We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Star Ferry
from US$52.64
More Info
from US$99.80
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
from US$134.80
More Info
Reviews (21,870)
Filter reviews
21,870 results
Traveller rating
13,637
6,662
1,419
103
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13,637
6,662
1,419
103
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hong kong island lower deck victoria harbour octopus card both sides tsim sha tsui mode of transport light show nice view ride token pier mtr skyline boats icon cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,768 - 1,773 of 21,870 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Each time we visit, we include a Star Ferry journey between Kowloon and Hong Kong. This time we a return journey from Kowloon Star Ferry Terminal to Wan Chai Ferry Terminal at night. Although it was quite busy, we still managed to find a seat each.

I suggest purchasing the Octopus Cards when visiting Hong Kong, as the card can be used for payment on Star Ferries and Hong Kong buses, as well as the MRT and the Airport Express. If you purchase the Airport Express Return Ticket with the three-day unlimited travel cards, these cannot be used on Star Ferries and some of the buses.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Tania291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Costs less than HKD3 per person, lasts about 10 min. Worth taking at night or during the day for scenic views of Hong Kong Island

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We took the star ferry after shopping at IFC mall. the ferry from central to harbour city only took 10 minutes..it was a fun to take the ferry with my two kids. they enjoy the ride and the scenery. once you get off the ferry , harbour citu mall is in front of you.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank linalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We combined this with a morning trip to Victoria Peak. After enjoying the vistas from up there, we took the #15 bus down to the central ferry piers. It turned out to be a slow drive down the mountain and through downtown noon-time traffic. At the central piers, it took a little time and walking to find the correct pier for the ferry to Kowloon. We looked for the ticket booth, but turns out you buy a token at a machine for the Star Ferry. It was a short 10 minute ride to Kowloon, and it is impressive seeing the Hong Kong buildings from the water. Sit at the windows for the best views.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The Star Ferry is one of the few things that remains unchanged in Hong Kong some twenty years after my first visit. Its a great way to travel between Kowloon to Hong Kong and is incredibly cheap. Travel after sunset and get a great view of the Hong Kong lights along the shore of both islands. The Star Ferry boats have been carrying passengers across Hong Kong harbour since 1888. While the two sides of the Harbour are now connected by a world-class infrastructure system of road and rail tunnels, tens of millions of people still climb aboard the humble Star Ferry vessels each year. Many visitors take the ride for an up-close look at one of the world’s most photographed harbours, while locals have kept their affection for it because, even after a century, it’s still a highly reliable and efficient form of transport. National Geographic rates the Star Ferry crossing as one of 50 ‘places of a lifetime’ and I think I agree with them

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank deborahk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews