We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$156
US$130
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
US$181
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$325
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$66
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$207
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
43
151
132
54
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
151
132
54
38
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 418 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2010

It was our home for the week. Everyone was friendly and accomadating. We loved the little shop next door with the young couple and a toddler. We bought our water there and all sorts of other stuff. We have very fond memories of the area. Even the place to eat on the other side of the hotel was nothing to look at but the food was the best. We had the best taxi driver whom we miss and would call on again when we go back. Also we made a friend that we still stay in touch with and always gave us direction and good advice. We were in and out at all hours and still felt safe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We decided to spend a few days in Beijing on the way to Taipei. The hotel had good reviews here and the location looked good for the main sights. The first thing is that it is not very well known, so most taxi drivers during our stay could not find it without some guidance (I speak Chinese quite well, so it was not a language issue, just that it is smaller hotel). But once we had checked in and realised it was right next to Jingshan park, it was easy enough to get the taxis to find it. If you don't speak Chinese, get a map with big writing on, or get the hotel address written down in Chinese before venturing out.

Initial impressions are that the hotel is reasonably clean and organized, but looks a bit worn out inside. Things just feel a little tired. We'd booked a medium class of room, but it was not available so they put us in a tiny room for the first night and said we could change the next day. The TV didn't work and the bed was really hard.

The next day we asked them to move us and after some discussion they gave us a business room which was much bigger and nicer, and the TV worked. The bed was still really hard but I guess that's the Chinese preference. Hot water is a bit of a problem outside of the morning period - it's warm but just not very hot.

The TV is all in Chinese and there are no western channels available. I assume this is down to censorship laws so not really the fault of the hotel. However, there is pay TV for movies, although it is far too easy to trigger it accidentally. My wife did twice and did not even realise until we checked out. It was about 10 dollars a time. Seems a bit steep, especially considering how easy it is to do it accidentally. But in China you get used to being shaken down with things like this, so it goes with the territory.

Internet speed was good, although via cable as no wireless.

The location is great - few minutes walk from back side of Forbidden City. About 10 minutes walk from subway, but you have to cross couple of roads on the way which is not much fun thanks to Chinese driving habits. There is a small street just around the side of the hotel which has some nice small restaurants if you can speak a little Chinese it helps. Some are a bit pricey for what they are, so I am pretty sure they get out the foreign menu when westerners come in. But we found a really nice dumplings place with just a couple of tables, and a really friendly lady who ran the place. One steamer full of dumplings is about 60c (US) and a beer on top another 60c or so. It's these kinds of places that make it all worthwhile, and convince you that not everyone catering to tourists is out to scam you.

Overall not that bad, but not great either. Maybe we are a bit spoiled as I am sitting in Taipei now in a hotel with similar price that is just incomparable - friendly, clean, great room gadgets and a huge bathroom with jacuzzi and steam room. But then you don't go to China for the hotels, you go for the sights - and those admittedly are amazing. But if you want a bit of China without the grief, hassle and the spitting in the street, then forget the mainland and head to Taiwan!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This is really a good choice despite of all the negatives review given by other viewer. We went in a family with young children and old people. Because the hotel only have lift up to 3rd floor, which our room is at 4th floor, the bell boy recommended the reception staff to change the room to 3rd floor for us. This is really a very warm welcome to us. We are staying in superior standard room. The rooms are clean, big and comfortable. Bed is not hard. You can get all you need in the room. Just note that there will be charges when you used some of the extra stuff in the room, toilet and movie programme. This is similar to other Hotels just that non-mandarin tourist may have a problem understanding. This is my 3rd trip to China, and you know it is not easy to get a clean, and good environment hotel. I would say Red Wall can comparable with 4* hotel. We didn’t try the breakfast in the hotel which is 38RMB, as outside small shop selling at a lower price, app <10RMB, although outside restaurant environment is not very good. Hotel location is within walking distance, app 10-15min to forbidden city and Jinshan park. Not all taxi driver know the place, you have to told them is along “Wu Xi Da street” on the right side before they turn to “Jin Shan Qian street”. Look out for their logo. The conceige here are very friendly, they will ask where you are going and see whether you need any advise. But they don’t know English, pls do not get agitated if you think they have left you out or not treated you better than the mandarin speaking tourists. The conceige will recommend you some shows to watch, if you don’t want is ok, but the hotel can get the best seat for you, worth it. We choose the acrobat show. Within this hotel, there are restaurants (Chinese, western), money changer, tour booking, etc.. Chinese Restaurant is nice but price higher than outside, western food I would say “not good”. In generally Beijing food are very salty, do ask for less less salt. Do try their 1-day tour to great wall, only 180RMB (lunch included), this is the cheaper comparing with booking a taxi. If I go to Beijing again, I will definitely stay in Red Wall again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2010

People who have complained about this hotel are crazy. It's clean, warm, conveniently located, cheap, all the rooms have TVs, free internet access, hot water, kettle & tea and fresh towels every day.

We have been travelling for a month so maybe we've just become used to grottier place s, but for £20 a night we think it's amazing. We have loved staying here

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guffington_Post
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The Red Wall is extremely well situated at the back of the Forbidden City. It was stunningly good value with extremely well motivated polite staff. The food was good- a generous breakfast and there are really decent rooms with free internet and good facilities, including bureau de change. All the key staff speak really good English and its close to the areas you'd want to visit as a tourist. If you are looking for a central hotel with good amenities for business or pleasure you can't go wrong.. We intend to use this as our main base for future trips. A great find in the heart of Beijing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabulousFidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews