We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are not fuzzy this is the right place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Ranked #355 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this guest house for a week and found the location to be very convenient. Close to Mongkok markets and MTR all within 10 minutes walk.
There is nothing to sing about the airconditioned rooms, its less than a size of a 1 car garage. The bed and cleanliness is acceptable. We spent most of the time enjoying the sights and tastes of HongKong anyway and come back here only to sleep.
Its hard to complain about anything else because this is one of the cheapest accomodation I could find in Hongkers at the time.
I would stay again next time but I would also check out other smaller boutique hotels right in mongkok market area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWIFTSHIFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

My review is abit late, but I stayed at this hotel in late Oct 11 for four nights. The hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to get to the subway. The room was small, but no big deal. There was a shared washroom and it was always clean. The staff was considerate and helpful. After staying here, I now always look online for YM/YWCAs to stay at. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The last time I stayed at Anne Black, I paid HK$900 a night and was disappointed by the blood-stained mattress and poor condition of the room interior.

This time, I paid HK$440 for the weekend stay and had absolutely no expectation at all. And this time...it was worth the money. I was on the ladies' floor with the bathrooms outside along the corridor. I tried rooms like this once in NYC and was curious how it would be like for HK.

As it turned out, it was quite fine. The room was surprisingly cleaner than the ensuite room I stayed in last time. There were two beds (no frills) with a 1970-model TV but it was quite clean.

The common bathrooms were clean too.

Safety wise, guests were given two keys - one for the room and the other for the bathroom. Other guests can still come up to the ladies' floor though...

Overall, for what I paid for, it's fine. The hotel is very fine from the MTR though, it takes 20 mins to walk to the Yaumatei station. A taxi ride will take just 2 mins and costs HK$20.

By the way, given the surge of tourists from China, hotel room rates have soared. This is especially true of the weekend rate. I moved out of the Silka Seaview on Friday because their room rate doubled for the weekend. At Anne Black, I paid HK$440.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here with my family for almost two weeks. Was a 10 minute walk to Mong Kok MTR or $HKD20 taxi ride if you don't want to walk at night; lots of places to stop for breakfast along the way (Soy Street in particular).
Rooms and bathrooms were fine, beds were comfortable, and staff were polite and friendly. There is free wifi in the lobby which was handy. Noise wasn't an issue for me, doors can tend to slam loudly but they never woke me up. You'll find lots of different people here, students, families, adults etc.
There's a basketball court just down the road in front of the public library for anyone looking to keep active while away - I jogged around the block a few times.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oohlalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

One should not expect luxury, but it would provide a quiet, clean room for your stay. It is in a very good location. After learning one's way, it takes only ten minutes to walk to the Mong Kok pedestrian shopping area. Two single beds in a room. I rented a unit w/o a bath. It is a little bit cold in the communal bath room as it is not insulated (in January). There's only a small tray to hold your stuff in the bath stall. You need to bring your own slippers. Other than that everything else is fine.

Room Tip: The communal bath room has a door that requires opening and closing each time somebody entering or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sthl0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks, we found it to be very clean and comfortable. The location is great ten minute walk to mtr, great little food shops near by excellent for breakfast. Our only negatives were it was occasionally noisy as a lot of teenagers seem to stay in big groups but this was only a problem 3 out of 14 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank truckstopblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Juvy T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#177 of 729 in Hong Kong
678 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#193 of 729 in Hong Kong
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#85 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,720 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#114 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,802 reviews
Regal Riverside Hotel
#164 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $36 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing