We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to try if you like tapas and Paella”
Review of FoFo by El Willy

FoFo by El Willy
Ranked #330 of 11,408 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$150 - US$350
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: FoFo was born in February 2010 following the popularity and success of ‘el Willy’ restaurant in Shanghai. With menus designed mainly by the award-winning Chef of ‘el Willy’ – Willy Trullas Moreno from Barcelona, FoFo is headed in Hong Kong by the widely travelled and talented Chef Alex Martinez Fargas, also from Barcelona. As a contemporary Spanish restaurant, FoFo offers both traditional and contemporary Spanish tapas and rice. It also proposes the world’s favorite Iberico ham, as well as other new and innovative dishes such as the ‘scallop ceviche’ and ‘organic eggs with potatoes “nest”’. The menu features more than 60 dishes, offering a variety of starters, tapas, soups, salads, omelets, paellas & juicy rices, as well as desserts that aim to satisfy even the pickiest of customers.
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Not easy to find as it is in a building, this place and fairly small and cosy. Unfortunately for us we have been sitted next to the kitchen therefore we did not enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant.
Drinks
Had the white Sangria it was not great too sweet not strong enough for me.
The martini was outstanding
The margarita was average ( althoug we have high standard on margaritas and martinis)

Food was great!!! We took the tasting menu. A friend of ours was vegetarian and she was also super happy. Lots of great tapas amazing, proscuito and seafood. Only small disappintment was the lack of paella on the tasting menu as it is apparently one of the must try dish there and sitting next to the kitchen has only one advantage is to see the dishes getting out and the paella looked AMAZING!!!

I would go back but definitely ask for a good table and try the paelle this time.
Avoid the sangria!!

Enjoy

Thank marriedplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2018

It's a great venue for lunch or brunch on a fine day, even when the temperature was only 11C. The food arrived fast, might be a bit too fast for our liking though we appreciated most customers had to return to work in time on a weekday. Quality of food was good and my duck jus rice was hot and soft and fresh. Service was attentive but it could really be very noisy even when the place was 80% full. It was packed and difficult to talk at dinner time but I suppose we should be happy about the crowds=good business

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank christinepZ3024WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2017

4 of us had the set lunch where you each choose 2 Tapas startes and a main.
For the startes the chicken soup was good, the foie gras was smooth and very tasty, the steak tartar was enjoyed by 2 of us the other 2 found it a bit spicy and the cannelloni was good. the only let down was the cod fish and toast which was very fishy and was the only tapas starter we didn't finish.
For the mains we had the linguini and seabas both of which would be recommended.
If you come make sure you save room for dessert as the warm chocolate coulant with berries was to die for.

Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoFo_Hostess, Public Relations Manager at FoFo by El Willy, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Dear Neil,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant FoFo by el Willy, we truly appreciate it. We are pleased to read that our hard work, dedication and passion are valued are shared on TripAdvisor. We look forward to see you again very soon,

With warm regards,
FoFo by el Willy Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

Super packed over the Christmas party season so was seated at the bar while my table became available but ordered food from there so no time wasted. Foie Gras starter had run out (it was a later seating) but the two starter and a main (tasty beef) was good value overall. Great place for a more fun business lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoFo_Hostess, Public Relations Manager at FoFo by El Willy, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Dear Jan,

Many thanks for your kind review, and thank you for waiting at the bar while your table was being prepared. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food in the meantime. Christmas was a very busy period indeed and we always do our best to accommodate our clients.

With warm regards,
FoFo by el Willy Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017

Perfect place for a quiet business lunch with a nice view (ask for a table next to the window). The tapas are always good, especially the fish dishes. And the churros are a must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank D9803HBmichaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoFo_Hostess, Public Relations Manager at FoFo by El Willy, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Dear Michael,

We truly appreciate your lovely review as we strive to improve our standards every day. We are pleased to read that you were fully satisfied as we believe that FoFo by el Willy it's a great venue for everybody.

Please do come back soon,
Thank you
FoFo by el Willy Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FoFo by El Willy also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to FoFo by El Willy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing