We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sparks Life Jakarta
Ranked #249 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 1 January 2012

my friend booked this hotel I won't be back. free wifi rooms are decent size sleep was ok 75 a night or 600k local money for standard room there is two discos one on main one on 8th floor I was here for new years eve I stayed on 3rd and 6th floor some rooms the air con doesn't work properly look this is a budget hotel u get what u pay for and that's that unless you shell out 200 you can't complain just not for me if your budget is under 80 usd then this is fine it's far from the clubs like red square and x2 and the really nice part of town. cheers

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Sparks Life Jakarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel because we wanted somewhere quiet to come home to after a day of shopping and exploring the city. Our priorities when booking hotels is: Cleanliness. Quality of breakfast buffet. Quiet. Treated well by staff. None of these were met at the Sparks hotel. We stayed on floor 7 and were kept up all night by the techno music on the 8th floor. And yes, there are "working women" using this hotel to bring clients. We were kept up by the music on the 8th floor (room literally shaking)...and entertained by the symphony of banging doors, noisy cleaning staff (1am in the morning they came round to the rooms on our level) and people who had left their doors open in order to have loud conversations with neighbours who were staying in the opposite room. GREAT! The buffet is really sad. A lot of fried food. Very limp produce. When we complained to management, they did move us to another room the next day. Which was an upgrade. So we got one nights sleep, but we skipped breakfast at the hotel and headed out on our own. The front desk staff were friendly, but all control was out of their hands, and the Manager goes home at night, so if there is an emergency, or something goes wrong, they tell you to wait until he comes back in the morning. I do not recommend this hotel. The only thing going for it was that it was clean.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlOZ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Fate caused me to stay one night in a hotel I SWORE I would never step foot into again. However a cancelled booking, a long flight, and my phone failing to pull up the web (to search for another hotel) led me to tell the taxi driver 'Sparks'... (albeit with a LONG sigh)...

Have to admit the place was significantly improved this time. Not sure if it was luck of the draw, a better room, or a real overhaul... Wifi worked flawlessly in my room, I was averaging 1.75mb down, enough to watch Netflix and Skype if nothing else. The staff were VERY friendly and service was excellent for this price range. So seems as of Sept-2011 you can disregard my wifi warning from 2010...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

if u have stayed in this hotel,the rooms are okay,but once i been to the ground floor u are supposed to enjoy the company of dancing gals dancing in front of you when u are made to pay redicolous price of the tequilla they drink.OMG the bill came to about rp4million for buying the gals 9 rounds of tequilla.and surprisingly you have to settle the bills ON THE SPOT

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeangel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I went on a business trip to Jakarta and this hotel was the closest available 3 star hotel near the conference location. The hotel is in the middle of Jakarta's Chinatown, 40 minutes away from the city center, but 15-20 minutes away from other happening and shopping areas. I was surprised to see so many massage parlors and dancing bars in the area. The hotel itself had a bar downstairs which played very loud house and techno music with topless girls dancing on top of the bar tables! It was quite a shock! The first night I stayed on the 3rd floor and the music from the bar not only disturbed my sleep but literally increased my heart rate to a point that I requested to be shifted the next night to a higher floor. But this was after I had contemplated moving to another hotel. Once I got a room on the 5th floor it was fine and the room was actually cleaner and the bed sheets didn't have oil stains from massages! :-) I did end up moving to another hotel in two days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadLessTravelledBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The Sparks Hotel in Jakarta is a funky designer Hotel in a racy part of Central Jakarta. Sparks Hotel young staff certainly go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Travelers with kids should definitely give the Sparks Hotel a miss. The Sparks Hotel is in the colourful Mangga Besar District with its girlie spas, discos and late night eateries.

The rooms are stylish with strong colours and comfortable beds. There is cable television and the rooms have all the modcons including coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms ala Philip Starck is standard. We were not enthusiastic about the bare concrete floors though.

The breakfast is the best I have seen in a hotel in this class.

The pool is a stylish glass cube and the breakfast was varied and well presented. The lobby is sparse but was in keeping with the style of the rest of Sparks. There is Wifi in the lobby but we were surprised that it was not free.

The bar downstairs is as raunchy as you would get anywhere in Jakarta. BTW, in addition to the usual nuts and crackers you find in hotel rooms mini bar, the Sparks offers a range of colored prophylactics and lube.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryangmokio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Been told that this hotel is brand new in town. Stayed 2 days.
Room- ok, clean.
Breakfast- yummy.
Service- staff not so friendly and not helpful. there are misscommunication when we want to check-in. (must make a confirmation call if u make reservation via web)
Location- boring. shops close early.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AwinManja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Mercure Jakarta Kota
#81 of 464 in Jakarta
512 reviews
Sawah Besar
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#140 of 464 in Jakarta
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Orchardz Hotel Jayakarta
Orchardz Hotel Jayakarta
#187 of 464 in Jakarta
116 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel 88 Mangga Besar 120
Hotel 88 Mangga Besar 120
#301 of 464 in Jakarta
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparks Life Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparks Life Jakarta

Address: Jl. Mangga Besar Raya No. 42, Jakarta 11150, Indonesia (Formerly Sparks Hotel Jakarta)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $36 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sparks Life Jakarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparks Life is the mid-scale segment in the Sparks brand collection designed to offer an ultimate comfort, modern and well-equipped room to stay with caring and efficient services both for business and leisure travelers. The Hotel is designed to offer an ultimate comfort, modern and well-equipped room to stay with caring and efficient services. Sparks Jakarta offers comfortable stay for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of China Town area in Mangga Besar Jakarta within 40-minutes drive from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and just 10-minutes drive from Gambir Train Station. It is close to business and shopping area such Mangga Dua, Glodok, Pasar Baru and Tanah Abang. Sparks Jakarta offers comfort in its 114 rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with air conditioner, LED TV, international channels, IDD calls, coffee & tea maker, safe deposit and mini bar with 6 meeting rooms to meet various meetings you require. The meeting room offers an "all-inclusive" package. This package included hire of the room, internet access, coffee breaks and meals, all technical equipment and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Sparks Life Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakarta Sparks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing