We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Plaza Hong Kong”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #25 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed at the Royal Plaza for 12 nights recently. Hotel was fully booked at the time. At the time of booking some 6 months ago I had requested a king size bed - I was given a room with twin beds on arrival. Room is large and clean - a bit tired looking. 5 nights into my stay I received a call from the reception. Had to change room due to renovations etc. I thought I might get a better room this time round considering I was grossly inconvenienced. No such luck. Same room only 3 more floors up. I don't mind the location of the hotel. It is right next to a shopping mall with a super market and a food court on the 6th floor ( food court on the 5th floor I think ).Bought fruits from the local market which is within walking distance from the hotel. A bunch of bananas costs less than a dollar. I will stay at this hotel again but will insist on a king size bed !!! Bed was comfortable though. Pool is good too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 451Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,961)
There are newer reviews for Royal Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,658 - 2,664 of 3,962 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

When location is not the issue located at mongkok clean room a small bathroom the room key is neded to use the elevator when we chacked in the man on the reception was unpleasent we had to wait about one hour to get the room when we compare to other hotels that we staid on hong kong relashionship and attitude are nedded

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samyyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel in two different rooms. 1 on the executive floor and 1 other. The difference was big. The normal room was old and in desparate need of a make over. At check in, I had to wait quite a while before i was helped. Staff was friendly but not allways service minded and efficient. Breakfast options not too exiting. I stayed in HK before in Tsim Sha Tsui, which i liked much better than Mong Kok. It's easy to take a metro from the hotel to Tsim Sha Tsui East. But the room rates for hotels in Tsim Sha Tsui are comparable so better stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The room was nice, the hotel is lovely to look at with nice fountains etc. The staff are friendly enough but check in/check out is rather slow.
The hotel is attached to a shopping centre which is annoying to walk through, and the exit to the outside is long winded.
It is near mongkok east station but its better to walk to prince edward/mongkok station to get to more places which can be teadious given the amount of pedastrian traffic.
We got a bargain for our stay but certainly wouldnt pay the book price.
We were given a joining room next to a family and that was aweful as they were noisy all the time, we advised the manager but little was done about this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Great breakfast, great pool, good service. A little far from kowloon but free shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rorymry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed here for nearly a month...Location is a plus for sure. The hotel is connected to New Century Mall and also MTR. Rooms were clean, service was not bad. Great value for the price. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudosandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great hotel. Currently staying on Execuive Club Floor. Great value for money, really nice people. Close to some great street markets. Shame about the location of the pool as you only get the sun up to 12 noon so no chance of sun bathing in the afternoon. Closest MTR isn't great as you have to keep changing. Other closest MTR is a bit of a walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marystarbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
536 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,171 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#47 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,916 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $166 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing