We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Kitchen Savvy

Kitchen Savvy
Ranked #867 of 11,578 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$0 - US$98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Description: Kitchen Savvy prides itself on its honest cooking, using high quality, fresh ingredients, thoughtfully prepared and presented, and offered at a reasonable price. An all-day-dining restaurant, with a contemporary decor reflective of the quiet elegance and modern aesthetics of the artsy boutique hotel, Hotel Stage, Kitchen Savvy serves made-to-order breakfasts including a self-serve cereal and fresh fruit bar; three-course lunch menus featuring meat, seafood and vegetarian mains; afternoon tea sets of scones or mini pizzas with tea/coffee; and design-your-own dinner sets aim to delight all palates, with curated wines from both Old and New World, specialty soft drinks and craft beers to match. With warm wood panels and subdued lighting, the restaurant's cosy lounge area is conducive to either contemplation or conversation, while the bright and airy dining area is spacious and enlivened by colourful wall-writing and whimsical decorations.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We had breakfast included in our meal rate and rightly or wrongly, my expectations weren't high. However we were all very pleasantly surprised. Excellent coffee, great service, good choice of food and tasty. Can't ask for much more really!

1  Thank rwhite732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris L, Director, Guest Relations at Kitchen Savvy, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

Dear rwhite732

We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations at Kitchen Savvy - and should have let you know earlier, please accept our profound apologies.

Indeed our breakfast offering has garnered quite a following among visiting guests and the local population, for all the reasons you have outlined in your comments. We trust you would be our KS ambassador and spread the word far and wide.

Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

Made a reservation over the phone for the evening without much trouble. Arrived at the restaurant located on the 1st floor of the hotel.

Nice atmosphere despite the usual table talking loud. (Well that’s HK anyway)

The view is not much to look at but it’s nicely decorated inside and the staff are polite and well trained.

A bread basket with bread sticks and assorted items were served. (Nicely presented and tasty)

The wife ordered the set dinner menu and I ordered a-la-carte.

Starter was a chilled spot prawn. Visually looked nice but was very bland with not much taste.

The mains were the grilled halibut and the braised rendang ribs. Both dishes were nicely presented but lacked any wow factor. Both tasted ok but not up to par on the price tag.

The desert was the creme brûlée and was nicely presented and tasted really good. (Highlight of the menu)

Finished off with a double expresso (Lavazza) but disappointing as it tasted watered down. (Pity, cause lavazza is up there with illy coffee)

With a couple of glasses of wine and a still water bottle the damage was around 1000HK.

Nice experience overall and probably hard to find something similar in the Jordan area.

Will return? Yes if in the area but will keep exploring others in HK.

1  Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

Tired of great Asian dishes we chanced upon kitchen savvy. We ordered a lamb rack and spicy salami pizza and two glasses of the recommended red wine.

Restaurant is light, airy, clean and quiet.

Both meals were exceptional.

Cost was $686hk.

Staff were great.

Cannot recommend restaurant highly enough.

1  Thank SHERIDANvicpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvino T, Manager, Marketing Department at Kitchen Savvy, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Dear SHERIDANvicpark,

We are glad to know that you decided to come visit Kitchen Savvy and try our delicious lamb rack and spicy salami pizza together with two glass of wine.

Thank you for complimenting our restaurant, we have a great Kitchen Savvy team to manage and maintain our restaurant.

Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Hotel restaurants are seldom truly stylish. Kitchen Savvy at Hotel Stage is an exception. It's modern, fresh and elegant in a timeless manner. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The service is friendly and this restaurant offers a good price/quality ratio.

1  Thank jtr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvino T, Manager, Marketing Department at Kitchen Savvy, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Dear jtr9,

We are glad to hear that we have exceeded your expectations at Kitchen Savvy.

Thank you for complementing our restaurant interior design and our Kitchen Savvy team.

Looking forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

The restaurant is not cramped like most other Western restaurants, even for hotels. A very leisurely restaurant where you can enjoy good food -- almost like in any other 5-star hotel. Yet, the prices are very reasonable. The chef is very good with "the catch" of the day (Saturday evening). If you are staying at the hotel, you even get 20% off your lunch/dinner bill and we had dinners there so often and we feel you would never be able to get that "quality" of food for that price anywhere too much around Hong Kong. Next time you are around, or even if you are Hongkonger, please go in for a try -- even their breakfast (though not in buffet style) is well worth it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen Savvy also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Kitchen Savvy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing