We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for Hong Kong”
Review of Comfort Hostel HK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Hostel HK
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a twin, ensuite room which was about $500 HK per night between the 2 of us - cheap by Hong Kong standards. It had air con, though we did need it. Water jug with free top ups. No towels in room, though they were given free of charge when asked for. Within the room there were lockable storage lockers which would be useful if you did not know the person you were sharing with. Room was basic no frills, clean ....all we needed.

Location was excellent: only 2-3 mins from a metro station so it was easy to get around the city - plenty of shops and restaurants in the surrounding area.

Reception has 2 computers with free internet access. There is a small kitchenette area where you could prepare snacks. Would not be suitable for those who wanted to be in a hostel long term while cooking properly. Books/novels on shelf in reception area, free to use.

It was not easy to find and we wandered up and down the street a few times before we spotted the entrance - there was no obvious sign outside. We then spotted notices at the entrance that stated that hostels in that building were illegal and we could be prevented from entering at any time. We still went up to the floor on the instruction where we saw a sign telling us to go down to the reception on level 3.

We asked about the notices and the manager insisted on showing us all of his official certificates - maybe there was some kind of problem with the landlord, or there were other illegal hostels in the building. We felt comfortable enough to stay and did not regret it. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookowl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

Arrived 1 day early in HK. Found this hostel on the internet till I moved into the hotel the next day. Location is everything. But mixed with a kind and sensitive manager/owner, there is no place else I would go to again except this one in HK. Sam is dedicated, passionate about the hostel and the guests, VERY PATIENT, HONEST, very caring, very accommodating, and provides all the essentials and more for each guest. The directions aren't perfect. If you have the phone number it is not hard to find it because it is at the end of the big shopping mall building named the Patterson Building in small letters right by the taxi stand and opposite the Pearl City building and Sea food restaurant. Don't be chased away by the security guard who points to a sign which says the hostel is an illegal operation. It is a LIE.
I like the reception, and dining area. Professional, and very homely.
It seems like a very popular and favoured place by the number of guests lined up at anytime and by the large numbers of baggage left as storage for returning guests. It is a free service. Sam and his staff are very kind and helpful. Sam got his staff to help me to get to the bus stop with my heavy luggage.
More value for money.
On Sam's watch & care, everything is safe and sound. Sam is very unique. So is the hostel and the location.

Room Tip: Landmark-Sogo Dept Store in Causeway Bay. Just 3 minutes walk down Paterson Street, right across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kalhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sicedbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank nsahiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mierlyana_Anggiasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank schoenesternchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#278 of 725 in Hong Kong
277 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Inntide Guest House
Inntide Guest House
#69 of 161 in Hong Kong
2 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 161 in Hong Kong
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#20 of 161 in Hong Kong
167 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#18 of 161 in Hong Kong
308 reviews
Mong Kok
Geo-Home Holiday Hotel
Geo-Home Holiday Hotel
#97 of 161 in Hong Kong
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hostel HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hostel HK

Address: A1, 9/F, No.47 Paterson Street, 3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $37 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Hostel HK 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Hostel HK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hostel Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Comfort Hostel HK Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing