We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another Winner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Hongkong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #111 of 702 Hotels in Hong Kong
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at the Regal Kowloon on 5/4 and has a excellent experience. Since my meeting the next week is at the island, I decided to try Regal Hong Kong. I am glad to report the Hong Kong property and staff are as good as the one in Kowloon. Room is clean, service is excellent. I have signed up for the Regal reward program and I checked in via a separate seat down area. The young lady at the reward desk was professional and friendly, I do not remember her name but she's definitely care about what she's doing and it shows.
I would rate this as a 4-5 stars property and look forward to use them again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwan_NYC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for your positive report on your recent stay with us. It is most encouraging to receive such comments and they will be passed on to the associates accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Best regards

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    455
    199
    78
    63
See reviews for
220
199
69
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

A friend had described the hotel as 'faded elegance' so I was expecting the worst. However, I was pleasantly surprised - my room was large and quiet and had all the essentials. Room service was fast and efficient and everything worked. The gym in the sub-basement level was functional - just a pity it was in the bowels of the hotel. The lack of any bar area other than the stark and brightly lit lobby was a pity - but didn't ruin my stay. The neighbourhood is good with a good selection of shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk. The roof top pool was quiet on both visits and a nice place to escape for an hour over the weekend. Other than breakfast I didn't eat at the hotel but the restaurants seemed permanently busy drawing a lot of local business - so I assume that the food was pretty good. Overall pretty good value especially if you're happy to trade of a larger room for some 'faded elegance'. Would I stay again - yes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCityAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel although I am sorry that we do not have a bar other than the Tiffany Lounge you referred to in the Lobby. We have done a lot of modernizing work on the rooms and are just completing another floor this month. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I travel to Vietnam numerous times a year, and like to stop for a day or two in Hong Kong. Its on my nickel, so I visit the various discount travel sites to find a hotel in the under $125 range. The same five hotels seem to always pop-up: Regal, Hotel Bonaparte, Cosmopolitan, Cosmo and Charterhouse. All are in the Wan Chai/Causeway Bay Area.
The Regal is by far the best value of these five. It has a very nice lobby, the rooms are VERY spacious, and the service is exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

I believe thar Hotel industry is a services industry, although this us needless to say but I have doubt that Regal Hotel understand this. Despite the recent and on-going refurbishment of the hotel the service is rather disappointing. First of all, the lady that helped to check us in showed us with very unpleasant face as seems we are unwelcomed, there was no single gesture, facial expression or even word of welcome. As we arrived early around 1230pm, the lady told us that the check in time is 2pm and we have to come back at 2pm to check in, she gave us a note with hotel room number and informed us that when we're back at 2pm we can just show it to the front desk again to get the room key. So I came back at 2pm sharp and had to queue at the front desk again and passed the note to the front desk after 20mins queue and the person who attended us (another person, next to the lady who attended us earlier) said that it was a wrong room assigned and gave us a different room (not the one given by the lady earlier) which is at lower floor.
The front desk also seemed as sales desk to me as we are checking in the people kept selling us extra services which of course needs money - wifi or LAN cable in room (was very surprised the hotel room doesn't even have LAN cable, in which era are we in? Moreover in such developed country like HK?), you need to pay HKD170 per day for Internet, breakfast, room up grade and etc. I was just thinking if the front desk are trained to welcome the guest by selling more and more they could. If you have better room that vacant and no one is taking it up, either you offer it free to hotel guest or just don't mention it. I don't think we need to know how much to upgrade to each room type as we could check it online.
The worst happened during my last morning that I checked out (8am), the bell boy informed us that the shuttle bus to HK station is on 20mins interval, and the shuttle bus to airport only arrives in an hour. So we opted for the bus to HK station and transfer to airport express train. To my very disappointment, we waited for 40mins and there wasn't any bus!! I think the hotel should aware that hotel guests are in need to arrive at the airport on time and missing flight is the worst to happen for any traveller.
After 40mins (I was kind enough to gave them double of the time interval promised) and I went to the bell boy and asked is he aware that the bus is coming soon? He just replied with very rude face"I don't know".

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jy850922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments about your experience staying with us recently. I am very sorry to learn that you were not made to feel welcome on arrival and I have taken this up with the department concerned to ensure we deal with this issue. Upselling at the desk is simply a way of offering guests some additional services that they may not have been aware of. Many people do not make their own bookings and we find guests generally respond positively to this. Then there is a LAN cable in every room at the writing desk and we provide both WIFI and hard wired options. We are working on installing a new system that will allow us to change our pricing system. If you book through our Web Site, then you are entitled to free internet. Then I am very sorry about the shuttle bus service to the station that is provided by the MTR and not ourselves. Usually they are pretty regular but we cannot control the frequency of this service. I have asked the Concierge to monitor this service carefully and report any shortcomings.
I would like to apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay with us. Should you be returning to Hong Kong again soon, please do let me know so we can make some the arrangements for you.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights during April 2012 at the Regal Hong Kong on a stop over in Hong Kong.
We were overall pleased with all aspects of this hotel during our stay.
We made use of the complimentary shuttle bus (contact the hotel in advance) from the airport which picks you up from the Airport Regal hotel after obtaining tickets from the regal counter in the arrivals hall at the airport.
We had booked an executive room (at a great price on an early booking deal online), therefore had our own executive checkin / reception floor with extremely helpful staff who delivered a more personalised level of service (were extremely helpful with sightseeing ideas and directions).
Our booking also included each night, complimentary drinks and snacks within the executive lounge and a full buffet breakfast in the cafe rivoli (was fantastic, there is even a chef on the buffet bar to make your eggs how you like including custom omeletes!).
Our room was very large and luxurious, beautifully decorated and clean. The mini bar also included a personal coffee machine free of charge.

The only slight down point I could mention would be there was a slight smell of cigartette smoke in our room although we requested a non smoking room, however for us was not serious enough for complaint.

Thanks Regal Hong Kong for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezz1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had a good experience and this will be a great encouragement to our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Requested for a change of room bec. initial room had dirty carpet (1516). Next room (1806) was a renovated one, a bit modernized. Very spacious with 2 beds w/c you can push together, bigger than a king bed. Beds and pillows were soft. With tub and separate shower plus toiletries. With safe, coffee&tea, desk. Views are of buildings, Victoria Park and harbor.

Cleanliness wasn't up to standard. Hairs on both shower and tub. AC was kinda loud. No help from bellboys to get taxi and to load bags into taxi.

Convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packflashpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Madam

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have taken up your comments with the Housekeeping team regarding the carpet in the room you were initially allocated. We do have a program of carpet shampooing and they are also regularly vacuumed to keep them in good condition. We will also work harder to raise the standard of cleaning. I am sorry that you did not get any help from the bell boys to get a taxi and load your luggage. As a general rule they are doing this but sometimes they can be occupied on the floors with baggage collection and delivery. But we will certainly focus on assisting our guests in this area. Please accept my apologies for these shortcomings and we will do our best to make the improvements.

I do hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back again on your next trip.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed fo four days at the Regal Hong Kong wile in town for business. Overall i was happy with the experience I had. The room was ok, it was kept clean and made up in good time daily. I had no problems with reception staff and most of the other people at the hotel. The only place I did have difficulties was the restaurant on the first floor that is used for breakfast. Staff here were not very nice, verging on the rude especially when seeking a signature for the breakfast docket.

The gym was good with very few people using it, so it was easy to get on machines. Also it is open 24 hours, useful if your body clock is out of whack.

It is well located in Causeway Bay, close to retail options. It is also close to the MTR, as well as on the tram line.

So apart from a couple of sour staff it was overall an OK experience.

Room Tip: Try for a room higher up facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_acct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us but I did note your experience in Café Rivoli where you took breakfast. I have taken this up with the team accordingly as it is our priority to be polite and helpful to our guests at all times. Please accept my apologies for this but be assured we will work on improving this part of our service.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Best regards

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#72 of 702 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#76 of 702 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#19 of 702 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#68 of 702 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hongkong Hotel

Property: Regal Hongkong Hotel
Address: No.88 Yee Wo Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Hongkong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Hongkong hotel situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, Hong Kong's vibrant commercial and shopping district. The deluxe five-star Hotel is the epitome of luxury and elegance where international business and leisure travellers are pampered with stylish comforts and a wide selection of gourmet choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Regal Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regal Hongkong
Regal Hongkong Hong Kong
Regal Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing