We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE worldwide urban SANCTUARY...”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2012

What is a sanctuary for me? A place where the most beautiful design meets the most impressive and ultimate comfort. It's also a place where you'll find a dedicated team trying their really best to anticipate all your needs and providing the highest standard of service. Consequently, it's really hard to find a sanctuary and more especially in a city where, usually, people are always in a rush. A sanctuary is also a kind of cocoon, a "home sweet home" where leaving from is so hard... It's something so special like a gem and when you find one, trust me, it gives a very amazing emotion...

A few days ago, maybe i've had one of the most incredible emotion of my life cause i not only find a urban sanctuary but THE urban sanctuary, the place i consider as the most fantastic city hotel of the world where everything has exceeded all the expectations.

First of all, The Upper House is superbly located between Central and Causeway Bay, up to the most elegant mall of Hong Kong. It offers stunning views on the bay but on the city as well and do not think the mountain view is uninteresting cause all the rooms facing the mountain offers a green breathtaking scenery and actually this is maybe my favorite view cause it's so relaxing.
All the accommodations of this very special and exclusive hotel are just amazing. Starting with 700sq. feet, all the studios and suites will be a peaceful and very elegant retreat during your entire stay. The Upper House has been designed by the very talented Andre Fu and the result is more than exquisite. The choice for materials is excellent and you'll fall in love for the scheme of colors melting light green with purple, grey and bright wood. Everything is beautiful and just unique and what to say about the bathrooms... I almost lost my voice the first time i saw the most sexiest bathrooms in the world with an elevated water area with a deep bathtub and a fabulous view on the city.

The Upper House is also the place where you'll find the most exclusive amenities ever. A very good selection of REN products but a very special comfort kit as well comparable as the one you could find in the best Airline First Class, a beautiful shopping bag and a very practical travel bag. I've been just impressed by it and hot milk and cookies during the turn down service is really well thinking. I loved the complimentary maxi bar with jar of candies and cookies replenished every day. very very special...

So, let's say i've been again so satisfied about this hotel which has a very important space in my heart. However, after my first visit, THE urban sanctuary as i like to qualificate this hotel, i complained a bit about the service which was not as good as i expected. This new visit erased the impression of my first visit a few years ago. Now, the team of The Upper House is absolutely amazing. Each person working in this hotel is incredibly nice, friendly and professional. They really don't stop to try their best to make your stay unforgettable and memorable. Everybody will greet you by your name with always a nice word. It's remarkable how great is the improvement and the management team headed by Dean Winter is simply fantastic. The Guest Relations manager Paul is adorable and he really makes our time in this property the most delightful time of our life.... I really want to thank all this team for this great job.

Now you understand that a stay at The Upper House is one of the most special thing to do in a life. Nothing can be better in Hong Kong, in Asia, in the world. This property is the most beautiful possible and you'll be treated as somebody very special at each second of your stay. It's not so pricey if you consider this is THE hotel experience of your life. just FANTASTIC... I'm total FAN...

Room Tip: An Upper Suite is like your own luxury flat in the heart of HK offering more then 1200 sq. feet of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Many thanks for this detailed review. We very much appreciate the time you took to write about your impressions on your recent stay in such a detailed manner! We are much honored that The Upper House has a special place in your heart. We do try to delivery exceptional service and it is feedback such yours which motivates our team.
We are looking forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again.

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

This boutique hotel is really very, very nice!! The rooms and bathrooms are uber sexy and trendy and this has made us come back here.
Staff is very professional and helpful.
I have a gluten intolerance so I went to their restaurant and I asked what gluten free options they could reccomend me. Upon returning to my room, I found a freshly printed gluten free menu with my name on it, so it's easier for me to decide and order food in the future. Pretty awsome service :)

I gave the hotel a 4 star rating because unlike The Shangri-La, Marriott, Conrad and Four Seasons it doesn't have direct access to the Mall. Also, it doesn't have a SPA, a swiming pool, and your dining options are pretty limited to only one restaurant/cafe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NomadSoul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

for space, comfort and ambience. Newer and more comfortable design than Four Seasons, Conrad, and Shangri-la, but quite pricey!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HopingThisHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights, enjoying a harbour view room even though you could just see the harbour if you went to the very edge of the room. The rooms were amazing, very spacious and clean. The beds were probably the most comfortable i've ever slept in. The only thing is the rooms are slightly on the hot side and having a large duvet didn't help. The air con in the room didn't seem to go below 21oC (living in scotland that's hotter than our summers).
Hotel was in good location, connected to Pacific Mall with a MTR station underneath.
Girlfriend nearly cleared room as slippers, shopping bag, umbrella, Ren toiletries with bag,postcards and stationery were free for you to take. Had a good go at free maxi bar as well!

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms may be only partial view. I would contact hotel if view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Upper House. I have been a regular visitor to Hong Kong over the years and usually stay at one of the other hotels in Pacific Place. On this occasion I thought I would give The Upper House a try. I certainly did not regret doing so. This is a fine hotel by any standards. The staff are young and eager to please without being obsequious and the check in and check out procedures are effortless. The hotel is peaceful and relaxing, the rooms wonderful (previous reviews have said it all), and the sole restaurant, Cafe Gray, a haven. Breakfasts were always a pleasure, as were the two dinners I enjoyed. The hotel is a triumph of both style and substance and any criticism seems churlish - just occasionally though style wins over substance. For example, if you want to watch TV when in the bath (and why ruin a good bath ?) then you have to sit at the plug and overflow end, with associated discomfort. Also the positioning of the washbasin in the loo cubicle is bizarre - it's far too close to the seat and would have been better placed on the opposite wall. These are, however, truly minor strictures in the context of a wonderful hotel which I would unreservedly recommend to the business traveller. One last point -it's location on a one way circuit serving 4 hotels means that at peak times it is difficult to get a cab. The staff recognise this and go to extraordinary lengths to commandeer cabs at the start of the circuit much to the chagrin, I imagine, of the other hotels. Au revoir The Upper House - I'll be back next year. Don't change anything!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Howards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

hotel was amazing. Rooms are modern with nice wood style. room was specious. speratre jaccuz and walk in closet. and separate bathroom. view was nice. and roomon 43 floor. GYM is nice but small. no swimming pool. that was disadvantage. Cafe grey is perfect dinner in HK. breakfast was nice but small portions,

Room Tip: try to get Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank q8engrchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I work one week per month in Hong Kong and have stayed in this hotel seven times. The rooms are really comfortable, the staff are extremely helpful and the views are amazing.

And nothing beats a few beers in the bath after a long day in the office looking out over the harbour and watching the telly.

At HK$150 the cheese and ham toastie in the 48th floor bar (not on the menu but available) is ridiculously expensive but this is Hong Kong!

Room Tip: Pay for the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexs_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,228 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,025 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $658 - $1,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing