We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and cozy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
Ranked #119 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The only reason why I did not rate L Hotel Island South as excellent is because I know the price is going to change once the hotel gains its full potential. As a brand new hotel, the prices were only around 500HKD when I was traveling which is some 300-500 below market price and a veritable bargain.

I stayed a total of 3 or 4 nights in a few separate occasions and I have been extremely pleased every time. The hotel itself is situated in Aberdeen which is a bit off if you visit Hong Kong as a tourist, but the hotel is right next to a bus stop, the taxis in HK are very cheap and the hotel offers free shuttle bus services to central. The restaurant was not yet operational when I traveled and as such we took a taxi to the heart of Aberdeen to have some nice local cuisine.

The rooms are extremely comfortable. As a new hotel, there is nothing bad to say about the rooms and the cleanliness and the look of the hotel itself. 30sqm (ard 300sqft) is well enough for two people and somewhat luxurious in HK. I had both the hillview and the cityview rooms and both have fairly nice views, but nothing too spectacular.

What I really appreciated at L Island South was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. If anyone at Island South is reading this review, I would like to express my gratitude for outstanding service that I got each and every time (even the time when I almost PK'd in the lobby and the clerk couldn't stop laughing)

The luxurious service along with spacious and cozy rooms make Island South one of the best hotels I have stayed in HK even though the location is not the best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed in L'Hotel Island South for five nights. We took advantage of the soft opening offer and paid under 50 pounds per night for a spacious room. Yes, the restaurant, the fitness room and the pool had yet to open, but it was a very comfortable stay nonetheless. The room was spacious, though we thought an extra chair could even be put near the window without making the room look cluttered. We were particularly impressed by the Revo Domino 2 Internet radio set! We loved to be able to tune into BBC Radio 4 and JazzFm! Everything else was just spotless - no complaint. The staff were keen to make sure our stay was hassle-free. They may not have those bright young things manning the reception or the coincerge, but they were all well-trained and put on a geuine smile to greet you. A great thumbs-up for their helpfulness. The location of the hotel may look a little off the beaten track for tourists who are interested in sight-seeing, but it is just a 15-minute ride by taxi to Wanchai or Central on a good day. The bus stop is just outside the hotel and you can get to anywhere on the island by bus. Overall, this was a very pleasant experience and we look forward to our next stay with them.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sant0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank overmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Abull Abull C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyTsang2017, Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Tsukasa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyTsang2017, Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s001gf265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyTsang2017, Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank WA0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyTsang2017, Manager at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Southside
#25 of 725 in Hong Kong
785 reviews
Kwun Tong
L'hotel elan
L'hotel elan
#94 of 725 in Hong Kong
654 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#68 of 725 in Hong Kong
453 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#101 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $101 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Island South 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing