We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
US$294
US$182
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$192
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Regal Airport Hotel(Hong Kong)
US$136
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Plaza Hotel(Hong Kong)
US$160
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$89
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$83
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal View Hotel(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
17
59
56
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
59
56
19
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 164 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2015

It's situated perfectly in between the MTR stations Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, so it's a bit to walk from either of them. But it's still in a central good location. Rooms were alright, you should expect what you're getting in Hong Kong. Could perhaps have been a bit cheaper for what you got. Room was however very clean and I also got a complimentary welcome gift consisting of a bottle of water, orange juice and Oreos. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again if I needed to be in this area.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank dselvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2015

Recently my wife and I stayed a week at this hotel, and this was the second time I have stayed there. I have used this hotel twice purely based on location – it is right next to where our family and friends live in HK. The hotel is located in Hennessy Rd in Wanchai, and has great transport access being on the Island Tram Line and is between two MTR stations, Wanchai and Causeway Bay. Also, it is only a 10 minute walk to the shopping district of Causeway Bay.
That being said, the hotel itself is really below average, and actually very ordinary. There is no restaurant (which is really no issue as this is HK and there are millions of places to eat), no pool or leisure facilities, and the rooms are typically HK style being extremely small – if you have a suit case at the end of the bed there is no gap to walk through! Housekeeping staff speak no English whatsoever, and talk to you in Chinese and wonder why you stare at them blankly! - Good luck asking for anything extra you need for the room. While we were there for a week, I’m sure the linen was only changed twice, and making up the room seemed to consist of pulling up the doona on the bed, emptying the rubbish bin and changing the towels. The bath and shower curtain were dirty, and really need replacing.
The aircon is sufficient, however the low setting is still noisy at night – and you will freeze if you leave it on for long periods. The wifi is only just ok, but hardly blazingly fast and drops out regularly.
It’s very difficult to recommend this hotel as its very poor overall and really needs a major overhaul/refurbishment. The reception staff never seem interested and some are just plain rude. I doubt very much I will go back a third time after this stay, and will likely pay more and stay elsewhere next time. The South Pacific Hotel which is very close is a nicer hotel, but the rooms are even smaller!
In a city where accommodation is plentiful, although can be very expensive, the Walden Hotel is really not up to standard. Avoid, there are way better places to stay in this amazing city.

Room Tip: think all the rooms are old and very small
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2015

Hotels is Hong Kong are too expensive. Walden hotel is a budget hotel in central place i.e. wan chai. Very near to HKCEC . Well connected. E11 and A11 buses from airport to reach henessey road. KFC, McDonald nearby. shopping good. 7-11 good experience. eatries nearby. no restaurant in the hotel. rooms are very small. very few english channels in tv. overall good budget hotel for single stay but not good for family.

Room Tip: Above rooms
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank drjayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Located right aling the tram line 2 blocks from Causeway Bay station, the Walden has reasonable sized rooms at a great price. No restaurants or fitness centre, but lots of dining options just at the doorstep, and a short tram ride away from Admiralty and Central. Bring your own toiletries, though

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank J00lsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2015

it was a budget hotel in the hong kong city. Although simple, comfortable and convenience. the front desk operator are friendliness. this hotel is best for holiday traveler as the location is extremely convenience. as i just walk out from Air Port, can took BUS direct to the hotel, the Bus Stand is just beside the hotel. nearby is hong kong city (central of hong kong).

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank CHEESELOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews