We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room yet clean and safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Chung King Mansion Hostel
Ranked #105 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 11 November 2009

When we got to the hostel, we were transferred to a diff hostel in the same bldg named hollywood guesthouse. The room was small and the bathroom was unpleasant. We were advised that we will be transferring to our booked hostel the next morning. It was a relief when we got to the hostel. The hallway was nice, and the receptionist, we called, "my friend", was very accomodating. Though the room was still small, it was good enough. The bathroom was very clean, good A/C, flat screen tv ( but no cable), and the room itself was something that would make you feel good and comfortable. They cleaned the room every other day while we were out but not a thing was lost. Good security. We will consider coming back to this hostel. =)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuschiapink03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

We had booked a room for 2 nights before our departure to Bangkok & Koh Samui so were looking for a budget/cheap hotel to stay in. Big mistake!! As soon as we found the building we queued at the two tiny lifts waiting for 15mins for a lift as it was so busy and packed - there were many ppl queuing next to us ... all I can say is I held on tighter to my handbag!! Once we reached our hotel (there were many hostel type hotels in this building) the reception showed me the room we were to stay in, the room he showed me can only be described as a rat hole! It was a dingy little single room with a nasty looking single bed in a dirty looking room, I refused to take the room and the man offered us an upgrade for a fee, I knew this was a rip off!! but as it was already gone 11pm and after a 12hr flight I was soooo tired at this point so just paid like an extra $20 and upgraded to a different room which was a tad better but still a tiny basic room with two single beds. The window was boarded up with what looked like paper and the bathroom was so tiny only 1 person could stand inside. Not to mention the 7 cans of cockroach spray I saw outside the bedroom door. My bf pushed the other bed against the bedroom door and we lay on the hard beds but could not sleep!! This is the worst room/hotel I have ever stayed in! We checked out the next day!! I would NEVER stay here again even if I was homeless! I would rather sleep on a park bench in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angel1976London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Chung King Mansion with many small hostels,yours never stay with us,but we think stay with others in the same building.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Эдуард Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Даже в хостеле иногда лучше брать номер а не койку, тк в общих номерах, слышала были таракосы и клоп...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lahrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JEAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: les etages avec ascenceurs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessilimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#470 of 729 in Hong Kong
32 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,897 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#104 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,265 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,141 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Chung King Mansion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Chung King Mansion Hostel

Address: Block C, Floor 7, Flat C5, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $39 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Chung King Mansion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Chung King Mansion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Chung King Mansion Hotel Hong Kong
New Chung King Mansion Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing