We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chang An Grand Hotel Beijing
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$171
US$162
Hilton
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$91
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
US$245
US$161
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
29
102
78
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
102
78
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperb roomup to datesubway stopsilk marketwesternerstaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our final hotel which we stayed in during our China trip with Wendy Wu.

After the previous hotels this was a bit of a disappointment.

First impressions of the lobby area are Wow! However the rooms, in particular the bathroom needs a complete overall.

The room itself was the smallest out of all of the hotels, and with 2 suitcases in the room it was rather cramped. However there where the usual facilities - hairdryer, tea making facilities etc but no iron. The lighting in the room was very poor and was accentuated by the heavy dark furniture in the room. Even with all the lights on it was very difficult to see at night if you wanted to read.
The bathroom was what let the accomodation down big time. Out dated bath with mould growing in the tile grouting - not a particular nice sight.

The dining room was very pleasant and spacious however if you did not arrive at 6.00am when it opened, trying to find a clean vacant table 30 minutes after was nigh on impossible.
Eventually after looking around for several minutes we decided to sit at a "used table" which appeared to have been vacated. Only when we sat down did the staff then come and clear away the dirty used plates etc. On observation this seemed to be the usual scenario, tables only cleared when needed!
The food also was very slow to be replenished and so there was a lot of waiting around for food.
On the whole a bit of a dissapointment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger8MiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hotel has good access to Beijing's ring road system. Rooms are clean and of a good size. Breakfast offers plenty of Asian and western choices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NorbertW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Chang An Grand Hotel was quite dirty and felt damp and the food (although we did only have breakfast) was not good. Having stayed in a number of hotels throughout China, this was one of the worst.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeRae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a CITS tour. The hotel just was not up to the standards we were expecting from a 5-star hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, the beds really were rock hard. I made the mistake of falling backwards onto it from exhaustion from the 19 hours of flying to get there when we first checked in, and gave myself a bruise.

The edges of the bathtub were moldy and the whole bathroom needed a major facelift. The carpets were lifting, bumpy and stained. The bathroom door had a funny little air vent that allowed everyone else in the room to hear exactly what you were doing in there - so much for privacy! The walls were thin between the rooms, so much so that one night, a loud snorer was in the room next to us and he kept me awake all night with his noise. The air conditioner in the room was hopelessly inefficient - by far the worst of the hotels we stayed in - and the mini-bar door was broken. We notified the staff and they did not fix it throughout our 4 night stay with them. Other travelers on our trip in the same hotel found their mini-bar fridges, though the doors did close, were not cold.

The staff have a funny way of keeping notes on what you like and then replicating this. I discovered when we ordered ice the first night, they delivered a bucket of ice every night. The first night, I slept with a bottle of water next to the bed, and there appeared one every single night afterwards. We returned to the hotel in the early afternoon one day and I noticed the bathtub mat was rolled up as it had been when we first arrived. I made a mental note to fix it after we returned from dinner. When we got back to the hotel, the bath mat was back in the tub where we liked it and the beds were turned down, the water was beside my bed, and the ice bucket was full. Good service I suppose but I felt more like they were watching us and taking detailed notes...

The buffet breakfast, which was actually very nice, was scarce when hordes of travellers arrived. They started to line up at 5:45am for the 6am start and by the time we arrived at 6:30 one morning, there was 1 sausage and two eggs left in the entire hotel. There were rarely any clean plates - the staff simply couldn't keep up with the demand - and we ended up picking up two serving platters to eat what little food we could find.

We asked three different hotel staff members to give us a recommendation about a good local Chinese restaurant, and they all told us there were none and insisted we stay to eat in their very overpriced restaurants in the hotel. It was quite obvious they were told they were not allowed to recommend anything nearby by their management as we found some very nice Chinese and Korean places nearby for half the price they were charging for limited choices of Western food in the hotel. If we were ever to go back to Beijing, I would definitely find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank canadagrl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We just checked out of this hotel today
The hotel was pretty good. However, we found the room a bit small for a 5 star hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent. There was a huge variety of preparations.The staff were very polite and courteous. The service was good. There was free Wi-Fi in the lobby and in the Cafe Restaurant and we used it to the fullest. The major problem was of language. The reception did not know how to speak English. There was only one person in the entire reception and concierge who could at least speak broken English. Our telephone in our room was not working so I had to go all the way to the lobby and call housekeeping. When he came to our room, he found out what the problem was but he could not converse as he only knew English. The beds are a bit hard but we managed

The nerest subway station, 'Jinsong' is 2 km away so you will have to take a taxi to get to it. There is an exchange counter in the lobby. Taxis are available in abundance. Just ask the concierge for 'Taxi'. If you form a sentence, he may not understand you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vikaskini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews