We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always a treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is not our first time at this Hotel, actually the 3rd, so that pretty much wraps up the review right there.... The staff are amazing, so helpful and the concierge will tell you anything you need to know.. The smiles are genuine, this is a great place to stay from the service to the rooms, to the food, we have no complaints.. The buffet in The Place restaurant lobby level is one of the best we have ever had, fresh oysters, crab, lobster, salads, small appitizers, clams you name it, and that is just the cold food... Prime rib, chicken, pork, indian food, you name it. Then there is the dessert! Complete with chocolate fountain, and small taster desserts which are perfect. Bit pricey but this is the part of the trip that we spoil ourselves, so no complaints. This hotel is in a great location, take the train from the airport, then free shuttle bus to subway, off at kowloon, round the corner and bam your there, there is a mall attached to the hotel, so we spend most of our time going over there for dim sum.. They have a food court in there and it's nothing like North American food courts, these are full blown restaurants, and the food is first class. This is a stop off hotel on the way back from backpacking asia so we spoil ourselves, this has become a yearly stop off.... The rooms are fairly large by hong kong standards and the beds and pillows are top of the line.... The only downside is do not use the mini bar, it is extremely expensive.. Leave the hotel cross the street and grab your beers at 7-11. Room costs vary but basically around 160.00 p/n CAD $

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talashea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,381
    1,325
    241
    64
    34
See reviews for
1,390
2,075
444
1,163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Only two nights there, but what an outstanding expirience! Amazing, attentive, always smiling, creative people (concierge - "X staff", reception desk), consequent and intriguing style (in everything - from the contemporary sculpture, paintings in public areas, music in the room, refreshment mints and bath amenities to hotel bill envelope) good food, opportunity to shop in Langham Place Gallery, effective transfer service. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is located near to mongkok MTR. But we had to face lot of problems with the luggage. Firstly from the MTR maps I assumed that hotel is just some floors above the train station. This was a mistake we did as there is no direct connectivity from the station to the hotel, you need to walk some distance or take escalator. Also we were misguided by the people there some of whom gave us wrong directions to hotel. So my advice is hire a cab to reach the hotel if you have luggage.
Somehow we managed to reach the reception totally tired and struggling with the luggage. The first disappointment that I faced here was that the hotel staff was standing there but no one came for help. A couple of guests though offered to help us with the luggage.
We reached there at 1 pm but the room was not ready, the person at the reception told me that the room will be ready by 3 pm, till that I can sit in the lobby.
But there was only one sofa set which was already occupied, the lobby is really small. I told one guy there that I am really tired and I want sit somewhere but he smiled and left. Other person suggested that I should go out and have lunch. This definitely was not good hospitality. The room was available at 3 pm.
The other bad experience was they took extra money from my credit card during check-in and I found about this transaction only after one day. When I asked about this they told that is a protocol followed in all HK hotels and it is kept for security and will be refunded later. This was not a professional behavior, because during booking we were not told about security deposit, also there was no intimation during check-in. It maybe a hotel policy but it was their duty to inform in advance.

Now the good part the room was spacious, clean and nice. Room service was prompt and always greeted us with a smile. Location excellent. We were mostly out for sightseeing. Bathroom was good but the accessories like comb, toothbrush etc. were of inferior quality. Check-out was hassle free. They have a concierge where you can store your luggage for sometime after check-out.

verdict - Next time in HK I would like explore some other hotel, though this hotel is not bad but didn't met our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPHKG, General Manager at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Hi MannG,

Glad to read that your stay was good for the most part. Real sorry though for your arrival experience! Although the hotel is directly connected to the Mongkok MTR station, you are absolutely right that when loaded with luggage, having to navigate various escalators to reach the hotel isn’t ideal. Our website has a list of alternative routes from the airport to the hotel that might come in handy for the future. As for your check-in, we didn’t live up to our usual high standards where we should have been quicker to help you with your bags, given you advance notice of the necessary deposit and also directed you to our Portal – Work & Play lounge, just steps away from our lobby, where ample seating, an internet den and a massive TV, would have made your wait much more comfortable and entertaining. We’ve done some fine tuning and hope you and the family will be back.

Sincerely,
Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I went to the Langham Place hotel dest at the arrivals desk at the airport. They looked up my name and ordered the limo for me, offered me a drink while I waited. 3 mins later we were escorted to a brand new very large Mercedes that drove us into Kowloon. There we were met with 2 hotel reps that escorted us up to the lobby and helped us check in.

We chose an upgrade food package that gave us access to the L Club on the 35th floor. A great view and I showed my card once the first time I went there. They have snacks in the evening, which were excellent. Individual baby lamb chops, fish/chicken satays, grilled shrimp just to name a few. Then the desserts came out.

Drinks were available beer named brand gin and vodka and juices and sodas were available 24hours a day. Anything you needed was taken care of there. I didn't have time for the free spa treatment but the pool on the roof was very nice and the hot tub and workout room were all spotless.

The room had a pillow menu and the bed was firm as many Asian beds are but it had a feather topping so it was very comfortable. If you wanted a firmer mattress they would remove the topping for you. The bathroom was modern contemporary with a glass window into the room with an electric shade that can be lowered for privacy. Wifi was good and I had a nice desk to work on.

This puts all US hotels service to shame. Loved it and I'll be going back my next stay.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one on the 39th floor. A great view and access to the L Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unitedflyier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Booked their car service from the airport when we booked the room, made the trip painless. Offered a beverage at their reception counter in arrivals, helped us with our bags to the car. Greeted by name in the lobby. Club level is awesome, full bar & 3 meals a day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osogrande-NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We loved this hotel. After a 16-hour flight from New York, we were pretty tired when arriving at 10:00 pm at the hotel but were delighted when told at checkin that a suite was available so they were upgrading us. We had a one-bedroom with sweeping views of the skyline, with a full kitchen and complimentary wifi. The appointments were very modern but elegant (they remind me of the Wynn in Las Vegas). The business center has everything you could ask for including a printer to print boarding passes (for free). It was perfect.

Additionally, the staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us a card saying "take me to Langham Place Hotel" written in Chinese with the address. This is very useful in Hong Kong where it is not always easy to find someone speaking English.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. If you like trendy, modern, cool and hip, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Have stayed here a few times, mostly at club level. This hotel has everything I need - clean and modern rooms with good beds, a fantastic buffet breakfast with excellent coffee (the staff will make you any kind of coffee you can describe), a good gym (although it is a bit small for the number of users before breakfast) and a train station and huge shopping complex adjacent to the hotel. You can walk from the Mong Kok station underground and through shopping arcades and the shopping centre to get to this hotel - great if it's hot or raining.
Then we also had the great club service with attentive staff, and a good selection of food at afternoon tea and at drinks time - including sparkling wine.
What else could a hotel guest possibly want?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,456 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing