We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turbojet HK Airport to Macau” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TurboJet

TurboJet
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong
Ranked #59 of 807 things to do in Hong Kong
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Turbojet HK Airport to Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Initial service was great. The wonderful efficiency of HK airport never ceases to amaze me. Got off a flight from Sydney, straight to ticket counter, bought Super class seats which meant we could sit upstairs, had a small meal and could disembark first.
Train from terminal to ferry, all nice and easy. Boarding Turbojet easy. 50 minute ride was great (dark so could not see anything)
Trouble started once we arrived in Macau. Cleared immigration easily then went to " luggage claim" area. Had not seen our bags since we had left Brisbane early that morning! As usual the Asian people do not know how to queue so lots of jostling for position. After a short wait they wheeled in the first luggage container into a narrow corridor area. There is no carousel, they just manually unload it and ump it on the floor. Everyone was pushing and shoving to get their bags. Could not see anything.
Our bags arrived on the fourth trolley so by then a lot of the crowd had gone, thankgoodness!
Then you have to go under the road via a tunnel (there is a lift which was good as we each had a suitcase and golf bag). The hotel shuttles are all lined up on other side.

Helpful?
11 Thank janeastrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    230
    99
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
366 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“It's a boat... what's the attraction again?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The TurboJet is a fairly efficient way to travel from Hong Kong to Macau and back again.

It can be a bit rough when it's in Hong Kong harbour, particularly before it leaves the dock - if the sea is high then the boat will be pitching up and down and you can get quite nauseous. Likewise, it sometimes has to stop on the way back from Macau in the middle of the sea, and rock up and down until half the passengers are vomitting. I haven't suffered nausea on the ferry myself, but be warned, you can still suffer the consequences of it from other people. If you really don't like the thought of that, maybe take the helicopter instead.

Tickets can either be purchased from a grumpy person at the TurboJet counter, or if you go to one of the many travel agents in the ferry terminal, they'll sell you a cut-price ticket for a ferry that's just about to leave - they'll have purchased lots of tickets in advance and will want to shift them to recoup some money, so you've got the opportunity to haggle with them. It might sound a bit shady, but these are the same tickets that you'd be paying 50 HKD more for if you bought them directly from TurboJet.

Sadly, the same doesn't hold true when you're coming back from Macau - the only place to get your ticket is at the TurboJet counters, and we've invariably found that the return ferry is sold out and we've had to wait a couple of hours for space to come up, or pay extra for 'Super Class" - you get a cup of jelly to eat and a slightly more comfortable seat, both in a separate lounge before you board, and then on the ferry itself. Not really worth the cash unless you want to get away in a hurry. I suppose you could buy a return ticket in advance when you first get to Macau, but nobody ever remembers to do that.

Anyway, the long and the short of it is that this isn't a tourist attraction in itself, but it is one of the few ways you have to get to Macau. I recommend visiting it for less than an hour, because you'll want to leave the Vomit Comet before that, but unfortunately the crossing takes an hour and you can't leave early, so that's probably not much help...

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank MrCushtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,329 reviews
3,419 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,298 helpful votes
“Most frequent service between Hong Kong and Macau”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We recently used TurboJet to return from Macau to Hong Kong during the CNY holiday and were happy with our ferry ride back home. We arrived at the Macau ferry terminal at 3.30pm, walked straight up to the counter, purchased two tickets, cleared Macau immigration ten minutes later and were shortly boarding our 4pm ferry back to Hong Kong. Cost was HKD$152 per person (rates a bit higher due to national holiday) and the journey was just over one hour long.

In general, we prefer the seats on the CotaiJet ferries as well as the First Ferry boats (now also being operated by TurboJet). However, the TurboJet seats are ok, no problems just less comfortable in our opinion. Otherwise, there is very little to differentiate between ferries transporting people between Hong Kong and Macau.

What we like about TurboJet is their 24 hour service and frequent daytime departures, being every 15 minutes (reduced service at night time). This makes getting to and from Macau so much easier than in the past.

Overall, TurboJet isn’t our preferred ferry for comfort. For that we prefer the CotaiJet ferries. However, there isn’t enough difference between these boats to justify waiting for an available CotaiJet boat. TurboJet is good enough and offers the most frequent service. Thus, we suggest just booking the next available ferry, which will probably be TurboJet and just getting on with your trip.

Hint: Boarding ferries can get unnecessarily hectic, as many passengers, usually those on package tours to HK and Macau are unfamiliar with ferry travel or boarding procedures. Thus, it is not uncommon for a mad rush to ensue as soon as they allow boarding to begin. The staff try to calm the ticket holders and make them file up to board the ferries but many still seem to feel insecure, preferring to race and push their way through the crowd to get to their seat. This can make it quite uncomfortable boarding when ferries are busy.

The good news is that all ticket holders have been given assigned seats so the mad rush is really not necessary and you don’t have to participate. Instead, we recommend just waiting a few minutes until the majority of passengers have boarded and fought their way to their seats, then you can board peacefully.

Hint: With such frequent service, there is usually no need to reserve ferry tickets in advance with TurboJet. All you need to do is simply go to the ferry terminal when you are ready to leave and book passage on the next outbound ferryboat. This includes weekends and holidays if you leave early, around 7-7.30am for example.

We have done this even during Chinese New Year and found lots of available seats on the outbound ferries to Macau on early morning departures. However, for departures later in the day on national holidays its definitely worth reserving your outbound ferry ticket so you don’t spend undesired time at the terminal waiting for the next available outbound ferry.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ride ok - crowd not!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This was the craziest experience we had. We had no issues buying our ticket to Macau. Then, you go downstairs to go through immigration and actually get on the boat. This was a total nightmare!!! There were like 3 windows open that had set lines maybe 5 feet out. Then, there were about 500 or 600 people pushing, shoving, screaming, all trying to get up to those 3 windows. No sense of a line at all and no issues with people just thinking it was ok to walk up to the front and butt their way in. A "regular" there told us it was tour groups from mainland China. If you could go later in the day, I think it would be much better. The boat itself was really nice, but just a word of warning....while you are waiting to take off from Hong Kong, the boat sits in a little channel and the boat rocks like crazy. We only sat there a few minutes but I was getting really sick!!! Once we got going I felt better...so if you have any issues with motion sickness...don't get on the boat until last minute or be sure and take something. They give you assigned seats when you check in. There are also snacks and drinks available for sale on the boat.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TurboJet also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to TurboJet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing