We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #72 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Most of these reviews are accurate. The rooms are tired-looking, but everything worked & was clean. Room size is adequate for 2 people w/luggage (especially for HK). In my mind, location is perfect, though it may not be perfect for everyone (judging by the complaints about crowds). Causeway Bay can be wall-to-wall on the weekend (sometimes during the week too) - fair warning. Taxi from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express) to Excelsior was HK$45 @ 23:00 on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nijunihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have been fortunate to stay here many times and have always had a good experience. The location of the hotel is great, right in the middle of Causeway Bay with great views of the harbour and Kowloon. The rooms are a little small and, as commented on in other reviews, a little dated but everything works, the beds are great and they contain every facility you could possibly need. There is a good choice of bars and restaurants. The gym is good and the service excellent. The only negative is the price of the in-room internet.
The Excelsior will always be one of my first choices when staying in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Pick one with a view of the harbour. The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in the Excelsior, for the third time, during the Hong Kong Sevens last month, and I have to say that our stay was excellent as always. We arrived late in the afternoon on the 22nd to book into three rooms. One of the rooms was ready but unfortunately two were not. This was to be expected due to the 7's being on and the hotel was undoubtably full. However, the staff could not have been more apologetic and moreso helpful. We were able to freshen up in the room that was available, and extra towels and amenities were immediatley sent to the room. The other two rooms were soon ready for occupation and all was well. We received a letter from the management team the next morning apologising for the issue which was a nice touch.

Another nice touch was the hotel prepared a packed breakfast for us on the Saturday and Sunday due to our very early departure to the Hong Kong Stadium. Nothiing was too much trouble throughout our stay and I cannot praise the hotel high enough.

Thank you very much to all and we look forward to our next visit, hopefully next year!!

Room Tip: Harbour View is a great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Excelsior Hotel was located in Causeway Bay, and is near to the MTR station (about 10 minutes walk) and shopping centers. You can find everything in a walking distance. Even when you're tired after wandering around HK and don't want to walk too far, there's the WTC shopping mall right in front of the hotel just in case you need anything or just to grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks.

We were in a group trip around 120 people, and I don't hear any complain about the hotel. We stayed for 3D/2N. The breakfast was great with so many food to choose, but I feel it still lack of tables for breakfast because it was so crowded in the morning.
All in all, I would stay again in this hotel. Location is still the magnet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stay at the Excelsior quite often. The hotel is decent in all regards, and has recently undergone some renovations. I love staying in Causeway Bay, and this hotel provides good value in that location. Nothing is cheap in Hong Kong. But the service is pretty good, the views from the rooms are nice, and there is lot to do within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

Room Tip: I was in #1801 most recently. For a cheaper room it had great views, and was larger than the typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My group of 4 went to Hong Kong during the Easter holidays and we stayed in The Excelsior. Although there was a queue to check-in, the reception was pretty fast and we had our rooms, upgraded to a higher floor. The ambience was excellent and everything was orderly.

In fact, I left an umbrella behind after checking out. The hotel wrote and offered to post it to me (at a fee) and this little detail impressed me too. Integrity and attentiveness.

Another points worth mentioning is that this hotel is centrally located, just a minute walk to the MTR station. Shopping and dining outlets are all at the doorsteps. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for 5D/4N with my whole family, we occupied 4 rooms. Each room has different views but what made us stayed again(and again) this this hotel is its services - all the staffs(reception, bellboys and housekeeping) are friendly and accommodating. Location is just another plus and great factor.

I would like to commend on the services offered b MS, BETTY LAM for accommodating our needs on each room. She was very helpful and friendly when we were checking in.

I am looking forward to my next trip and stay in The Excelsior, Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovehkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,476 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#118 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#94 of 726 in Hong Kong
619 reviews
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#52 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,487 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Address: 281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $243 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing