We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very efficient Check-In but not Check-out”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very efficient Check-In but not Check-out”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

It was a great start indeed. I would say Very very pleasant check-in experience for me and my bf who have been travelling for years to different hotels. When we arrived we noticed that there were at least 6 front desk staffs and they were being extraordinary efficient and helpful. Teaky (hope I spelled her name right) managed to not only check us in efficiently, she did a great upsale to us by providing a small but extremely thoughtful proposal - for only HKD 380, we will get a bigger room with separate bath, free iphone4 usage with 3G and local call & Nexpresso machine!!! She has also helped us with the booking of the 2 michelin star restaurant Ming Court in the hotel with no hassle.

Our room is at high level with nice view, bed is very comfy, room is not big but reasonably fine . Location is fantastic.

Everything seems very very well until the check-out :( We have waited for more than 10 minutes for checkout and I walked to ask one of the staffs as I noticed there were 2 front desk staffs attending to one customer who is checking in. Why would there a need of 2 people attending to one customers while there were obviously other customers queuing up. She didn't attend to us but just informed us to wait. Then I heard some other customers were complaining in the Q with the same questions "why issit taking so long??"

Hope the hotel will improve in this area for a better overall experience and not let it end with some this kind of small imperfectness.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheery66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPHKG, General Manager at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi Cheery66,

Sorry to hear you didn't leave us very cheery after a positive start to your stay - we know 10 minutes can seem like an hour when you're waiting in line - apologies. We work hard at keeping the queues down - but sometimes there is a delay. Hope to still entice you back again.

DREAM BIG!

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,582
    1,364
    245
    68
    34
See reviews for
1,448
2,153
457
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the standard room which was a bit on the small side but these other plus made up for it.
-Very confortable bed and linens; nice decor and clean room; bright bathroom
- Excellent front desk staff and concierge service especially Mandy who helped us plan most of our activities!
- Good selection of reasonable price fast-eat restaurants conveniently located next door at the mall.
- Lovely gym and spa on top floor with fanastic view.

The only negative side for us was the location. We had to go through the mall and the escalators to get outside to the Mong Kok train station and at most times it was very crowded.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbird54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Langham Place is a really nice hotel... I feel very at home because the staff always exemplifies extraordinary service... imagine they could address me by my name and rooms are tailored to my needs/preference. I highly recommend this hotel for its genuine service and hospitality. While the rooms may not be particularly spacious, they're properly equipped with complete amenities and some rooms even have iphone 4. Good value for money too.


  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I chose a Club level room and was upgraded to a suite. The facilities at this hotel are amazing. I organised a shuttle pick up from the airport which took a while but generally worked well. On arrival in the hotel foyer the noise level was deafening. There seemed to be a band playing in one of the bars and the receptionist suggested I check in on the Club floor which I was only too pleased to do. Club L is a 24 hour g=hospitality centre consisting of three main rooms each with a different focus - refuel, relax and relate. The breakfast is fantastic, all day snacks and drinks delicious. Afternoon tea is served from 3.00pm and it is great as well.

The spa and pool are excellent if not a bit quiet - many guests seem to be business people who are not around the hotel during the day. All in all a great choice. I will be back and Langham Place will be my hotel of choice for subsequent visits to Hong KOng.

Room Tip: Definitely pay a little more and make use of the Club L facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerrillos New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lovely room, quality bath amenities beautifully packaged. Narrow tub and separate shower. Beautiful lobby with afternoon tea. Near Star Ferry, Hop-on Hop-off tour bus, shopping malls with designer kids stores- amazing selection there. Nice to arrive here after trans-Pacific flight. Helpful staff and concierge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Room service below standard for a hotel of this claimed caliber.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellykruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avalon beach nsw Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

We booked a Prime Place Room for 8 days and were given the 16th floor. The rooms are very big especially considering most rooms in Hong Kong are on the smaller side. What made this one of the best hotels I have every stayed in was the attention to detail in the rooms with what was provided and the great sense of humour they have with certain things i.e. icecream in the freezer with a note saying "now youve found me Im yours for free" (this was in our friends room - a suite). The concierge team were fantastic and the whole of the ground floor reception staff were efficient and always happy and accommodating. The spa, pool and amenities were fantastic and the breakfasts were amazing. I love this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again. The MTR is right next door and with several floors of shops and restaurants connected via a walkway everything was at our fingertips. I could not fault anything at all.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank alwayswanttotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,630 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,779 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,854 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing