We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary dinner”

Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Reserve with OpenTable
Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 10,676 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: The restaurant is proud to have retained its Michelin star for the eighth year running. Using the finest organic ingredients and seasonally inspired produce, we offer an exciting, fresh interpretation of grill classics. Such acclaimed cuisine requires an equally stunning setting and our Sir Terence Conran-designed space never fails to impress. Overlooking Statue Square and Chater Garden, décor is wonderfully vibrant with a moulded scallop-inspired ceiling, Gerard D’A Henderson paintings and a central banquette. Child policy: Children aged 6 years or above are welcome. Dress code: Smart-casual attire. We request that guests refrain from wearing shorts (of any length), torn jeans, sportswear, singlets, collarless T-shirts, flip flops and gentlemen's sandals.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

the most attentive service ive ever received. The manager served us from the bottom of his heart, thumbs up !

2  Thank SanSan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Dear SanSan P

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! We’re delighted that you enjoyed the service from Neto and his team. Please don’t be a stranger. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 633 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2017

I have never had any disappointments at this place! Which is so rare!!! They always have new menus and dishes every time I am there and the service is always impeccable.

They are always creative with dish placing and they don't serve those small fancy dishes which can't fulfil your big stomach...well if you have one as big as mine.

I love how they are wholesome but also absolutely delicious!!! Book early to avoid disappointment, also a good place for family gatherings. Pricing is not cheap but definitely worth it!

2  Thank Elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Dear Elle L

Thank you for your continuous support for Mandarin Grill + Bar and for your kind recommendation! We’re glad that, once again, you were delighted with the overall dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for more enjoyable moments.

Best regards
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017

I just recently had the great pleasure of dining at the Mandarin Grill and what a treat. Neto, the GM, was the highlight of our night. The rapport he maintains with both staff and patrons alike is truly exceptional. Our every whim was catered to before it was even expressed. The gorgeous ambiance and impeccable service really put our dining experience over the top. Bravo!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank EpicTravels1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Dear EpicTravels1313

Thank you for visiting us at Mandarin Grill + Bar. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the overall dining experience with us, and the service from our restaurant manager Neto and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for more enjoyable moments.

Best regards
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

The entire experience, from the staff who redirected us from lobby lounge to the grill, the expertise of sommelier and the charismatic restaurant Mgr, Neto.... people is the best asset of an organisation and our group felt like VIPs though spend was modest. Food quality was excellent with Alaska crab leaving the deepest impression. Spacing between tables, the atmosphere within and outside all at your disposal, friends gathering, a romantic proposal or biz discussion.

1  Thank Rauyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Dear Rauyeung

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! We’re delighted that you loved our Alaskan Crab and enjoyed the service from Neto and his team. Please don’t be a stranger. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2017

My wife took me to this restaurant as a surprise birthday dinner for me. We were warmly welcomed when we stepped in, and the whole evening was taken care by Stephen, who showed his dedication and professionalism. I have to give special compliments to Head Chef Simon for his outstanding dishes, especially the scallops and wagyu beef cooked to perfection.
The chocolate and ginger souffle shared with my wife were so good, and the chestnut ice cream specially made for my birthday was another big surprise. (Chestnut being my favourite.
A fabulous evening I will always remember.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PsychoJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food and Beverage at Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Dear PsychoJS

Congratulations on your birthday, and thank you for coming over for a celebration dinner. We’re delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the evening at Mandarin Grill + Bar. We will certainly share your kind words with the team, especially Stephen and Chef Simon.

Please don’t be a stranger, and see you again soon.

Best regards
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Grill + Bar at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing