We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese 3 star hotel minutes from Forbidden City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redwall Hotel Beijing
Ranked #1,888 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 24 April 2010

If your looking for a standard no frills 3 star hotel, the Redwall is for you. Located just 5 minutes walk from the north wall to the Forbidden City, and less than 15 minutes to the shopping street Wangfujing, its hard to beat. Rooms are standard and the hotel has a large annex, which I stayed in, which made for a long walk to the room from the lifts.
The rooms are functional, although I had no shower as such, just a hand shower in the bathroom, which means the everything in the bathroom is drenched by the time you have finished! The condition of the rooms, lobby and hall ways is well maintained, and at around $50 a nite, this place is great value. Expect a distinct Chinese feel.
Downside is that there is no restaurants close to the hotel, and being a Chinese hotel, don't expect English channels on the TV, I found just 1. Beds are surprisingly not rock hard which make for a change.
Overall not a bad place to stay, although those wanting more action, bars and restaurants at your fingertips, had better stay in Chaoyang not Dongcheng.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2010

It was our home for the week. Everyone was friendly and accomadating. We loved the little shop next door with the young couple and a toddler. We bought our water there and all sorts of other stuff. We have very fond memories of the area. Even the place to eat on the other side of the hotel was nothing to look at but the food was the best. We had the best taxi driver whom we miss and would call on again when we go back. Also we made a friend that we still stay in touch with and always gave us direction and good advice. We were in and out at all hours and still felt safe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We decided to spend a few days in Beijing on the way to Taipei. The hotel had good reviews here and the location looked good for the main sights. The first thing is that it is not very well known, so most taxi drivers during our stay could not find it without some guidance (I speak Chinese quite well, so it was not a language issue, just that it is smaller hotel). But once we had checked in and realised it was right next to Jingshan park, it was easy enough to get the taxis to find it. If you don't speak Chinese, get a map with big writing on, or get the hotel address written down in Chinese before venturing out.

Initial impressions are that the hotel is reasonably clean and organized, but looks a bit worn out inside. Things just feel a little tired. We'd booked a medium class of room, but it was not available so they put us in a tiny room for the first night and said we could change the next day. The TV didn't work and the bed was really hard.

The next day we asked them to move us and after some discussion they gave us a business room which was much bigger and nicer, and the TV worked. The bed was still really hard but I guess that's the Chinese preference. Hot water is a bit of a problem outside of the morning period - it's warm but just not very hot.

The TV is all in Chinese and there are no western channels available. I assume this is down to censorship laws so not really the fault of the hotel. However, there is pay TV for movies, although it is far too easy to trigger it accidentally. My wife did twice and did not even realise until we checked out. It was about 10 dollars a time. Seems a bit steep, especially considering how easy it is to do it accidentally. But in China you get used to being shaken down with things like this, so it goes with the territory.

Internet speed was good, although via cable as no wireless.

The location is great - few minutes walk from back side of Forbidden City. About 10 minutes walk from subway, but you have to cross couple of roads on the way which is not much fun thanks to Chinese driving habits. There is a small street just around the side of the hotel which has some nice small restaurants if you can speak a little Chinese it helps. Some are a bit pricey for what they are, so I am pretty sure they get out the foreign menu when westerners come in. But we found a really nice dumplings place with just a couple of tables, and a really friendly lady who ran the place. One steamer full of dumplings is about 60c (US) and a beer on top another 60c or so. It's these kinds of places that make it all worthwhile, and convince you that not everyone catering to tourists is out to scam you.

Overall not that bad, but not great either. Maybe we are a bit spoiled as I am sitting in Taipei now in a hotel with similar price that is just incomparable - friendly, clean, great room gadgets and a huge bathroom with jacuzzi and steam room. But then you don't go to China for the hotels, you go for the sights - and those admittedly are amazing. But if you want a bit of China without the grief, hassle and the spitting in the street, then forget the mainland and head to Taiwan!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This is really a good choice despite of all the negatives review given by other viewer. We went in a family with young children and old people. Because the hotel only have lift up to 3rd floor, which our room is at 4th floor, the bell boy recommended the reception staff to change the room to 3rd floor for us. This is really a very warm welcome to us. We are staying in superior standard room. The rooms are clean, big and comfortable. Bed is not hard. You can get all you need in the room. Just note that there will be charges when you used some of the extra stuff in the room, toilet and movie programme. This is similar to other Hotels just that non-mandarin tourist may have a problem understanding. This is my 3rd trip to China, and you know it is not easy to get a clean, and good environment hotel. I would say Red Wall can comparable with 4* hotel. We didn’t try the breakfast in the hotel which is 38RMB, as outside small shop selling at a lower price, app <10RMB, although outside restaurant environment is not very good. Hotel location is within walking distance, app 10-15min to forbidden city and Jinshan park. Not all taxi driver know the place, you have to told them is along “Wu Xi Da street” on the right side before they turn to “Jin Shan Qian street”. Look out for their logo. The conceige here are very friendly, they will ask where you are going and see whether you need any advise. But they don’t know English, pls do not get agitated if you think they have left you out or not treated you better than the mandarin speaking tourists. The conceige will recommend you some shows to watch, if you don’t want is ok, but the hotel can get the best seat for you, worth it. We choose the acrobat show. Within this hotel, there are restaurants (Chinese, western), money changer, tour booking, etc.. Chinese Restaurant is nice but price higher than outside, western food I would say “not good”. In generally Beijing food are very salty, do ask for less less salt. Do try their 1-day tour to great wall, only 180RMB (lunch included), this is the cheaper comparing with booking a taxi. If I go to Beijing again, I will definitely stay in Red Wall again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

People who have complained about this hotel are crazy. It's clean, warm, conveniently located, cheap, all the rooms have TVs, free internet access, hot water, kettle & tea and fresh towels every day.

We have been travelling for a month so maybe we've just become used to grottier place s, but for £20 a night we think it's amazing. We have loved staying here

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guffington_Post
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

The Red Wall is extremely well situated at the back of the Forbidden City. It was stunningly good value with extremely well motivated polite staff. The food was good- a generous breakfast and there are really decent rooms with free internet and good facilities, including bureau de change. All the key staff speak really good English and its close to the areas you'd want to visit as a tourist. If you are looking for a central hotel with good amenities for business or pleasure you can't go wrong.. We intend to use this as our main base for future trips. A great find in the heart of Beijing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabulousFidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I can only assume competitors to the Redwall have written such negative reviews.
This is a very good hotel with extermely helpful staff, the location is great. Every morning we went for a morning stroll to a local park (forget the name, but like everything else it's practically facing the hotel) to watch locals with swords practicing Tai-Chi before they got the subway to work and the open air ballroom dancing in freezing temperatures.
I have done a bit of travelling and been in rooms were you can't swing a rat never mind a cat, but this hotel i recommend (bear in mind the price)
The rooms are cleaned every day, bathrooms are spotless, toiletries replaced everyday and the resturaunt is not as bad as i expected but as an original reviewer mentioned, there is a market around the corner with an array of snack stalls, small restuarants and cafes.
The good reviews have covered anything else i would say, i would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#20 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,381 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,617 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,256 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#66 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,545 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwall Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwall Hotel Beijing

Address: No.31 Shatan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,888 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $84 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwall Hotel Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The buildings of the hotel are arranged like a court which is similar to European hotel and is different from the normal hotel of high buildings. The construction area of the hotel is 14000 square meters. The hotel has about 200 rooms of modern decoration or Chinese court style. The soft tone of the hotel, the elegant and bright lobby, the classic and exquisite decoration and natural & romantic de ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Redwall Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wall Beijing
Hotel Red Wall
Red Wall Hotel Beijing
Beijing Red Wall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing