We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Stay :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regal Riverside Hotel
Ranked #154 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My stay at Regal Riverside Hotel is really nice, I stayed there from May 16-19. I read most of the reviews before staying at this hotel so I knew what to expect about certain things such as to watch out for the noise, etc. But surprisingly it wasn't so bad! The repairs were done at reasonable hours, I wasn't woken up by noise at all. And anyway we leave the hotel and go out around Hongkong and by the time we come back there aren't any disturbances.

Hotel Transpo / Wifi - There's a hotel shuttle that picks you up from Airport to Hotel and vice versa; and a shuttle to take you to the nearest MTR, or all the way to Disneyland! So it's pretty convenient. Wifi is not free in the rooms, but there's free wifi in the lobby; just ask the concierge for a password.

Location - Okay, it's not the closest to the city. But I'm more of a suburbs person so while I do like to go around the bustling city, I like to go home to quite a relaxing place, and Sha Tin is the sort of place that feels really comfortable, with a lot of open spaces and parks; it's where you can breathe. Anyway we just take the MTR; it's really convenient. We never took the taxi or city bus at all. We even went on a day trip to Macau coming from Sha Tin.

Room - We got a room at the 12th floor, facing the river! The room is spacious, clean, with elegant interiors, and the bathroom is clean as well. The bed is comfortable enough. We have an amazing view, facing the river, very nice and relaxing. It's a big change from the view of narrow buildings from the city. There's a park there by the river where you can go jogging if you want.

Nearest Shops - I know that there's a nearby shopping mall there but my boyfriend and I sometimes go to Home Square / Ikea to have lunch, it's just a short shuttle ride away from the hotel. There's free wifi at the ground floor of Home Square! There's cool stuff there if you're into furniture or novelty items. If we really want to go shopping for other things we just go take the MTR to go to Causeway Bay and other stations.

I definitely would recommend this place to couples especially :) I would probably go back here again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a higher floor and facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRH_10, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Commentator: What a nice caption – Thank you!
Your assessment of the hotel and its location is very objective. The TripAdvisor community seems to have an ever-increasing acuity on consumer decisions! Yes, reading consumer comments provides insight, good judgment and reduces surprises.
You took advantage of free airport trips and free WIFI at the lobby level! If you had booked online on the Regal website, you could have also benefitted from FREE WIFI IN YOUR ROOM!
Yes, Shatin is NOT THE CITY CENTER OF HONG KONG. It is, however, greener and cooler than downtown, with surprisingly open spaces, the wide Shing Mun River an inlet from Tolo Harbor, many green parks and forested hills.
Going to Macau from Shatin is a breeze! You can take a bus from the corner of the hotel directly to the Ferry Terminal. It is so easy!
Any individual traveler should best stay on the upper floors as of the 10th floor. They are renovated, more comfortable and quieter. River view rooms are more pleasant at any time of your stay. They offer an overview over life on the river… the early morning egrets and eagles, the rowers training for the next race, the sampan, the cyclists and joggers on the tracks along the river… even the reflections of the twinkling lights from the high rises nearby at night!
Yes, IKEA with all of its typical standards is relatively close to the hotel, Shatin Mall and New Town Plaza are located just across the pedestrian bridge… The MTR station with top connections is part of the mall complex; you can go to Central, to Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, and the airport or even to Shenzen in the Mainland.
You mention that you would recommend the hotel for couples – yes, it depends what you are looking for; certain rooms from the 15th to the 17th floor feature some inspiring mirror configurations. When you come back, you may just specifically ask for them. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    613
    355
    113
    78
See reviews for
392
311
130
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Just checked in the hotel last nite for 5 nites so far the experience had not been present. Room temp. Thermostat was not working properly and kept at 19c although adjusted to 22 a few times. Too cold for toddler travelling with us. Cleaning staffs were a bit noisy outside the hall way. As well we can start hearing renovation noise on above floor at 10, 10:30am and it is still going as we speak. The on duty mgr agreed to switch room for us this morning so hopefully the rest of the 4 other nite experience will be better.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shop_Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRH_10, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your feedback! We fully appreciate that especially for toddlers the appropriate room temperature plays a huge role; you made the right decision when you asked immediately for a room change! As much as we strive for a balanced air-con output, we may not always fully succeed.
We reiterated your point covering maid-chatter in the guestroom corridor and our Executive Housekeeper assured us that the case related to non-permanent housekeeping staff whom we henceforth will brief especially on this important aspect of consumer expectations.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I like to stay in this hotel because the location is pretty good. I can go anywhere by bus or the MTR since the bus stops are located in front of the hotel. The hotel provides free transportation to the Shatin Train Station too.
Overall, the employees of this hotel are very friendly. Whenever I called the housekeeping for service, he/she will show up within ten minutes. I broke my ankle at the last three days before I returned to the States in March. The manager asked the housekeeping to change the shower faucet with a handle for me so that it is convenient for me to take bath. I am touched by her kindness and consideration.
I will stay in this hotel when I visit Hong Kong again next time and I will recommend this hotel to my friends too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna90049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRH_10, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Commentator: Wow, what a pleasant caption above your comments! Thanks a million!
You like our location in the new Territories of Hong Kong! You appreciate the hotel’s complimentary shuttle to the nearby major MTR station! You extend compliments to our friendly staff! You praise our Housekeeping speed to be ready to be of service to you! You applaud our managerial and maintenance assistance when you needed a faucet exchanged to accommodate the movement needs related to your broken ankle!
And…, you promise to return! What could we wish more!
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The Regal room that we stayed in is very big however, it is very old and dated especially the bathroom. The bathroom door panel/paint is peeling off, not much of a shower curtain, the toilet flush is finicky. Slippers are provided along with two complimentary bottles of water. Beware of the mouthwash in the bathroom sitting along with other complimentary amenities (ie, toothbrush, combs, etc) there is a charge of HK 20.00 for that.

The bed is very uncomfortable, mattress is old and you can feel the mattress spring on your back. Our TV was not working and we had to get them to come fix it.

The only plus side is that it is quite convenient traveling to/from airport with bus A41. We exited at the side of the hotel and walk half a block up to the A41 bus stop for the airport ride. Fare is quite cheap at HK 22.30 per person paid with octopus card or exact change. Hotel also provides free shuttle bus to Sha Tin MTR station.

The hotel lobby is always busy and packed with tour groups. There is free WIFI but need to wait quite long to get a hold of the concierge for the password.

Overall, it is okay if you are not looking for anything fancy or close to the city center.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filter188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRH_10, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Commentator: We appreciate that you like the spacious and larger rooms you would usually find in Hong Kong. We noted your comments on the hotel’s current renovation status and are pleased to share with you that the hotel owners renovated an entire floor this year and made a commitment to continue to renovate the lobby and more. We noted your comments on the price of the mouthwash and will see how we can modify its price. While all rooms from the 10th floor upward were fitted out with new mattresses, we will continue to replace those on the lower floors. The use of the TV system is not exactly as consumer-friendly as we would like it to see and at times requires some user support.
We are pleased that you like the multitude and frequency of the public bus schedules in front and around the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Located in the New Territories, much quieter than busy downtown Hong Kong but easily accessible by bus from the airport and very frequent free transfers to the MTR - best and cheapest way to get around HK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R4FMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRH_10, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your comments! We take it that VFM stands for VALUE FOR MONEY.
Yes, Shatin in the New Territories is a VFM location and we are glad you see it as such and like it.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaoguan, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel, just for the location. The bed was not that good, and the room was about as nice as lower priced hotel in the US. There were many things that should have been maintained better. The shower curtain really needed replacing, and it didnt look like they had vacuumed the room very well. Some of the outlets didnt work, and they pre-set the A/C to not go below 21 degrees celsius. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtntraveler412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRH_10, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Commentator: We appreciate your observations. For more discerning expectations, we recommend reservations at Regal iClub floors where the room conditions are superior to those on the floors with lower rates.
We regularly replace shower curtains and we will reinforce more rigorous conditions for replacement.
We are currently testing all power sockets to replace any damaged fuses.
The air-condition system cannot be lowered to temperatures below 21 degree Celsius which especially for guests from the US and Middle East may not always be up to expectations. We only can offer our regrets for such fact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

San Mateo, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

even though we just stayed for about few hours in the hotel because our schedule during whole HK tour was hectic it was nice and cool. Thanks to trip advisor, they really helped us! Our stay was beyond our expectations. Friendly staff, although they cannot communicate well in English, but it was ok, sign language helps (i think it is universal now). It is a bit off the downtown HK, but then again it is still worth the pros than the cons. Early morning, the view from the river was refreshing. just a few jog from the hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The place has nearby 7-11 and food stalls. Definitely will come back, imagine that for just a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoViCeForNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRH_10, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your comments! TripAdvisor rates hotels in form of BULLETS and a matrix that classifies hotels by stars. That matrix classifies the hotel somewhere between three and four stars although the local classification rates it four stars based on its extensive facilities, amenities and services such as 10 restaurants and bars , 10 function rooms inclusive of two large ballrooms, 1,138 guestrooms and suites, a Thai spa, garage parking and more.
Yes, generally our team members are very friendly albeit that they do not all speak fluently English or Mandarin.
Yes, Shatin is a 1 million citizen suburb. It is located along the Shing Mun River, an inlet from the sea. It is surrounded by green hills; it is cooler and breezier than downtown.
You can jog and cycle on well-maintained tracks and shopping – it’s great at the close by mega malls!
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Royal Park Hotel
#44 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Kowloon City
Regal Oriental Hotel
Regal Oriental Hotel
#148 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#73 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Riverside Hotel

Property: Regal Riverside Hotel
Address: 34-36 Tai Chung Kiu Road, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#111 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Shing Mun River in Shatin, Regal Riverside Hotel is only 30-minute drive away from Hong Kong International Airport and is located conveniently near 2 MTR stations and a mega shopping complex featuring over 900 brand boutiques, individually operated shops, dining and entertainment places. The 1,138-room hotel operates routine shuttle services to Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong Disney Land, Ngong Ping 360 and Tsimshatsui East together with other public transports right on the hotel's doorstep, guests can easily connect to all shopping, entertainment and business districts in Hong Kong. Shatin features places of interest such as the 10,000 Buddha Temple, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Jockey Club, a famous world class horse racing arena, Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Science Park. The hotel also features 10 restaurants and bars as well as a wide range of recreational facilities such as the beautiful outdoor swimming pool (closes during winter period), spacious fitness center with sauna, steam, Jacuzzi and beauty services. The hotel's OM Spa, designed in contemporary Thai style and infused with a soothing sense of harmony and serenity, provides professional spa and massage services to discerning guests for nourishing their body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Regal Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Riverside Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Riverside
Regal Riverside Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing