We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #80 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Next to the MTR station. Close to temple street. No frill hotel. Hotel has a good Chinese restaurant which serve value for money dim sum, a coffee lounge that serve sandwiches and alcoholic beverages. Poor in meeting facility.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerrickLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,419)
There are newer reviews for The Cityview Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is located in close proximity of Nathan Road, which at night is always bustling with people shopping, eating, etc... If you arrive after 9PM it will be hard to find a place to eat (unless you like fast food), as a lot of the restaurants there are closing. If you are in transit, it may take some time to get to the hotel (depending on traffic) so if you are in a rush to get to the airport early I suggest you choose a hotel closer to the airport. Apart from that you'll get a great hotel. One last tip is if you choose this hotel book online, if you book at the airport it will cost you more.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but if you like a view (other then buildings) ask for a room facing the othe...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedimaster10248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Great to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to serving soon to The Ctiyview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

For the price, I thought this was a great hotel. I was afraid the room would be very small after reading many reviews, however was pleasantly surprized that the room was good sized. The restroom area was smaller, and the closet for lugage wase not bigenough for me to lay my carry-on suitcase down in it, but there was a jack that I could put in the room for the suitcase, and still have pleanty of room to walk arround.

The location was very good, only a few minutes walk to the Metro subway, we did not use the bus from the hotel. Also there were many places to eat nearby and a few small convienance stores.

The only down side was there was a firestation nearby, and sometimes you would hear the trucks going to calls.

Traveler tip. When in Hong Kong, buy an Octopus card from Metro. You can ride busses and the subway much cheaper and not need to look for change for tickets. There is a deposit for the cards, but you get that back with any remaining ballance from the card.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven_A_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Great to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon to The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Cityview is a reasonably good hotel. Not great, but not bad either. It does offer some things worth considering. Probably most importantly is the location. It is literally half a block away from the Yau Ma Tei MRT subway station, and one block back from Nathan Road. I found this very convenient from transferring to/from the airport, and for using the MRT to get around Hong Kong. The rooms are small, even after being graciously upgraded to an executive room. I think the size is probably generous by Hong Kong standards though. The furnishings were modern, and the bathroom was particularly well styled with modern tiles and glass. I found the front desk staff to be friendly and polite. Overall, for the price, this hotel is fine, and I would probably stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to executive room. Ones facing away from busy Nathan Road might also help cut noise...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingK1w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Your kind comments regarding the good services from Front Desk Staff has been passed on to them and we are also pleased to note your value of our hotel great location.
We look forward to welcoming you soon to The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Rooms are good size .Very clean and good shower area.MAIN Shopping road Nathan road 5 minutes walk .Hundreds of shop in this street . and very busy .Staff very friendly .Train station 2 minutes walk.Took the train to Disney hong Kong.Did not eat at this hotel.Lots of eating places nearby .Nice big loddy yo relax on floor level.I TRAVELLED IN JAN 2009

Room Tip: i stayed on the 20th floor which was very good
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rookesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Cityview in May 2012 and found it very good value and provided everything we needed for a short stay. The rooms are on the small side, but perfectly adequate, the hotel staff were helpful with everything we asked and the location was excellent for sightseeing and travelling around - MTR station on the corner of the street and markets a few streets away. The fridge in our room didn't work but we didn't really need it. Air con worked well and bed was comfortable (on the hard side but I prefer this).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon to The Cityview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I would recommend this hotel. We stayed here in late April 2012 and found the location to be great. It's in between both the ladies market and night market so easy access to both (a few mins walk). Its also right around the corner from a MTR stop and just off Nathan Road.
We booked a Deluxe room but received a free upgrade to a Premier room upon arrival. After reading lots of reviews about how small the rooms are in HK, we werent expecting much but the room we stayed in was actually pretty reasonable in size.
The buffet breakfast was excellent. Lots of variety.
The only negative was you could hear the water moving through the pipes when an adjecent room had a flush of the toilet or shower. Talking and TV noise couldnt be heard, just the water and only when it was quiet, ie you didnt have the TV on. Not a big negative as it didnt really bother us but something to think about if you are a light sleeper. Overall, we thought it was a great value hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ite03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the good buffet breakfast at The City Cafe and particularly value our hotel great location.
Thank you and look forward to serving you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#115 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,745 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#34 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,175 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#100 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,686 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#88 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $108 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing