We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
6
5
2
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
5
2
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2014

We booked online and when we arrived we saw this place is absolutely shocking. You have to fight your way through a urine drenched smell to a lift in a very neglected building and we felt very unsafe. The guesthouse is horrible. We told the owner that we are not comfortable to stay there with our children and that we would rather go to another facility. He agreed and we left. After our trip when we arrived home, the Gaungzhou Guest House took the money from our account! We are now reversing the transaction but PLEASE be careful before booking here. Ask the owner to send you pictures of the ground floor and lifts etc!!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anellevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I had to stay there for 6 days, but I ran to second. Looks like a bad place, a sense of insecurity and rude owners.
The rooms, some the size of a toilet, make it impossible to open the door to exit, if not going up on the bed. Fire safety lacking.
It is normal to pay more than the agreed price.
To leave at 6 am (I had to take a boat) I had to pay $! 200HK! If I had not paid, I should go out after 8!
Incredible ... the bath is about the size of 80x150cm and to take a shower .... good luck.

Owner is not very honest. Keep away from there!
I had to find another place, but for similar prices there are very nice places. Do not go there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GianniRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I booked 3 nights at the Guangzhou Guest House in Hong Kong through the Lonely Planet website for the dates 19th - 21st October 2010. However, when my partner and I arrived at the hostel we were met by a woman screaming at us because we had arrived later that the initial time we had intended to be there. We were told to wait in the hostel reception and were only told "later" when we asked about our room. In the end, after one hour of waiting, we were told that our room had been given to someone else, leaving both of us without somewhere to stay for the evening. I tried to explain to her that we were late because our flight was delayed but she would not listen and said we should have phoned or email her - how could we do this from a plane? She would not help us or give our money back.

DO NOT RISK BOOKING AT THIS HOSTEL! THIEVES!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
23  Thank lrboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pilih kamar yang ada dipojok karena ada jendela kecil disudut ruangan
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: スタッフとフレンドリーになる。
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews