We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week-long stay, Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Bay Resort
Ranked #46 of 90 El Nido B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Week-long stay, Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed at the VIP Suite Room, which is the $100 a night room - comes with a balcony bigger than most rooms in El Nido and THE BEST view in the entire resort.

My travel buddy, basically parked his butt on the balcony, stares out into the bay and then reads a book. That's his schedule for the most part of our trip. Any effort to attempt to go out for island hopping was completely trumped by his contentment at the view.

It was very spacious, the room - havinga queen sized bed, a seating area in the room and 2 separate seating areas in the balcony.

The resort itself has got quite the charm. Even when walking through the grounds, we NEVER bother with slippers. Cobblestones. :D

They don't have a restaurant which can be a boo for most but we made up for it by having food delivered by a restaurant in town, Squido's, for just an additional P50 delivery charge. They have a menu available. We also had massages brought into the room for P500, usually P600 if you book through the massage place.

They also have tours arranged directly from them. Just a minimum of 4 people and you can have your private tour setting off literally in front of the resort. No need to get into town.

The resort itself is 5 minutes out of town via tricycle and i wouldnt have it any other way. I was able to get into town at 7am one time and it was crazy busy in town whereas in corong corong where coral bay was, it never get busy at all so i really appreciate that its away from town. just need to buy a few things like food and wine and just stay away from town.

water pressure isnt stellar, but normal for that part of the country. the power goes off for most of the day, but somehow we were fortunate that we had power for most of the time and even wifi. idont know about the other rooms but wifi was limited and only got a great signal on the balcony. inside, sometimes it reaches, sometimes it doesnt.

if wifi is essential to you, get the 3500 single detached cottages, they are the closest to the routers. for the most part, wifi was OK - not super fast but ok.

we had our breakfast (and lunch and dinner) on the balcony and love it a lot

breakfast was also alright with eggs and bacon/ham. although after a week of it, was ready for a change. to be fair, they do have a pancake breakfast available, which for some reasson just didnt appeal to me that time.

the beach isnt swimmable. its too shallow and too rocky. you can walk for meters and still be in knee deep water.

free beer upon arrival and as robert, the british owner, says - we will rip you off for the next bottles. so it should be known that the beers arereadily available.

the sitting areas in theproperty are awesdome for those not staying at the beachfront rooms. they are all comfortable and provides the perfect view of the bay for sunrise or sunset.

alain, robert and mercedes were top notch! awesome company and great stand up guys (and girl). the rest of the staff: abby, susan - they were all just dolls for tolerating people like us and our request for food to be heated, laundry, buying cigarettes (when its just a minute walk from the resort) and all other petty requests. we were spoiled and to be honest, we loved every second of it.

reservation was a breeze. we did a paypal deposit and the rest in cash upon check in.

I actually made a looooong review of the resort on my blog, if you want to read it, it's here: http://thesupertourists.com/el-nido-palawan-calling-coral-bay-resort-home-for-a-week/

Room Tip: get the VIP Suite room while its still at 100 per night. they plan to extend it to the adjoining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupahEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    45
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
23
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linne, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We liked the place very much. It had a good and relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was good. We had a beachcottage and the view was amazing!! We booked several boat trips via Coral Beach and it was very nice. They pick you up at Coral Beach, so you just walked through the shallow water to reach the boat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Coral Bay during the first two weeks of January 2013. A Couple and 3 kids (12,9,3 years). The location is great and just a short ride into El Nido. On arrival we were welcomed by the Robert, Alain and Mercedes and fresh beers, the garden is fantastic and very well maintained, the sea view is amazing. I was definitively glad to choose Coron Coron beach over El nido town. We were presented Saldy and his son, who organized all our private Island Hopping departing from Coron Coron Beach just few meter from our room, Saldy is a professional and knows very well all the secrets of El Nido. The breakfast is good and the staff were very helpful. The kids were having fun in the huge and well kept garden, playing around and swimming in the beach just in front of the hotel.
We would like to thanks all the Staff: Rob, Alain and Mercedes for this wonderful time. This is the place to go with young Kids. See you next January !!!

Room Tip: Incredible Sunset, IF traveling with kids take the family room with private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

for 6 nights and 7 days, for 4 college backpackers, this was better than any place I'd expect in El Nido. We had no reservation, and were lucky enough to be able to walk in and grab the last two rooms. Relatively close to town by tricycle. The owners are stand up guys! They treat their resort as if it is a home, not a hotel. It is in the most beautiful location... the sunsets... everything about El Nido was perfect but our accommodations made it even better. Air Condition, spacious bathroom, nice patio, very quiet, right on the beach, great breakfast every morning before the day. Stay here, you won't regret it. I will be referring anybody I know that goes to El Nido to stay in this place... Enjoy :)

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were identical and perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The sunsets here are amazing!!!! We enjoyed several with a few cold beers and our cameras. It is a 50p ride to town but so much nicer to stay out here. We did walk it one day, 2km but really once was enough, it was a hot day. There is quiet and long stretch of beach to explore out here. There are a few restaurants nearby for dinner as Coral Bay at the moment does not have a full restaurant...construction is underway. Breakfast is complimentary and they will serve it to you on your deck or wherever you want. It is a choice of meat, eggs, and toast or pancakes..both are good. They have hot and cold water available anytime for tea or coffee. Rooms were good, wifi, nice showers, a/c. Several rooms have amazing decks! Excellent stay here, merci!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here during the last week in January. The location is a short tricycle ride into El Nido town which, whilst isn't always that convenient, we were glad for. The sunsets from the beachfront garden are just beautiful and Coron Coron is much quieter than El Nido meaning we were able to get a good nights sleep, which I'd heard wasn't so easy in town. The rooms here are absolutely fine but they are fairly basic for what you pay for. The breakfast is good and the staff were helpful, though it was not always easy to find them. I think they'd do we'll to set up a small sunset bar here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We came to El Nido during Chinese New Years Holiday and the little town was packed with visitors. We were hoping for a few quiet and relaxing days at a waterfront hotel only to find that El Nido beach was noisy and crowded, also with very little vacancy any available hotels charged very inflated prices.

Luckily we booked 2 nights at Coral Bay after already spending a few days in an unimpressive Viewdeck Inn. What a difference! Coral Bay has a beautiful and quiet garden with wicker hammock, spacious rooms with beach and ocean views. And after multiple cold showers, poor water pressure, spotty or no wifi days, our stay here seemed luxurious. The town has power blackout from 6am to 3pm, but Coral Bay runs their own generator from 6am-10am. Breakfast is served in the garden from 6am onward, both the staff and owner were very friendly. They kept apologizing having us wait just 10min to check in! Our only regret was no staying here longer.

Corong-Corong beach is very serene compared to El Nido and the sunset from here is incredible. Unfortunately the water here is not swimmable as it is very shallow for quite a distance, with seaweed and rocks. We walked around in the water and onto sandbars during low tide and saw many jellyfish floating around as well as urchines lurking in the seaweeds.

I Coral Bay would consider opening a restaurant and add a beach front bar too. Though the place is only a short tricycle ride from El Nido, we would have liked to have a drink with the sunset view and have dinner close by, as there aren't many restaurant around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
1.8 km away
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
#36 of 99 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 km away
Doublegem Beach Resort
Doublegem Beach Resort
#78 of 99 in El Nido
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 km away
Buena's Haven Travelodge
Buena's Haven Travelodge
#20 of 99 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Golden Monkey Cottages
Golden Monkey Cottages
#18 of 99 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.3 km away
The Resort Bayview Hotel
The Resort Bayview Hotel
#32 of 90 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 km away
Stunning Republic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort

Property: Coral Bay Resort
Address: Lugadia Village | Corong-Corong, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Bay Resort , is situated 10 MN from El Nido by Tricycle Right on the Beach of Corong-Corong Facing the Islands of the Archipelagos of Bacuit enjoy the fantastic Sunset. All Room are Air-con and Fan Hot/Cold Water all the Room are around the Big Garden that cover most of the resort we are on the beach.Including Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Bay Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing