We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small, expensive, but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Ranked #455 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed in the hotel, the personnel are polite and helpful, the rooms are too tiny for the relatively high price I paid. The location is very good if you really want to absorb the Chineese aspect of HK.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DotyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

The good: convenient location, near Times Square and the subway line; room rate was good because we got the promotion price; our room had a good view on the hill side and the Happy Valley horse tracks.

The bad: room is terribly small: no drawer or closet or a chair, not even a wall-mounted rack of hooks. So what do you do with your coat/jacket in winter days, let alone the clothings you are in that day and those you want to wear the next day? no space for opening even a small sized suitcase. The only desk top space is that extended from the windowsill, on which are two drinking glasses, a teapot and some instant coffee/teabags. no bedside lamp, making it impossible to read a book or consult the map of Hong Kong.

The ugly: During the two days of our stay, early in the morning we heard some "strange music" through the broadcasting system, not sure if it was music, or prayers, but why and what for?? morning call??

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriosSHCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Had a rally bad experience there. We were there on our honeymoon and were shocked to find a room with 2 single beds whereas we had booked a queen size bedroom. On request to the front desk to change the room, we were told that no rooms are vacant. We had done our booking few months in advance and were shocked to hear this. When we requested to meet the manager to put in a formal complaint, suddenly the front desk gave us the double bedroom!
Room was very small, one could barely walk. Seems everything was just fitted somehow. The only silver lining was that the concierge was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RiteshAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Booked through booking.com the lowest room cat. but stll 80Euro and last nite I(of 3) 120Euro. Location in a small sideline beside freshmarket, small vendors 5 min walk to Times Square etc. Friendly staff. Lobby is located at 3rd floor and rooms from floor 4 to 37. Stayed in the Run of house version, luckily 33rd floor and view to the hills of HK Island. Twinroom, quit small. As I used it as single room I could place my stuff. No sidebord or cabinet !!!! The sink was in the small corridor and toilet and shower was behind a slide door with exhauster. Ameneties have been ok. Tea-/Coffeemaking facillities provided. At the top ( 39 F) is a small plunge pool located with deck chairs as well as a little spa.

Room Tip: good location in Causeway Bay. Actually no tip, just travellers shall search in Internet of hotelweb...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

There is security guard at the ground level, and he has been very helpful to guide us to where the lift is at (the hotel reception counter is at level 3) and has also helped to close the taxi door for us when we left the hotel (as our hands have been occupied with stuff). Initially when we read the review, we were a bit worried of the safety: " dark alley etc". But when we were there, we have felt safe, maybe because of the presence of the friendly security guard.

Small bed room (we've shifted out the mini table stand, and combined both single beds instead) & small bath room (door with no lock - more suitable for family / couples) indeed, but we are happy with the overall customer services and room services.

Hence have given a high rating for this hotel. Thank you and hope this review will be helpful to you in your hotel selection.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nov T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Extremely small rooms - don't open your suitcase, otherwise you won't be able to move in a room. And that is at US$200 per night without breakfast!
Very strange light - there's no small lamp close to the bed, only upper lights - so you can't make comfortable atmosphere.
Room furniture and bath looked old.
Check-in is only from 14:00, so there's no chance to get a room if you're arriving early in the morning and you'd have to wait.
Shall I come again? - No.

Room Tip: stay away from this Hotel if possible
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makar126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We were given smoking rooms when we specifically said upon booking that we wanted to stay in a non-smoking floor.

Ok, so we couldn't wait anymore for a non-smoking room (it was already past noon) so we did take the room on the smoking floor. The smell was not so bad so we thought we will survive.

The room was tiny. If you have a big suitcase, like us, there's nowhere to put it except on the floor outside the bathroom but then you won't be able to open the room door. There's no closet or drawers so leave the clothes in the suitcase and leave it upright until you're sure you won't go out anymore then and only then you should open the suitcase as it will also serve as your closet/ drawers.

Room was clean when we checked in. Signs of wear and tear. Walls should be cleaned!!! But it's fine if you're just there to sleep. Not enough light in the room. Seriously, you won't be able to read a book.

The ref's tiny. Hahaha. Like a toy. See photo :)

The bed's too soft. But it's ok for a couple of night's sleep. Only 2 people in a room. I don't know how three will fit.

The bathroom's newly renovated. So that's good. No tub. Tiny. BUT CLEAN. Really clean.

Concierge was terrible. Left our luggage upon check-out (it was too early to go to the airport). Came back to put our "shopping loot" in the luggages so I opened the suitcases in the concierge area (not even the hotel lobby as that was in the 3rd floor) and the guy said NO because the food I was holding will smell (it was bbq pork, duh). So he told me to do it outside. I had to leave the hotel, go to the sidewalk and do the packing there. Didn't even call a taxi for us. Hmph.

Location is so-so. You have to cross main road to go to Times Square then walk a couple of streets down to the heart of Causeway.

Won't stay here again. Won't recommend it either. Unless, like me, you're booking last minute and this is the only affordable option.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommy_tere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#174 of 721 in Hong Kong
585 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#513 of 721 in Hong Kong
308 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#454 of 721 in Hong Kong
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay

Address: Cheung Woo Lane, Canal Road West, Causeway Bay | Cheung Woo Lane, Canal Road West, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 352112, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $68 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing