We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hong Kong Tramways (Ding Ding)
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hong Kong Tramways (Ding Ding)
from US$12.50
More Info
from US$82.20
More Info
from US$104.90
More Info
from US$98.40
More Info
Reviews (9,953)
Filter reviews
9,953 results
Traveller rating
6,003
3,210
666
55
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,003
3,210
666
55
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kennedy town octopus card the upper deck double decker trams seat upstairs causeway bay happy valley exact change per ride mode of transportation wan chai fun ride tram ride public transport enjoy the view the hustle and bustle fare
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 9,953 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Hong Kong tramways are for sure more entertaining than MTR. It is on the street, in the middle of daily life so you see a lot going through streets. The design is also iconic as you feel like you are on a hop on-hop off bus. There is one disadvantage though and that is the traffic at rush hours (which is almost all the time in Hong Kong) and you reach your destination 2 times slower than MTR. So this is a recommendation for the people who have much time or visiting the city second or third time. For short distances it is ideal...

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Flyngdtchmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Cheap as chips and a fun way to get from A to B along the front of HK Island. Used the ding ding several times, we especially liked it at night sitting up the top. Be aware the station names can be slightly different coming back in the opposite direction as the stops can be a few metres from each other.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Seaside810373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

After finding our nearest tram stop we got on the tram (using our Octopus card - 10p per journey) and went to Happy Valley where you have to get off and get on another tram to Star Ferry. All the trams are different and usually very full. They go right through the heart of the shopping area on the Island and give a good tour - although without a commentary. You can go on a guided tour on a tram but you pay quite a lot more for this. We thoroughly enjoyed the tram trips.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BBTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Cheap way to get around but the train is faster. All depends on how far and where you are headed i suppose..

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Melbguy3805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We found ourselves with a few hours before we had to get to the airport so we hopped on the tram and went upstairs to the front seats and rode around. It was a wonderful way to see parts of the city that we probably would have never gotten to see. Also, again, the price was absurd. Make note, sometimes you pay when you get on, sometimes when you get off. I will share some shots I took (and love) from my perch.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank cathi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews