We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are not fuzzy this is the right place for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Ranked #298 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
CAPE YORK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you are not fuzzy this is the right place for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this guest house for a week and found the location to be very convenient. Close to Mongkok markets and MTR all within 10 minutes walk.
There is nothing to sing about the airconditioned rooms, its less than a size of a 1 car garage. The bed and cleanliness is acceptable. We spent most of the time enjoying the sights and tastes of HongKong anyway and come back here only to sleep.
Its hard to complain about anything else because this is one of the cheapest accomodation I could find in Hongkers at the time.
I would stay again next time but I would also check out other smaller boutique hotels right in mongkok market area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWIFTSHIFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    187
    137
    30
    7
See reviews for
27
36
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My review is abit late, but I stayed at this hotel in late Oct 11 for four nights. The hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to get to the subway. The room was small, but no big deal. There was a shared washroom and it was always clean. The staff was considerate and helpful. After staying here, I now always look online for YM/YWCAs to stay at. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The last time I stayed at Anne Black, I paid HK$900 a night and was disappointed by the blood-stained mattress and poor condition of the room interior.

This time, I paid HK$440 for the weekend stay and had absolutely no expectation at all. And this time...it was worth the money. I was on the ladies' floor with the bathrooms outside along the corridor. I tried rooms like this once in NYC and was curious how it would be like for HK.

As it turned out, it was quite fine. The room was surprisingly cleaner than the ensuite room I stayed in last time. There were two beds (no frills) with a 1970-model TV but it was quite clean.

The common bathrooms were clean too.

Safety wise, guests were given two keys - one for the room and the other for the bathroom. Other guests can still come up to the ladies' floor though...

Overall, for what I paid for, it's fine. The hotel is very fine from the MTR though, it takes 20 mins to walk to the Yaumatei station. A taxi ride will take just 2 mins and costs HK$20.

By the way, given the surge of tourists from China, hotel room rates have soared. This is especially true of the weekend rate. I moved out of the Silka Seaview on Friday because their room rate doubled for the weekend. At Anne Black, I paid HK$440.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here with my family for almost two weeks. Was a 10 minute walk to Mong Kok MTR or $HKD20 taxi ride if you don't want to walk at night; lots of places to stop for breakfast along the way (Soy Street in particular).
Rooms and bathrooms were fine, beds were comfortable, and staff were polite and friendly. There is free wifi in the lobby which was handy. Noise wasn't an issue for me, doors can tend to slam loudly but they never woke me up. You'll find lots of different people here, students, families, adults etc.
There's a basketball court just down the road in front of the public library for anyone looking to keep active while away - I jogged around the block a few times.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oohlalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

One should not expect luxury, but it would provide a quiet, clean room for your stay. It is in a very good location. After learning one's way, it takes only ten minutes to walk to the Mong Kok pedestrian shopping area. Two single beds in a room. I rented a unit w/o a bath. It is a little bit cold in the communal bath room as it is not insulated (in January). There's only a small tray to hold your stuff in the bath stall. You need to bring your own slippers. Other than that everything else is fine.

Room Tip: The communal bath room has a door that requires opening and closing each time somebody entering or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sthl0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks, we found it to be very clean and comfortable. The location is great ten minute walk to mtr, great little food shops near by excellent for breakfast. Our only negatives were it was occasionally noisy as a lot of teenagers seem to stay in big groups but this was only a problem 3 out of 14 nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truckstopblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#393 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#186 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#152 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden View Hong Kong
#151 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#181 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Property: Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing