We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a busy place... with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location for a busy place... with good service”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a humming hotel in that is is always busy....lots of airline crews use it too as well as tour groups. The better rooms are really very practical and useful... do try and get some view of the harbour if you can. Staff are responsive and helpful and being part of the Mandarin Oriental hotel group, helps the service standards dramatically. Service levels are generally high in Hong Kong and they certainly are among the top niche for their level and price range.
It seems prices for all food outlets has gone up but they are all good places...Totts the roof top bar does a delightful Sunday Brunch- don't rush it.
My only moan is related to internet charges... one can sit in a cafe and buy a cup of tea or coffee and get free internet but not in the hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour view, if you can but they tend to be more expensive, but even a side view harbour room is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill35dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    1,131
    368
    59
    27
See reviews for
432
490
166
978
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent four nights for our summer vacation. I did my reservation via their web site one week before my arrival in Hong Kong, and we decide for a double room + extra bed for our child.
When we arrived, the girl at the reception suggested a better accommodation for an extra (ridicoulus extra!) at the top floor, with free access to the Executive Club (for our breakfast and light lunch). We were just entered in our beautiful room, when two housemaids came with extra pillows, hot tea and a gift for our boy! From our room, we could see the spectacular view of the Victoria Harbour!!!
The breakfast was fantastic and so were the dinner we had in two different inside restaurants. All the people was very friendly and helpful, giving us a lot of informations and advices, including the day trip to Macau (they prepared a packed lunch for our boy!!!).
We left an old T-Shirt in the room, and the day of our departure, I got an e-mail from the hotel, where they would send it back to Italy (!!!).
Furthermore, we got another email form the General Manager, who thank us for the appreciations we wrote in the survey we did. I strongly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranciMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

got a three day free stay in this hotel while attending FILMART hong kong film market .

i will give 5 stars for location .... 5 minutes from the underground metro transit that will take you anywhere incl. disneyland ( 50 percent cheaper than joining a tour by mtr ) SOGO the japanese dept store is a few steps away . there is a grocery at the basement of this store.
another big shopping mall is TIMES SQUARE .. A 20 minute walk. restaurants everywhere and most of them opened until midnight.
reception is nice.. concierge courteous nothing to complain staying at this hotel except the rooms.. its quite small compare to nearby Park Lane hotel . peak season could be expensive at this hotel. buffet at the hotel is reasonable but not spectacular.

take a cab to the peak tram and go up victoria peak...you can see the whole of hong kong. and some really good restaurants there

what to do in hong kong...for me shopping... the pollution is bad, streets are always crowded but i love the city , full of energy and vibrant

Room Tip: take the harbour view.. even a partial harbour view would be welcoming. for rooms facing nearby bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hong Kong hotels are not cheap so this was good value with a spacious room by Hong Kong standards. Comfortable beds and a view of the harbour although this was busy with diggers, cranes etc as they are reclaiming land near the old yacht club. We had a view of the noon day gun and were able to watch this being fired from the room. Sadly the weather was cloudy and cold so the views weren't as good as they might have been. Breakfast was expensive but as this hotel is next to a conference centre and linked to a shopping mall there are alternative places to go for a more casual breakfast. We were there two nights so did try the hotel breakfast one day as it was a wet Sunday - it was good if you have time to have a leisurely breakfast and don't mind paying the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Excelsior hotel is the most convenient place to stay if you want shopping, restaurant and everything. Although the hotel is quite old , the interior is kept quite well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teenybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've stayed at the Excelsior hotel in Hong Kong for couple of days. Well, the hotel is very well located! The subway is very close, lots of restaurants and shops nearby and not far from the main attraction.
The staff is very attentive and caring and always ready to help you. The only downside for me was the appearence, as it a good restyling of the rooms is needed. Not that the rooms are bad or ugly, it's just that looks a bit old.
For breakfast and dinners I choose to eat outside, as it's cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Excelsior! Perfect location (near food, shopping, the MTR,Victoria Park, and overlooking the harbour), excellent staff, lovely hotel. As a surprise, my husband called ahead to have flowers arranged and put in our room, as it was our 25th wedding anniversary. Not only did they have a gorgeous flower arrangement in the bed, but the General Manager had a bottle of complimentary champagne on ice and fruit in the room for us! And they had moved us to a higher room for better harbor views. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#121 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,247 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,393 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#72 of 718 in Hong Kong
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Property: The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing