We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #9 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in Feb. We have always stayed on the mainland and found this location so much more peaceful and serene. The students will make you smile with their eagerness and friendliness, and always backed by a skilled and friendly supervisor. We enjoyed room service, the dining room and the wine. Rooms are as described and well decorated and equipped. Easy bus ride from the airport and back. We arranged a cab to go shopping and site seeing and it was inexpensive and easy. You just can't go wrong here, and a true break from the pace of the city. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a ocean view and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CLBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

We arrived at 8.30am after an overnight flight but the staff let us check in to our room no problem. The room was really good, just what you'd expect from a place double the price or more. It's slightly strange staying in a college, which is rather unglamorous when you approach, but when you get up to the 6th floor you can tell no difference between being in a much larger luxury hotel. The staff are training so are not always going to get it right first time, but there are always supervising staff around who speak very good English if there are any problems. All staff are very friendly and helpful. Great terrace to have cocktails before dinner, looking out across the South China Sea, and because of the sharp slope you feel like you are much higher than the 6th floor. Excellent breakfast buffet and great gym. Overall great value for money. It is a little bit out of the centre but we found the buses really easy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LB77756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed for three nights.
Large rooms and affordable price for HK.
Great location for our needs.
Staff friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed there 5 nights in february 2012. Room is very big. was enough for my two-year old to run around :) Modern bathroom. The room has everything you might need including blowdrier, an iron and board, safe, tv etc. We were provided ( without request) with a baby bed, not too big, more appropriate for kids under 2. But my daughter fitted there. which And my daughter loved it. Although usually when we travel she prefers to sleep with us, every night and for the daytime nap she was asking to be put in it.
The breakfast was good enough. and the view of the ocean is very nice. The staff quite helpfull. But as you know this hotel is for training personell, so do not expect 5 star service. And also do not expect them to give you correct answers on how to get around the city. They do not know it 99% of the time. But they provide you with free WiFi in the room, so just be prepared,get all the info online before you leave.
Also if you see a manager you can ask thim. But nevert rely on a trainee's answer.
Location of the hotel is pretty good. It has bus stop right in front with lots of buses stopping there going in any directiong you might chose.
if you decide to take a taxi it will take about 15-20 minutes to go to Wan chai. And will cost you 75 Hong kong dollars.
So overall the hotel it self is a 5star, but service is 3 star, although not because of negligence, but because they are on training. They really try to assist you the best they can.

Room Tip: request a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Guzel_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We heard of many good reviews about this hotel from friends and decided to give it a go. We stayed here recently for 3 weeks (Jan-Feb 2012) and found it absolutely fabulous. The room was hugh, even by western standard. Most of the staff attending to us were trainees (who are under constant supervision) and are eager to please. Service is just incredible. The managers are also very helpful, especially Jenny Chen, who would make sure our stay at the hotel was as comfortable as can be. On our last day, as our flight was in the evening, we were allowed late check-out at 5 pm without charge!!

The location of the hotel was not a problem for us as we would spend the whole day in the city and not get back to the hotel till mid-night. There are lots of buses (the hotel will provide a list of buses) to the city centre and the fare is about HK$5.60 (US$0.75). Taxi fare is about HK$90(US$12). Bus journey to the city is only about 30 minutes. If you intend to stay more than a week in Hong Kong, it is better to get an "Octopus" card at the airport on arrival. You can use this card for all bus, metro and ferry, and also in supermarkets.

We are very happy with T-Hotel and will defintely stay at this hotel again the next time we are in Hong Kong.

KL&ML-Sydney

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kadd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were somewhat hesitant to book here, given our uncertainty about staying at a "Training" Hotel. Thankfully we did stay here!

The T Hotel is amazing value for the money. The rooms are very spacious (and not just by Hong Kong standards) and the rooms well appointed. There is a TV over the bath, for instance. The place has all the basic amenities like a (small) gym, a business center, and even a (training) spa. Many of the rooms have wonderful views of the harbor with giant container ships passing by. Sleep quality is excellent -- we never heard a thing from our neighbors, despite the hotel being full.

The staff also tries to please. The trainees are overseen by exceptionally eager managers (and most of our contact was with them) who do things well and do them instantly. They were also kind enough to let us checkin several hours before official check-in time (despite a full hotel) and did their best to give us access to the room ASAP.

Some many view the 10 minute taxi cab ride into the city central as a negative. It is true this adds to the cost of the hotel by about $10 each way. (There are cheaper options, like a free hotel shuttle into the city twice in the morning, as well as buses. The taxis took about 10 minutes to Central.) But even adding this cost to the hotel bill makes it infinitely cheaper than hotels with equal levels of comfort and service. (Our room charge was roughly $125 USD a night.) And this price includes breakfast with a variety of options including noodles, toast, fruit, cheese, cereal, yogurt, sliced meats, bacon, beans, and eggs made to order.

While there, we spoke with several other guests who similarly couldn't believe what a great bargain this hotel was! Stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dieWelt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Everything people have been saying about the T Hotel is true. It is indeed amazing value for money, specially in HK. I have initially booked our whole family (7 adults + 3 children) in Ibis Hotel in Northpoint – but after looking at Trip Advisor reviews, decided to switch hotels.

We spent 2 of our 4 night stay in HK in T Hotel (Dec 2011). The first 2 nights were spent in Disneyland Hotel – which is a beautiful hotel in itself (see my review for Disneyland Hotel), but quite expensive for A$320/room only/night. T hotel on the other hand, is only around HK$905 (A$ 120) for 2 adults/room/night and this rate includes buffet breakfast.

We didn’t have any problems with checking in – it probably took around 20min to do that, but this is almost the same with other hotels, specially when you have to wait in a long line of guests checking in.

Our hotel rooms were all surprisingly big, even better than what I’ve seen in the photos. The view from the room was just beautiful – even if we were just on the 6th floor (or 7th floor – I can’t remember), it seemed like we were on a higher floor with beautiful views of the sky and the sea. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. There was a sofa by the huge window, and a work desk which had everything a business traveller will need.

The bathroom was also well appointed, with a separate bath tub and shower cubicle. I cannot tell you how much I detest having a shower over a bath tub –which is the normal practice for a lot of hotels to save on space and still be able to give you the option to use a tub. What I really loved was the TV inside the bathroom! The complimentary toiletries were also of good quality. And the minibar was more than reasonably priced – even cheaper than 7-11.

As we arrived at the T Hotel past lunch time, we decided to have lunch in one of their two training restaurants. Was pleasantly surprised at how inexpensive the meals were – a bowl of beef noodle soup was only HK$40 (A$5.25), and their beef massaman curry (which was very good!) was only HK$60 (A$8). All other meals were priced similarly. All meals also come with a complimentary bread basket – which was baked fresh every day. I would have been happy just eating the bread.

Getting to Central or the Kowloon area was easy enough, by catching a bus right in front of the complex. The hotel will give you a printed out guide for which bus to ride depending on your destination. Getting back however, has always been a problem for all of us – with either the bus not being in service at the time we try to get back to the hotel (if past 11pm, quite difficult). It is recommended to take a taxi from Central back to the hotel – it’s very convenient, and is only around HK$60-80 (A$8-10).

On getting back to the hotel, we were all pleasantly surprised that we had a plate of chocolates, a bucket of ice and the bed has been turned down. It was a nice touch to their service.

The breakfast, though limited in selection, was good. They have continental, asian and a hot selection of food to choose from. The pastries were quite good, similar to their bread.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to HK.

The hotel is excellent value for money, and the staff, though still in training, are all very eager to please and would go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. I've been to 5 countries just in December, travelling and doing touristy stuff, and this has been the best hotel I've stayed in for those trips.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank rugratsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
825 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,121 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 726 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,139 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $127 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing