We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most awesome dinner”

Ambrosia Oyster Bar & Grill
Ranked #871 of 11,377 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$60 - US$130
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Ambrosia Oyster Bar & Grill features an extensive variety of freshly imported oysters as well as modern creative continental cuisines. Its elegant interior design gives a sense of exquisite yet warmly romantic dining atmosphere – the glittering oyster bar displays a full array of oysters imported from all over the world; the live music performed by pianist dances in the air; and the 270° French windows offers a panoramic view reveals the bustling city at daytime and gives the romantic touch to the night scenery of Victoria Harbour…… the impressive interior with the natural scene of beauty make the restaurant an upscale and perfect dining venue in the city.
Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

Ambrosia Oyster Bar and Grill is one of my favourite restaurants when I'm craving for some super fresh and awesome seafood especially oysters! Chen Tam Ken and his team do a fantastic work with the specially crafted dinner menu! From Oysters in Apple Champagne to Lychee Ravioli in Tomato Consomme, and to finish off with some chocolate pudding is a dinner to die for! Service is attentive and the views of the harbour is fabulous.
Chef Ken is so creative with his dishes that it's best to let him surprise you with his creations. But if you want to still go the old fashion way, the menu selection is also very good.

Thank BooHK1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2015

Ambrosia has been listed as the top oyster bar in Hong Kong for several years. It is one of my husband's favorite places to go in Hong Kong.

The restaurant offers a stunning view of Victoria Harbour. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the service is impeccable. The food is great, but be prepared to shell out for your meal. You are paying as much for the view and ambience as you are for your food. There is a wide range of oysters from around the world to choose from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2015

This is one of the best oyster bars I love in HK. Always offer a wide selection of oysters from across the world. My love prefers moyen to grand but I always ask for petit of the oysters I order or they recommend. Oysters are carefully opened and served every time, very rare we found broken pieces of shell with our oysters!!
Used to be a fan of French oysters but Aussies my pick. Smaller in size and brinier. We visited the oyster farm of one of their suppliers in Coffin Bay, loved it. We appreciate oysters a lot more ever since.
Clams in wine cream sauce is also tasty, size of the clams is to my liking again -- small.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanna_vigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2015

We had dinner in this restaurant three times already: in April 2013, March 2014 and February 2015. So each time in Hong Kong we are going there for a nice dinner. You better make a reservation in advance – each time the restaurant was fully booked. It has big windows so you can enjoy harbour view and in the evening you can see “symphony of lights” show from the 28th floor of the restaurant. Ambrosia offers a great choice of oysters (around 15 types). Most are from France, but you can also try some from the other countries. Each time oysters were delicious. The menu is also full of different dishes – mostly from Italian cuisine. Cold starter platter for 2 persons is a good solution to start the dinner. The lobster was also very well done. Though the portion of lobster is quite small. The staff is very friendly and nice. No problem with waiting for service or food. Definitely will go there next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YanaS1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2015

Have experienced a dinner there recommended by the team from the dome de cristal.
After an amazing meal at the dome i had expectation from the Ambrosia outlet.
It has been such a disappointment on all levels, prices are overly expensive for an average quality ingredients.
The service staff wasn't alert nor genuine. Some of them spent more time messaging on their phones than attending the guests.
However, the view is great: that's about the only positive comment I have to mention.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrosia Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Ambrosia Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing