We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
51
36
4
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
36
4
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm takes minutes to get common space el nido ping pong table private bathroom air con stayed here for nights rooms are clean per night underground river tour enjoyed our stay close to the airport backpackers pp tricycle wifi
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018

I came to this hostel with good hopes and was disappointed. The dorms were dirty and smelly (after being cleaned), the toilets were ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. The AC dorm has one tiny, ancient AC in a far corner of the room so the fan dorm was cooler! The staff seem always upset to be there, not speaking friendly to guests and looking constantly tired - I feel sorry for them! I have stayed at cheaper, better hostels in Puerto Princesa

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend in the private room for two nights. It only costs 100 pesos in a tricycle and takes 5-10 minutes to get to. The location is very easy for local tricycle riders to find.
From the moment we arrived we were treated well by the friendly staff. The receptionist even remembered who we were when we asked for the room key.
The room itself is 960 pesos per night. The bed was comfortable and it came with air conditioning. The bathroom was massive and there is a bin in there for your rubbish. Cold shower but that’s not that bad as the weather is so humid.
The bar/restaurant serves good food. I really enjoyed the tuna pesto pizza. Nutella on toast is a welcome breakfast option as well. There is plenty of space to socialise or relax.
Overall, I was very pleased to stay here. Wifi is at a good speed especially for Palawan. There are usually tricycle riders outside as well. The private room is perfect for backpackers who need a little privacy on a long trip.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank geelongexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

We stayed in this hostel for two nights and ate in its restaurant on both nights. There are other places to eat in Puerto Princesa but they are generally 20-30mins walk or a tricycle ride away, so we took the lazy option and ate here.

First of all, the restaurant has a really silly system of making you sign for every order if you are staying in the hostel. You even have to sign for food and drink orders separately. As there were only one or two staff working while we were there, this meant they were endlessly occupied with this signing system which made the service very slow. You can just pay up front without signing, but we didn't realise that straight away as we were just asked to sign when we first ordered.

The food is expensive when compared with other hostels we've stayed in the Philippines. I don't mind paying a bit more for good food, but this was average at best. I ordered a chicken ginger stew for 205 pesos. The chicken in it was all bone, hardly any meat, and there was barely any veg in it either. My wife ordered fried noodles, which were way too greasy, and tasteless.

On the second night we ordered a pizza and chips to share. We wanted to eat them together, but the chips came more than 30 minutes before the pizza due to the slow and inefficient service. The chips cost 145 pesos for a tiny portion.

We paid 85 pesos each in the morning for a coffee, which was a very average coffee for such a price. In Moalboal a couple of days before, we got toast, eggs and coffee for the same price.

The pizzas on the menu go up to 575 pesos. While we didn't manage to get to any of the local restaurants, I suspect you will find much better food at a cheaper price in town.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff are very friendly. That is probably the main redeeming factor of the place. The bar and restaurant is also a very nice place. Just a shame about the high prices and slow service.

The hostel itself is ok. But be aware: like a lot of hostels in the Philippines, the showers are cold. You might want to consider using a sleeping bag if you have one, as the fans in our dorm made it a bit too cold to sleep.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank careergappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

We planned to stay one night here, but stayed for 2 because it is so beautiful, laid back, and has very helpful staff. There are hammocks to relax in, a ping pong table, and lovely gardens everywhere you look. This is the perfect hostel to meet other travelers and go on tours in Puerto Princesa. We highly recommend staying here at least one night.
Big hugs from Henrik and Liz

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2018

Shared room with double beds and Lockers, and Airconditioning!
Bar open 24/7 hahaha. Shower and bathroom shared. Its clean and cheap.
Lots of backpackers lots off fun.
Breakfast is not included, but dirt cheap and delicious. Good coffee and other beverages.
A good starting point because it's packed with travellers!

I loved it!

Room tip: Who comes here don't care for this!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Superlatief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews