We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #52 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,831
    1,447
    340
    61
    35
See reviews for
1,069
1,038
485
788
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I needed a hotel for an overnight stop in HK. This is one of the three closest hotels to the HK airport. I search for review in Tripadvisor and decided on the Novotel.

The hotel is located:
[1] within 15 min of the airport and it provides free shuttle to and from the airport
[2] inside a large shopping outlet eg Nike, Polo, Coach, Max Mara, Puma
[3] a nearby MTR station to Disneyland and the Hong Kong Island
it is also well amintained, and clean

Highly recommended for a stop over stay in HK.

Room Tip: ask for high floor and non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europetrrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is our first time stay at the Novotel Citygate,overall the hotel is good although the room was small and our bed not comfartable..but the staff very helpfull and friendly..and they have a compimentary shuttle bus airport-hotel.
The hotel also connecting with Citygate Outlet which have much branded shop with fair price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlinaIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

we had to stay here for one night after BAA closed Heathrow to our Air NZ flight from Auckland. We had a horrific check in with very poor information and customer service but there were about 150 people who had arrived at around 7am so they can be forgiven. The restaurant area gets very busy but the food is fantastic, with masses of choice and very clean and well presented. The pool area was very attractive but was closed when we were there.

The room was well equipped and exceptionally clean with a great view of the mountain.

Only downside was that it was in the middle of nowhere, unless you like shopping, which I don't! However, it's very convenient for the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnimalAntics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had to stay one night to catch my flight the next day.
Pros:
Convenient location if airport accessibility is important. Hotel ambiance is okay, clean and the staff pleasant. Check in was pleasant and the checkout was the fastest I have ever experienced. They also allowed 1-hour late checkout, at no charge, to accommodate my schedule. Very pleased with that.

Cons:
The room is small, but that's expected in HK. However it was not 4-star at all. The furniture etc could seriously use an upgrade. There were visible signs of wear. Also opening and closing the cabinet next to the minibar was an upper-body workout. The light switch for the bathroom was broken; had to sleep with the bathroom light on.
In this day and age having to pay for WIFI, specially at this price point and at such a location is a shame. The breakfast buffet was satisfactory at best and overpriced IMO. TV channel selection was also poor.

Personal gripe: Did not get the room I booked; instead got one with twin beds. I was disappointed but didn't care much since it was only one night.

Although I only stayed one night, there are enough negatives for me to NOT recommend this hotel given the price point. To be fair, the hotel didn't get a chance to redeem itself. Only book if airport accessibility is a must and you can't find anything else nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Novotel citygate in four months. This time, we chose a suite cause it was at a reasonable price, we figured cause it was off peak. The room was large and spacious though we found it poorly lit during the night. But it was very comfortable, with a huge bathroom with separate wash basins, shower and tub. We also had access to the club lounge which offered tea and evening cocktails. Not much by way of variety, but enough to quell the slight hunger pang. The staff though were extremely helpful and courteous, attending to our every need. We chose this place on account of its proximity to Disneyland, just a train stop away to the Disney resort line, and a free shuttle ride to the airport, plus it's just atop the citygate mall with some 80 shops and food outlets, so no issue getting stuff. If you want to go downtown, the tung Chung line brings you directly to hong kong island, with stops at Kowloon and other key touristy areas. So, if Disney is your priority, and you don't wish to rush to the airport (just 7 mins away by shuttle bus), then this would suit you well. For kids, theres even a big playground in front of the hotel, to keep them occupied. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Novotel - reasonably priced, convenient for our needs and comfortable. Oh, and if you have the chance, savour the buffet spread at the Essence restaurant, which is good for its variety and cheap by most standards. The breakfast buffet that came with the room was good as well. The only thing I could recommend to the hotel would be to perhaps use better toiletries, and adequately stock them in the room. We had to ask for extras on two occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapore_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#102 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#50 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Property: Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing