We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Spanish Tapas in Hong Kong”
Review of Alzina Spanish Asador - CLOSED

Alzina Spanish Asador
Price range: US$19 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Alzina Spanish Asador is a newly opened Spanish kitchen, promising to bring an “Authentic Taste of Spain” to Hong Kong. Helmed by Spanish-born Chef Juan Carrillo, Alzina specializes in Spanish grilled items, while offering quintessential delights from the country, including tapas, cold cuts, and paella.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

This is the real deal, a touch of Spain in Tsim Sha Tsui. We had excellent Serrano ham, manchego cheese, & tomato bread. All that's missing is the Sherry, but I understand that is coming. The staff couldn't be nicer and helpful. A very nice alternative when you need a break from Chinese cuisine.

Thank pswemhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Alzina Spanish Asador, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2017

Hello pswemhoff!

We are glad you could feel the authenticity of our restaurant, this means a lot to us so many thanks for letting us know!

It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the food and our helpful staff also. We will be sure to have a glass of sherry available for you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2017

We went there before new year and it was reasonably vibrant with other customers. The waiters were extremely helpful and knowledgeable with their menu, and there was also a buy one get one free sangri too :)

We ordered a few tapas - the deep fried meatball and the Russian salad with squid were particularly delicious.

However the highlight was the Lobster paella, it tasted incredibly outstanding and what a flavour-burst! The waiter will show the whole pan to us and it looked relatively wet compared to other paella we tried elsewhere, however it all made sense when the waiter took it away again with the lid back on alongside our table, basically the remaining heat from the pan would carrying the sauce re-absorption process and hence after a short while when he opened the lid again, all the tasty sauce was soaked into the rice!!!! It was heaven!

We finished off with the Churro, the portion was just right and the sauces were yummy! It was rather light texture so it didn't feel greasy at all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gdfoodseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Alzina Spanish Asador, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Hi gdfoodseeker,

We are delighted to hear that you are so happy with our food and staff! We always strive to give you the most enjoyable experience possible in terms of both food and service.

You must have visited us during happy hour (6-9.30pm) to enjoy our buy one get one free on sangria offer.

Thanks for your comments on the juicy lobster rice and the way that we serve it. This is definitely one of our guests' favourite dishes and we have just added it to our set lunch menu which we serve from Monday to Friday, so now it is available all day!

Happy new year and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

I this this place was opened 3 weeks ago (?) I went last week with 4 more friends for dinner, we all love Spanish food, and we enjoyed it so much! The food is very tasty, we tried most of the chef suggestions to share, the menu is very variated. We also tried a delicious and fruity sangria. The desserts also to share were amazing! We stayed until the last minute there enjoying, listening to the good music they have, having some beers. We ended up happy and with full belly. :) and the food was so good that we didn't hsve time to take photos of it.
I think it's a simple and cozy place, keep the hard work guys!

Thank Algelstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Operations Manager at Alzina Spanish Asador, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Hi Algelstars,

Thanks for your kind comments about your time at Alzina. Happy customers make us happy too!

We're glad to hear that you were satisfied with everything from our food and drink and the music also. From looking at your photos it looks like you tried our seasonal item 'Calçots'. I hope you had fun while enjoying those!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day so that you can try some of the other dishes on our varied menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2016

We dined last night at Alzina. I am told this has only been open in this location for 3 weeks. Initially the large menu looked interesting when explained to us days before the enthusiastic chef. The waiter on this occasion was not so enthused. Rather he was very inexperienced. We ordered pork which we were told was accompanied by two vegetables. The pork arrived and it was lovely, very tender but the wait was on for the veges. As the pork went cold we were advised there were none so we selected a vegetable dish. The pork was then removed, whilst we waited. They arrived and the wait was on for the pork's return. All very disorganised. The food was tasty. They offered us a complimentary dessert for the mix up which was good. All a bit "faulty Towers" So many staff not knowing who's doing what. Im sure this is only teething problems. Maybe try again in a few months time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janekoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Alzina Spanish Asador, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Hi Janekoch,

Thank you for taking the time to give us our first review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you think our food is tasty!

Our first day of opening for normal service was actually the 5 December, and some of our staff were still very fresh when you visited us, even so, I am sad to hear that you found the service so disorganised. We have been working constantly to train our staff on everything from sequence of service to detailed menu training. We highly appreciate your feedback because these are the kind of comments we need to make sure we constantly improve, in order to provide our guests with the best experience we can.

We would be delighted to welcome you back at any time to show you that these 'teething problems' have now been taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alzina Spanish Asador also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing