIao Pearl market last week ,and try to get some gife for my friends. I walked from the 1st floor ,they sale for scarf and electrics,second floor is for luggage and clothes,the most interest is upstairs,it's attact me very much ,there are the pearls world,third floor is cheap pearls ,if you want something for fun or feak brand jewelry,the fouth floor are the best ,i walked all the stores ,and i stopped at FangHua ,that is a beautiful place,all the real pearls and nice quality ,all the saleslady can speak very good english ,and sevice well ,the most important thing is ,FangHua has opened in HongQiao Market more than 30 years ,and served more than 130 importanr members of the government and famous person,i bought several thing from there ,if i have time i would like to come back again.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank julie19870105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

If you dont want to bargin dont go here. You find a lot of clothes, bagage, etc. The qualiyt varies and you need to bargin.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 533larss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

Perhaps it's just the name, or that it did start off primarily as a central market focusing mainly on pearls. These days, the Pearl Market is a multi-storey mall (of sorts) that offers a wide variety of products. Keeping the tradition there alive, vendors selling jewellery (including pearls, of course) take up the top two (4th and 5th) floors and a part of the 3rd floor. The lower floors are occupied by other stalls selling clothes, toys, electronic goods, watches, and souvenirs (many of which make nice gifts for tourists). For those who get peckish whilst there, a few food vendors (including a number of fast food chains) may be useful. It's a useful place to spend an hour or two, and its location to the east of the Temple of Heaven park makes it easy to combine a visit to both sites.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank ianwyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews