We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Ranked #131 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We booked for a standard room with an extra bed for triple sharing and was upgraded to a premier room upon arrival (guess that's becoz we arrived late and were only staying 1nt pre-NYE). Room was pretty spacious for a Hong Kong hotel. twin beds were big enough for 2 people to sleep in, so the extra bed was kinda wasted. Concierge staff were knowledgeable and helpful. Would definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickoleyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

Location:
1.Very near to subway station "Wan Chai", just 3 minutes walk from the subway exit.
2.This hotel is one of the station with free shuttle bus to the nearest subway station with Airport Express Link. The schedule is once per 20 minutes.

Surrounding:
1.Lots of restaurants ranging from high end to lower class, chinese to western, and exotic sountry like Philiphines/ Vietnamese / Malaysian / Irish Pub & Restaurant.
2.Many pubs.

Hotel Service:
1.The lobby is well decorated, few staff standing in the lobby waiting to assist guest.
2.Staff are friendly, they can allow us check in even on 10:45am.
3.The conceirge staff called "Alex" is really helpful with well explaination to us about the transport to airport.

Room:
1.Spacious in HK hotel standard. Full carpeted, flat screen TV (with adult channel, chargeable).
2.Comfortable beds, the lighting is sufficient and warm felling.
3.Spacious bathroom with full toiletries. Complete with bath / hand & face towels.

F&B Outlets:
1. There is one lounge in the lobby, the size is small.
2. 2 restaurants in 1st floor, 1 is chinese another is serving western food, i believe.

Overall experience is good, i will consider to stay this hotel if i visit HK next time.

Room Tip: 1) Lobby located at G floor but the room starts flooring from level 19 or 20th. 2) Can request fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

i stayed here already before , but this time i took a so-called " Premier Room " !
in fact , the room is slightly larger , but everything is same same .
old , used dirty carpets .
best is still the area .
wanchai is the red light area of Hong Kong , but also covered by a lot of "clean" bars and restaurants, so no worry .
even if you go with your wife , it is safe !
breakfast room is huge , but the service is poor.
food quality is below average .
their BAR is located in the lobby and doesnt to be considered as a bar .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guenniderliebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Well located for business and tourist as well - room could be better, staff not the best in speaking english.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blezsuzsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel is in Wanchai, so within easy reach of Central, Causeway bay and the convention centre. It has easy access to MTR, Tram and bus stops. However, I would say that the hotel is just about okay and the only good thing is the location.

The food available is more or less Chinese, even breakfast had a limited choice and was not appealing. I had breakfast just once in the hotel. The good part is that there are a number of food joints near by- Italian, Indian, Macdonalds, Spaghetti House etc, so eating out is easy. The room seemed to be renovated and was not small. There were mainly tourists from mainland China, at least during the period I stayed in the hotel. The reception staff were very very busy. There were not many international or English channels available on the tiny little television in the room. I would only stay here if there was no other choice available.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vgaxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel is located in one of the busiest district-Wan Chai near the shopping area,Causeway Bay,opposite the convention center. No matter your stay is for business or for leisure , trust me!GLK is your first choice.Their service is amazing, take good care to their guest in every single step. I did travel a lot the world, but this hotel's service impressed me most,All staff are so friendly and helpful,especially the Concierge,super!They are the best...remember last time I got my flight problem and the local reservation office has closed. The staff in the Concierge personally using his mobile to call oversea to solve the problem for me,much appreciate to their help. The room is big enough,and looks good,however if it is situate at the harbor front ,the view will be even better(AS MOST OF THE ROOM ARE CITY VIEW ONLY) Just a few minutes walk, you are able to reach the Subway Station,tram stop,bus station,no matter to mainland or around the city,ferry pier and of course Taxi are all around the hotel.If you are planning to HK, staying w/GLK will never disappoint you,good location,convenience transfer,close to shopping area and excelent srvice....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kenchin_ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I was very pleased with this property. The rooms look to be newly renovated although I am not sure. Clean, decent size room (rooms in HK typically very small), great service and location -- yes there are some adult clubs on the street behind the hotel. A block away from the Wan Chai MTR station. Very close to the convention center.

Food on the restaurant is quite good, serving both western and Asian cuisine.

I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I am in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teeba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#100 of 723 in Hong Kong
310 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#117 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,063 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong
#146 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,201 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#192 of 723 in Hong Kong
157 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#77 of 723 in Hong Kong
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong

Address: No.72 Gloucester Rd, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#107 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $148 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong is a super-value hotel located in the heart of Wanchai business district which is within few minutes walk to reach the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. With its close proximity to the MTR Wanchai Station, it brings guests every convenience to gain access to all parts of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Hotel Luk Kwok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing