We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps from MongKok Station and good, cheap food; Helpful English service during the day. Small rooms, but great for HK”
Review of Ah Shan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ah Shan Hostel
Korea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Steps from MongKok Station and good, cheap food; Helpful English service during the day. Small rooms, but great for HK”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We arrived in MongKok at 3am and was surprised to find it abuzz with people! Perhaps it was because of lunar new year. The hostel is on the upper-floor of a residential building. There are a lot of other hostels in the building. We stayed in one other one and Ah-Shan was much better. Fiona was there during the day, and she was very helpful. English is limited at other times. The room was small and bathroom was a tiny closet, but I think that might be because of the lack of space in Hong Kong. It was coooooold at night, but I don't imagine that a place that's warm/hot most of the year would put priority into heating.

Room Tip: If it's winter, ask for one without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    130
    73
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
64
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

value for price.

very small room and bathroom (good enough for petite persons) but surprisingly spotless and clean.

full amenities. tv, refrigerator, unlimited hot water, brand new towels, tissue, shower gel and shampoo. they even have kettle for heating water, cups and plates.

free and fast wifi.

only 2 blocks from the MTR mongkok exit.

ladies night market right across.

5 minute walk to a21 citylier bus stop.

Room Tip: their rooms are farmed out on separate but neighboring buildings. we stayed at the building right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goonellabah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had the 7 person room because we had a total of 6 (4Ad2CH). The room is basic and smaller then the picture perseved but comfortable. The room is not serviced daily just rubbish removed & fresh towels everyday. Reception is on the 14th floor but you could be on other floors. The ladies are great, very nice & helpful.
The location is FANTASTIC! Close to everything. The lift is a bit slow and it can get very busy at times but it works evens & odds, so if we missed one lift we just caught the other & walked down one level.
Though next door is a music studio so it can get noisy at times but they always fiinished by 10.00pm, which we rarely back before than!
Overall its GREAT value for money, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic_sounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My daughter treated us to a very nice vacation in hong kong then macau. In hong kong we were billeted at Ah Shan Hostel. Location was very strategic, which made us very happy since we always carry a lot of things whenever we go out... we brought along my grandchild who celebrated his 1st birthday in Disneyland. Anyways, we booked 2 triple-sharing room. It was ok, sheets were clean as well as fresh towels but bathroom was a pain. It was so small that you cant hardly move, it was good though that they have water heater bec we went there Jan which was sooo cold. Elevators were slowly busy but we are on a vacation, so we are not rushing. Receptionist is Filipina, which helped a lot in communicating our concerns. A lot of restos also in the area and right across 7-11!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask your friends for referrals because pictures lie :) and make it a point to read rev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoraLomarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at Ah Shan Hostel for a week over the Christmas period and found it a great way to make Hong Kong affordable.
Rooms are small and basic, but clean. Towels are provided and the bed-linen looks clean too. The shower had hot water and the pressure was good. One of our rooms had a window, the other did not - but both were perfectly adequate for our needs; leaving every morning around 9am, not to return until 9pm or later in the evenings.
The hostel is located in an ideal place for shopping in Mongkok, whether looking for stores in Langham Place (H&M); located just a block away; trainers/sports shoes in Fa Yuen Street; located in the next street; or browsing Ladies Market, which is conveniently located directly opposite.
Mongkok MTR is also just on the doorstep, making it very easy and quick to get across to HK island, in fact, to get to anywhere in Hong Kong at all.
I highly recommend this hostel if you are looking for somewhere to sleep, shower, and store all those purchases!! What more do you need!

Room Tip: Consider whether you require a window in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

1) Thumbs up for the airport bus service that brings you directly to the hostel. Not at the door step but just less than 5 mins walk to the hostel.
2) Floors were at level 14, imagine if lift broke down. You know what I mean...
3) Location VERY STRATEGIC. Very near MTR (subway)
4) Rooms very small but clean though. Cleaniness wise well maintained.
5) Free drinking water. Hot or cold.
6) Rooms pricing value for money.
7) If you want just a place to stay for the night, then this hostel is for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Ive stayed in the double as well as the dorm room. The Double room was basic but has all you need, like all Hong Kong places its very small. But the bathroom section looked newly tiled, and the room was proper and clean. They provide fresh water and hot water, so make sure to bring some tea if you travel in winter. The place didnt smell like tabacco! I would recommand the double, probably also single rooms, as they where in the same section, so I asume the single rooms will also be fine. For Hong Kong this is a safe option, just dont expect hotel standards.

The dorms where not that great, there on a different floor. The matrass of one of the beds in my room was really hard, like a rock. So I choose a good bed, but I felt bad for the guy who slept on the hard matress. Also there is only 1 bathroom with shower that you share with many people, and it doesnt lock well. Unlike the single and double rooms sections this place did smell like tabacco, which smells horrible. Would I sleep here again? Maybe, but next time I rather take a change on another hostel with dorms.

So Double/Singles, your safe. Dorms, maybe consider another place! You defenitly survive a night in the dorm, but I think there will be places which are a little bit better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,291 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,161 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#89 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,237 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#9 of 157 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 157 in Hong Kong
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah Shan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah Shan Hostel

Property: Ah Shan Hostel
Address: Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ah Shan Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ah Shan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ah Shan Hotel Hong Kong
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing