We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chang An Grand Hotel Beijing
Ranked #3,249 of 6,464 Hotels in Beijing
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our room was lovely although the beds were very firm but then you find that in most hotels in China. There was a good choice at breakfast and I can recommend the porridge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    97
    73
    30
    20
See reviews for
30
59
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our final hotel which we stayed in during our China trip with Wendy Wu.

After the previous hotels this was a bit of a disappointment.

First impressions of the lobby area are Wow! However the rooms, in particular the bathroom needs a complete overall.

The room itself was the smallest out of all of the hotels, and with 2 suitcases in the room it was rather cramped. However there where the usual facilities - hairdryer, tea making facilities etc but no iron. The lighting in the room was very poor and was accentuated by the heavy dark furniture in the room. Even with all the lights on it was very difficult to see at night if you wanted to read.
The bathroom was what let the accomodation down big time. Out dated bath with mould growing in the tile grouting - not a particular nice sight.

The dining room was very pleasant and spacious however if you did not arrive at 6.00am when it opened, trying to find a clean vacant table 30 minutes after was nigh on impossible.
Eventually after looking around for several minutes we decided to sit at a "used table" which appeared to have been vacated. Only when we sat down did the staff then come and clear away the dirty used plates etc. On observation this seemed to be the usual scenario, tables only cleared when needed!
The food also was very slow to be replenished and so there was a lot of waiting around for food.
On the whole a bit of a dissapointment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger8MiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hotel has good access to Beijing's ring road system. Rooms are clean and of a good size. Breakfast offers plenty of Asian and western choices.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorbertW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Chang An Grand Hotel was quite dirty and felt damp and the food (although we did only have breakfast) was not good. Having stayed in a number of hotels throughout China, this was one of the worst.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeRae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a CITS tour. The hotel just was not up to the standards we were expecting from a 5-star hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, the beds really were rock hard. I made the mistake of falling backwards onto it from exhaustion from the 19 hours of flying to get there when we first checked in, and gave myself a bruise.

The edges of the bathtub were moldy and the whole bathroom needed a major facelift. The carpets were lifting, bumpy and stained. The bathroom door had a funny little air vent that allowed everyone else in the room to hear exactly what you were doing in there - so much for privacy! The walls were thin between the rooms, so much so that one night, a loud snorer was in the room next to us and he kept me awake all night with his noise. The air conditioner in the room was hopelessly inefficient - by far the worst of the hotels we stayed in - and the mini-bar door was broken. We notified the staff and they did not fix it throughout our 4 night stay with them. Other travelers on our trip in the same hotel found their mini-bar fridges, though the doors did close, were not cold.

The staff have a funny way of keeping notes on what you like and then replicating this. I discovered when we ordered ice the first night, they delivered a bucket of ice every night. The first night, I slept with a bottle of water next to the bed, and there appeared one every single night afterwards. We returned to the hotel in the early afternoon one day and I noticed the bathtub mat was rolled up as it had been when we first arrived. I made a mental note to fix it after we returned from dinner. When we got back to the hotel, the bath mat was back in the tub where we liked it and the beds were turned down, the water was beside my bed, and the ice bucket was full. Good service I suppose but I felt more like they were watching us and taking detailed notes...

The buffet breakfast, which was actually very nice, was scarce when hordes of travellers arrived. They started to line up at 5:45am for the 6am start and by the time we arrived at 6:30 one morning, there was 1 sausage and two eggs left in the entire hotel. There were rarely any clean plates - the staff simply couldn't keep up with the demand - and we ended up picking up two serving platters to eat what little food we could find.

We asked three different hotel staff members to give us a recommendation about a good local Chinese restaurant, and they all told us there were none and insisted we stay to eat in their very overpriced restaurants in the hotel. It was quite obvious they were told they were not allowed to recommend anything nearby by their management as we found some very nice Chinese and Korean places nearby for half the price they were charging for limited choices of Western food in the hotel. If we were ever to go back to Beijing, I would definitely find another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank canadagrl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We just checked out of this hotel today
The hotel was pretty good. However, we found the room a bit small for a 5 star hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent. There was a huge variety of preparations.The staff were very polite and courteous. The service was good. There was free Wi-Fi in the lobby and in the Cafe Restaurant and we used it to the fullest. The major problem was of language. The reception did not know how to speak English. There was only one person in the entire reception and concierge who could at least speak broken English. Our telephone in our room was not working so I had to go all the way to the lobby and call housekeeping. When he came to our room, he found out what the problem was but he could not converse as he only knew English. The beds are a bit hard but we managed

The nerest subway station, 'Jinsong' is 2 km away so you will have to take a taxi to get to it. There is an exchange counter in the lobby. Taxis are available in abundance. Just ask the concierge for 'Taxi'. If you form a sentence, he may not understand you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vikaskini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury, england
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel offered large, comfortable rooms and with an excellent range of choices for breakfast. There is a swimming pool and a gym and most of the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: In the evening go to the 27th floor bar for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yuanda Road
Schonbrunn Hotel Beijing
Schonbrunn Hotel Beijing
#2,904 of 6,464 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ritan International Hotel
Ritan International Hotel
#156 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
China International Exhibition Centre
Novotel Beijing Sanyuan
Novotel Beijing Sanyuan
#158 of 6,464 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#98 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Panjiayuan
King Wing Hot Spring International Hotel
Panjiayuan
Henan Plaza
Henan Plaza
#515 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang An Grand Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang An Grand Hotel Beijing

Property: Chang An Grand Hotel Beijing
Address: No.27 Huaweili, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100021, China
Region: China > Beijing > Panjiayuan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#362 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chang An Grand Hotel Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chang An Grand Hotel is located in Chaoyang, where the majority of Beijing's Foreign Embassies are and home to the World Center with Beijing’s bustling Central Business District. Minutes from China’s historical Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Chairman Mao Zedong Memorial Hall and driving distance to “The Great Wall of China”. Close by is the well-known Sanlitun bar street shopping area. Be amazed by Olympic Park, built for the 2008 Summer Olympics, stroll the famous Silk Street and you can browse the neighboring Antique Mall City as well as catch up on your reading at the Capital Library.Our professional Guest Service staff and our unique architectural style complimented by traditional Chinese décor welcomes you to the beautiful Chang An Grand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chang An Grand Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing