We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stylish (colonial) charm, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stylish (colonial) charm, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Wonderful experience! We (and especially kids) loved the breakfast and the Friday night dinner buffet. Only drawback is its not walking distance from the main part(s) of town. But taxis aren't expensive. Most personnel was very forthcoming. We got put off a little when we were told that airport transfer back was fully booked for the next day when we were initially told it would be no problem. They "could see what they could do" is not something you want to hear when you need to leave at 5am. In actual fact, it was no problem to arrange a cab we found out later, but why keep us worried?
As for personal preference, the pillows are too thick!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WietsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We very much appreciate for your comments during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to contiously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    951
    203
    39
    22
See reviews for
654
1,303
270
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked two nights from the hotel's chain website. A bit pricey, but worth the stay. The rate didn't include breakfast, but the receptionist offered us discounted breakfast voucher if we buy them upon check-in.

We were initially given a non-smoking room at higher floor. Upon discovering that the balcony faced a petrol station & there were some renovations on the ground below our room, we immediately asked for a room change. They were very amicable, and we got another room with a balcony at the ground floor, albeit a smoking room. This worked out OK as we wanted to spend time at the pool, which was very close to our room. The room is a bit on the small side (two adults, one 13-yo son and one 7-yo daughter), but having the balcony helped to alleviate the cramped feeling. We had a good sleep as we were tired after a 14-hours car ride from Jakarta.

The breakfast consisted of western & local dishes; all delicious and lavish. I did noticed that the wait-staff were more attentive to foreigners instead of the local guests (as one TripAdvisor guest wrote here), but it didn't affect the overall service.

Although the hotel seemed full, we had the swimming pool all for ourselves (most of the time). I think because the guests were out exploring Jogja. Since my husband is actually a native of Jogja (and this was our fourth visit to Jogja), we didn't feel compelled to go out the whole day/night, and spend time just lazing around the pool. I was given a free massage at their spa, but didn't take any of the spa services.

I took time to explore the building and learn of its history; the lounge area indicated that the Hotel aimed to preserve the cultural heritage. I hope the Management will continue making this hotel as a heritage site.

Sightseeing tips: the Hotel is close to Malioboro and the Kraton (Sultan's Palace). You need to have a car if you want to visit the temples on the outskirt of Jogja (Buddhist's Borobodur Temple at Magelang or HIndu's Prambanan at Klaten). Most of the taxis don't use a meter, so make sure you have info from the hotel about the average cost to your destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you want easy access to the pool. Although most of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta, and it is always a pleasure to receive positive comments. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A great hotel and base from which to explore Jogja and begin trips to the Prambanan and Borobudur temples. The service was great and the hotel very attractive. The rooms were very clean and modern but cosy with very comfortable beds and plate-sized shower heads in the bathroom. The nice pool and spa area is perfect for winding down after a humid day-trip and you can be pretty confident in the food they serve up. Breakfast is very nice. Our room did not come with pool view but with views of nearby buildings, but as we were there to use it as a base for exploring this was not a problem. However, we could see the Merapi volcano looming large from our window which was nice. I highly recommend this hotel, particularly if you'll be mixing up the types of accommodation you take during your trip to Indonesia. By the time I arrived in Jogja I was feeling pretty ill and this hotel provided some good respite from any hassles and stresses.

Room Tip: If a pleasant view is important go for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
We would like to thank you for taking your time to tell us about your enjoyable stay with us. We were very pleased to read about your positive comments. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
4.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
4.7 km away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
4.4 km away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 21 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
4.3 km away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#9 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing