We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
This private Beach forms part of the Property. This soft, sandy Beach is yours exclusively for the Duration of your Stay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
This private Beach forms part of the Property.
This soft, sandy Beach is yours exclusively for the Duration of your Stay.
You can have this stunning Beach all to yourself.
Ylang-Ylang Suite with its own Dining Room, seen from the Garden.
Baby Pen for Toddlers
Breath taking Sunsets from your Bedroom Terrace are part of the Package
Tongkat Ali Room (partial view - Shower and Bathroom)
Front Entrance Gate
Front Garden
Pergola, Outdoor Kitchen and Bar (in the Background)
Open Kitchen and Bar
Amazing Villa with private Beach & Staff
Yoga Platform / Viewdeck. Our favorite Spot for romantic Dinners.
What's more relaxing than a siesta in a Hammock - with a view of the Beach ?
Rain or Shine - Nature is always Breath taking...
Free Range Chickens provide deliciously healthy Eggs and Meat.
Large Organic Garden (partial view)
Organic Vegetables, Herbs and Spices are harvested fresh for every Meal
Olive Backed Sunbird, endemic to Palawan, frequently seen in our Garden.
Ashy Fronted Bulbul (endemic to Palawan) resting on the Perimeter Fence.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Palawan Province, Mimaropa

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Loveders
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

In a word ... Fabulous. I travelled with my wife and 3 children (25, 23, 21) and stayed for 4 nights using the 3 main rooms. We had such a great time and the combination of Herwig as host and the wonderful environment, meant we had the dream start to the holiday. We cant rate Herwig highly enough - such a great host - we all voted him as the number one attraction of the 'Amazing Villa'! Our two best meals of the entire holiday were also with them - the meal that Theresa created magically in front of us and the meal that we/they cooked on the beach after our fishing trip. We also still rate their beach as the perfect beach since it is so undeveloped and immaculate. I can honestly say that there isn't anything we would change. This might sound ridiculous when people are always looking for ways to get better, but where it isn't perfect (eg steps to the beach) it just adds to its charm and natural environment. The staff, the dogs, the goats and the chickens all played their part in making us feel at home and the jungle walks were wonderful. We would highly recommend this 'Amazing Villa' as a perfect way to escape the crowds and get close to nature in a relaxed and friendly environment.
Special thanks to Theresa and Herwig for being the joint geniuses that designed such a wonderful home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjmlucket...
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just spent a fabulous week at the Amazing Villa over the Christmas period. Picked up by Herwig and transported across lush virgin Forrest terrain to the Villa welcomed by Turbo the lab. This is a terrific oasis in which just to unwind from the daily routine. The ocean view from the balcony off the main bedroom was stunning and mesmerised us for many hours as we sat in two very comfortable sun loungers. Our only suggestion is that a couple of comfortable chairs are needed for when it is raining. Two real highlights: One was the beach - felt we were on our own desert island. Stunning. Well kept -we had no issues with sandflies. 100% sand with a gentle run into the sea, no jelly fish or prickly business and a moderate surf. Very safe and just great to swing in a hammock under one of the shady trees. We loved walking 4 Km along the beach seeing only some fishing communities- not a tourist in sight. The other highlight was Theresa’s fantastic cooking. We felt we were being fattened up to be served on New Year’s Eve! Passionate and talented we enjoyed everyone of Theresa’s creations many of the products coming from their own organic garden. Get Amos to show you around and be amazed at the variety of veg, lettuce and herbs produced on the edge of a rain forest. Herwig provided great company in the evening as the bar is where it all ‘happens’ including WiFi connection if you needed a fix from the outside world. In all it was a truly amazing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe23
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Can't recommend this place highly enough”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with the full meal plan for 9 days in the Ylang Ylang room. As other reviewers have said, the scenery, food and beach are incredible. What makes this place so much better than a luxurious hotel (other than the price!) is the atmosphere. It feels more like being spoiled by distant relatives at their family home. Herwig is mild-mannered, intelligent and sincere; his wife Teresa is warm, feisty and a local expert. Other staff such as Toto and Amos are gentle and highly skilled, and the friendly animals also help to make you feel at home. We were able to easily feel like Robinson Crusoe paddling around the bay with Turbo (the enthusiastic labrador) or walking through the jungle and village; to then go back for a delicious cocktail and a hot shower is very special indeed.

We would definitely recommend the Ylang Ylang room if you can afford it. It's lovely to sleep with all the windows open and feel the sea breeze coming in, and the huge balcony feels private. Every meal we ate was delicious and no dish was ever repeated. Our only comment would be that they were often too big and we felt a bit bad leaving so much, although we were reassured that no food is wasted. If we go back we'd probably opt for breakfast and dinner only as that would have probably been enough for us. A typical breakfast might be vegetable omelette, french toast and fresh mango; dishes for other meals were things like beef curry, ceviche, whole grilled fish, salads and huge king prawns with garlic.

You won't enjoy this place if you like to order a burger off an extensive menu, update facebook everyday or go clubbing. It's perfect if you want to truly get away from modern life and enjoy natural beauty and good company. It's somewhere to truly relax and reflect. I hope we can return sometime in the future and we are very grateful to Herwig and Teresa for making our holiday so wonderful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the6piets
Baguio, Philippnes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Know before you go...”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
8
people found this review helpful

We spent four nights at the villa last week with friends and the hosts. The hosts are amazing people...accommodating, gracious, friendly. Theresa's cooking is amazing, I've not had better filipino fare in the 10 years I've been there. Herwig is at your beck and call to do what he can to meet your needs and help you plan activities. BUT, if you're not realistic about the remoteness of the place, you will be disappointed. This is a great place to COMPLETELY get away from it ALL. There is NO cell service, regular traffic, shops, tourist attractions, or even regular electricity. They were very gracious to run the generator for us and provide electric fans. You cannot "run to town" as puerto is almost 2 hours away by very rough, unfinished roads. Don't read between the lines on the description. Our only disappointment was the location of the beach & it's access. It's a beautiful beach, but it's quite a hike, and the path is quite rough. There's no place to relax on the beach (only wooden & rock benches), so that was a bit disappointing also. I would highly recommend this property for adventure-seekers, and those looking to completely unplug & unwind for awhile. It would be a great place for a retreat or team-building activities.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit your review. Thanks also for your very kind words about Theresa and me. When we see how you are enjoying your stay, it inspires us and it makes us feel good. Thanks also for your huge compliment about Theresa's cooking. Truth be told, after all those years that we've been together, she still manages to impress even me. And I'm a regular customer :-)
As far as our beach is concerned, it is in the first stage of development. So far, we have cleaned up and smoked out the surrounding forest. The beach itself is left pristine (although we rake it and remove seaweeds twice daily). Our initial idea was to keep the natural setting of the beach intact as much as possible (we are big fans of hammocks though, suspended in the shade). But we may change our plans and put some traditional wooden lounge chairs on the beach. We are also planning a grill and a bar. In a later stage we may even build some bungalows, slightly elevated and overlooking the bay but with immediate access to the beach. Lots of idea's are brewing and your input is very useful.
We hope to welcome you back for a company team-building one day, so you can see for yourself how it turned out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trael2
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It wasn't quite what we had hoped for...”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We booked the villa for 5 days because we wanted to get away from it all, spend time with each other, laze on the beach and swim in the sea.
We corresponded with Herwig, who was very helpful and informed us that he would arrange for transport to collect us from the airport to take us to the villa. He also asked whether we would like his wife, Theresa, to join us as she apparently loves to cook and would be pleased to prepare meals for us at a very reasonable price. As we were aware that the villa is in a remote location and we weren't sure exactly what cooking facilities were available, we thought that this would be the best option. So, we arrived at the airport and were collected by Herwig in the van to go to the villa. He informed us that Theresa would join us the following day. In the event, Theresa did not arrive at the villa at all during our stay and, early on the second morning, Herwig left the villa without a word or a note. We didn't know why he had gone, where he had gone, whether he or Theresa would return, or how we could contact them should we have any issue (there is no phone or internet reception at the villa). To date (now 2 weeks on), we have not any communication from them to explain their absence. Bearing in mind the incredibly remote location (and even if it weren't so remote), this is unacceptable. Perhaps they had some family crisis, in which case I feel for them. But, even so, it would not have been difficult for Herwig to very quickly scribble us a note to explain his departure.
Our meals were cooked by Amos (who we were introduced to as the gardener), who was a lovely man. However, we had essentially the same meal every day (either marinated chicken or fish with rice) and everything was drowned in coconut oil. With no shops and no means to communicate, we had to eat the food.
The villa is, indeed, in a beautiful location and the beach looks absolutely stunning. It is rare to have such a wonderful location all to yourself. A word of warning about the beach (which it would have been very helpful to know about in advance). The sandflies are absolutely ferocious. On the first day, we went onto the beach and did not reapply insect repellent after swimming and we were bitten probably in excess of 200 times. After this, we were very careful about being covered in deet at all times and, even so, it was not conceivable to stay on the beach after 3pm, which rather curtailed our enjoyment of the beach.
So, in summary, this place is in a lovely location and you do have a gorgeous beach all to yourself but it really is rustic and I don't think that you can rely on the hosts to look after you. If you do go, make sure you have buckets of deet and that you like coconut oil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your comments in your review.

At the amazing villa, we receive a variety of guests. All of them have different expectations and we do our best to cater to each and every one of them in a personalized way. If you read our reviews on this and other websites, you will see that this personalized approach makes for a superb customer experience and is a big part of the success of the Amazing Villa.
You summarize it well when you say that you “wanted to get away from it all, spend time with each other, laze on the beach and swim in the sea”.
During the two days I spent “with you” at the villa, you did exactly that and not much more. I tried to interact with you and find out how to please you but after two days of looking at a closed bedroom door and an empty bar, I concluded that it would be best to respect your privacy, retreat discreetly and leave you in the capable care of our staff. Our staff, by the way, are trained to look after you and they are quite good at what they do. They live on site (permanently) and can help you with any request. You do not need the hosts to look after you and you should definitely not command our presence.
If you felt that our cook was overly generous with our virgin coconut oil (by the way, we also use olive oil and butter, if you don't like coconut oil), you should have pointed it out to him right there and then, giving him a chance to adjust. Our cook was trained by Theresa and has done very well with other guests. We have noted your complaint and we will still discuss it with him.
Sand flies is something you do not leave to chance. On a good day there may be none on the entire beach but on bad days (especially late afternoon) you need to take precautions. Lying on the beach late afternoon without insect repellent is not something we would recommend. Applying mosquito repellent frequently (we prefer the natural ones, not the DEET versions) on all exposed skin is the thing to do.
You may have noticed that we take sand flies seriously. We rake our beach and remove all seaweeds twice daily. This disturbs their breeding patterns (sand flies lay their eggs in the sand and under decomposing seaweeds). Furthermore, we have cleared and burned the undergrowth 50 meters inland from the beach to destroy the breeding grounds for mosquito's. We are experiencing very encouraging results from our efforts (there are significantly less sand flies now and they continue to get less and less). We can see from other guests that it's possible to enjoy the beach without being covered in bites.
We are sorry to hear that your stay at the amazing villa was not what you expected it to be. However, I hope that you did enjoy your time away from it all and that you found ample time to spend with each other in a pristine environment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbcrane
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If this place happens to be available, BOOK IT!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Long story short -- I thought this was too good to be true, but it surpassed my expectations. The owners go out of their way to help save you money, and make sure you have the best possible time. I would go back in a heartbeat. Prices are extremely reasonable and the service is superb.

I visited the villa with my girl friend and two friends. It was amazing. We were met by Herwig at the airport with a van that took us to the supermarket to buy food for our trip. 2 hours later after a bit of a bumpy ride (dirt/rock road) through the rain forest we arrived at their beautiful villa. The beds were comfortable, the drinks were very very reasonable and the food was amazing. We planned on cooking our own food, but once we tasted the cooking, the 350php/meal price was simply too good to turn down.
We celebrated my girl friend's birthday there and Herwig and Theresa made sure it was memorable with a BBQ on the beach, and an amazing dinner on the view deck with 3-4 courses of amazing food.

Oh, and don't count on being connected to the world - no power during the day and definitely no internet or tv. A great place to get away from everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service and private beach
Liked least: if other guests are up early, you can hear them outside
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Reviewed February 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing