We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of trash and bad odors”
Review of Tai O

Tai O
Ranked #46 of 853 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lovely little fishing village with many shops and seafood. Take a boat ride for lovely scenery or take a walk up the mountain to see the White Chinese Dolhins swim.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

We arrived in Tai O after a rocky ferry ride and a long curvy swervy bus ride. It must have been low tide because the bases of the houses on stilts were all exposed. There was trash everywhere! The small beaches and the undersides of houses were full of trash, including plastic of all colors, paper, cloth and other unrecognizable items. Also, the smell of dead and/or rotting fish was pervasive. The citizens of Tai O apparently have no pride in their village or they would clean it up. We took a 15 minute walk to the Heritage Hotel for lunch. Our 3 lunches were mediocre and small and yet our final bill was almost $100 U.S. It was a holiday (Sweeps Day) and very, very crowded. The attraction of Tai O eludes me. We will never, ever return.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"on stilts"
in 234 reviews
"pink dolphins"
in 163 reviews
"fishing village"
in 408 reviews
"fried fish"
in 105 reviews
"boat ride"
in 152 reviews
"heritage hotel"
in 66 reviews
"tung chung"
in 129 reviews
"ngong ping"
in 101 reviews
"lantau island"
in 139 reviews
"big buddha"
in 177 reviews
"shops selling dried"
in 21 reviews
"old police station"
in 27 reviews
"stilted houses"
in 18 reviews
"chinese white dolphins"
in 15 reviews
"dried sea"
in 14 reviews
"narrow streets"
in 19 reviews
"bus terminal"
in 20 reviews
Filter

584 - 588 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

Tai O is one of the best places in HK if you want to experience what remains of the old traditions of this town. It's a fishing village and as soon as you arrive you will be overwhelmed by dry fish. The whole village economy is based on fishing and a walk around the old alleys is a must. You will see a great variety of fish and bins of shrimp paste. You will be surprised by people living on steel houses and in stilt houses. You can also have a boat ride (25 HK dollars) to see dolphins in the open water (nowadays it is a bit difficult as dolphins are decreasing in number).

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Ambra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Busy, and fishy. If you're visiting Big Buddha you really must visit this place. Great photo opportunities.
It's an 'add on' visit, and only takes an hour or two.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Aklguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016

If you really want to see a Pink Dolphin this is your chance. I was very under whelmed with Tai O. Not too bad of place and the food is great and there are some great little shops there to go shopping. Also if you want to take a boat ride and see the stilt village its cool, but I would much rather spend more time at the Big Buddha.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Josh - Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2016

It's the Wandering Yank here. Mrs. Yank and I spent the day at Lantau Island and took the bus from Ngong Ping village to Tai O. It was highlighted in our Lonely Planet guidebook, so we thought it would be a worthwhile visit.

And it was okay. Even though it was a weekday, it was very busy with tourists. The bridge over the creek in the middle of the village was packed, a bottleneck between the markets on either side. The markets are okay, lots of fish of course, but again, it was very crowded. I did get some good photos of the waterfront homes and boats, but frankly, I've seen more colorful and less-crowded fishing villages elsewhere in Asia.

The wait for a bus back to the MTR station was long and hot, at least an hour, and it was getting worse as the afternoon progressed.

2 (not very enthusiastic) thumbs up!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tai O also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Tai O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing