We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strictly Average!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baling Hai Beach Resort
Ranked #62 of 147 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Strictly Average!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had a mixed feeling during our visit to Balinghai Beach Resort. We stayed here for 3 nights from 3rd March till 5th March 2012 in the Bat House.

Although the resort seems to be private, there wasn't much privacy at the resort's beach - the beach is too small to accommodate the guests of the hotel.

Rooms are private and the views from the rooms are splendid! But there's some sort of discomfort in the rooms - for ventilation, there are only vintage fans.

Booking was a difficult - they only accepted wire transfers, which in our view, is among the most uncomfortable way of booking a place. The resort does not have a tie-up with any booking website, and their own website booking page was dysfunctional (at the time of our booking a couple of months back).

Going from the resort to the main road is not so comfortable. Also, the food choices for vegetarians is near zero. Milkshakes are nice though.

Looking at the reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked this place for our honeymoon - we had some great moments, but were not entirely convinced of the great reviews given by the others staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drathod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    26
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My girlfriends and I rented one of the big villas and were pleasantly surprised at just how large and roomy it was. This isnt your typical home, as there is constant air circulation due to the openness of the house. We stayed during typhoon season so it did get kind of scary at night, but the wind was warm and we did not mind. If you are looking for a modern hotel then this is not your place. You have to get used to little critters visiting your home especially at night and leaves and other outdoor debris getting inside the house. To me, that is all part of the adventure! step outside your boundaries and experience this for yourself. You wont regret it! FYI Best beach in boracay!

Room Tip: If you are looking to be near town then this isnt your place. This is a much quieter and more relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lena94547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our 3 week Philippines trip. We were here for 5 night from the end of December 2011 to the beginning of January 2012.

We stayed 4 nights in the Tree House and 1 night in the Rock House (we couldn't book all 5 nights in the same room since they were already booked)

Pros:
- Great location away from the White Beach. Secluded and romantic.
- Great private beach. Good swimming. Bar at the beach for drinks.
- Breakfast is included in the price. You can eat in your room overlooking the water, up at the restaurant with some good conversation with the owner, or down at the beach.
- Both of our rooms we overlooking the water. The Rock House has a slightly better view, but it's only a one bedroom as opposed to the 2 bdrm Tree House
- Very friendly staff and fun to talk with. They weren't FAKE nice like some of the places around. Instead they were genuinely nice and were very fun to talk with.

Cons:
- Bugs - There were quite a few bugs around. This didn't bother me at all because the rooms are very "naturey" and bugs are expected. My wife on the other had was a little freaked out. In the end, she said it was worth it though.
- View - the trees block the view from the rooms a little. It'd be nice if they were trimmed back a little bit.
- Distance from White Beach - to get the seclusion, you will have to deal with the 10 minute trike ride to the White Beach. Not bad and totally worth the seclusion!

Tips:
- Get down to the beach early, because if it's crowded they have a limited number of beach lounge chairs.
- Price of trikes - don't ask the trike driver for the price, they will always try to upcharge you. Going from Balinghai to the White Beach, you can get away with 20 pesos/person. Going back to Balinghai at night, they will always charge you more, expect to pay from 100-200 pesos total.
- Puka Beach - this is close enough for a 30 minute walk, or you can take a trike. Good food and away from the crowds.
- Stairs - there are a LOT of stairs. Beware if you are out of shape or old. With all the food we were eating, I thought it was a good workout and didn't mind the stairs.

Conclusion
My wife and I will definitely stay here again if we go back to Boracay! It's an experience like no other and you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Tree House has 2 rooms Rock House has 1 room (very nice and romantic!) Take advantage of the candl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crackerjap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at Balinghai in November 2011. Overall the hotel was what we were looking for - isolated, private and relaxing, however the experience could have been that much better were a few things different.
First the rooms were lovely, we were in the bat house and although not my original first choice, we could not have been happier. The rooms are very private and all seemed to have their own balcony where your morning tea and coffee are served as well as any meals you order which you do not eat on the beach. Our room (I assume they all do) had a small fridge which was fully stocked with non-alcoholic drinks which were not outrageously priced. Both our terrace and the view from our room was out over the ocean, lovely. All the rooms have their own private staircases from the top and down to the beach/bar/restaurant which was wonderful as you didn't have to see anyone else all day if you didn't want to. The beach consists of two small coves with sun loungers and a bar/restaurant which seemed to be open from around 8-8 every day. The cove is great and the beach well maintained AND if you book any boats they pick you up from the beach.
The hotel is located approximately 20 minute tricycle ride from Station 2/3 - or 100 pesos taxi fare. We were told to never pay over 20 pesos and were successful in negociating down but NEVER was less than 50 pesos. You can not walk down the beach from the hotel nor can you walk down the road as the traffic is crazy and there isn't much of a shoulder, the tricycle was easy and not expensive.
When we arrived we had booked to have an airport transfer. Our flight ended up getting cancelled and our destination airport for the next flight changed. Luckily Balinghai outsourced our transfer to an actual travel company (the name escapes me - Southern something) and they were amazing! Everything was organized for us and they even held the last ferry of the night so we could get across and then had a airconditioned vehicle to the hotel. On our way out we booked an airport transfer again, thinking this tour company was normal and, well, it wasn't. We paid the equivalent of 30USD for the transfer which was on a rainy day in an open tricycle to the boat, etc. Basically it was something we could have done ourselves for a fraction of the cost. We felt if the hotel was going to charge us so much they could have at least provided a closed vehicle on a rainy/humid day - it was worth it to get to the hotel, not so much to get to Caticlan airport.
While at Balinghai some things to keep in mind. We would have gone into town sooner to buy snacks. The food at the hotel while competitvely priced with restaurants in town was not very good (it was ok but not good) and they were frequently out of things, wine, soda water, coconuts, some items on the menu, etc. Additionally, if you plan to snorkel do not rely on the hotels equipment which consisted of 2 masks (one with mildew) and 1 snorkel tube - we unfortunately made that mistake. If you plan to do any laying in the sun to work on your tan be advised that only 2 of the sun loungers were lay down. We also found it a bit unfortunate to come down to the beach on at least 2 different mornings to find non-hotel guests all over the beach (lovely but quite small). One day the boat was pulled up onto the beach right next to the principle cove having dropped its passengers for the day to use the loungers and the bar/restaurant. The second time a boat had dropped off 5 people and moored itself in the water of the cove for a few hours. It wouldn't have been so bad but as I said, we chose Balinghai for the peace and relaxation, the boats passengers were a bit loud a crazy - with european men chasing, literally, the philippeno women they brought with them. Dropping off of passengers is not permitted on other hotel beaches, I don't think it sound be at Balinghai either. The beach, although lovely and they probably want the business for the bar/restaurant but was disconcerting when you are paying for the peace, relaxation and privacy.
We enjoyed our time at Balinghai, we didn't love it but would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed in Baling hai for 6 nights (in Bat House) in December 2011. I chose the resort from the previous trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The place is in a beautiful quiet spot (away from the awful White Beach tourist area) and is a pefect retreat for anyone who is looking for a simple, natural place which is not a resort. The rooms overlook the sea and are mostly open air, so showering is almost like showering outside. You can fall asleep to the sound of the waves and the noises of the surrounding forest. The staff are lovely, as was the food, and we absolutely loved it. Our room had a day-bed on the veranda which was great for relaxing as the sun went down or for coffee/tea in the morning - you are given complimentary tea/coffee left on your veranda each morning which is a lovely touch. For Europeans, the prices are very reasonable. If you like resorts and want 5* service and facilities, then this isn;t the place for you. This is a simple, beautiful place in a natural environment - perfect because of it - but don't expect air-con, hairdryers etc. No need to dress up, everything is casual and relaxed. Don't expect sophisticated service, the people are not experienced and also don't always have a great understanding of english - but they make up for this with big hearts and generous natures. You can eat in the beach bar (we thought nicer than the restaurant area) and on the last night the staff put our table on the beach near the water and lit lots of candles for us! Amazing! This is a very romantic place and very special. Previous reviews have mentioned insects - we had no problems at all and there seemed very few mosquitos (so much so that i didn't even use repellent). The insects stayed in their natural places and even sitting with the light on did not seem to attract moths or other creatures that would normally be attracted to the light. So no worries on that score. It is possible to swim or walk to the nearby Shangri-la 5* resort for a cocktail, which we did just to look! But who needs 5* when you can have the personal service and peace of just 9 rooms. Wish we could have stayed longer. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigworldtravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We live in bat house, it's special, we love the room, but we live there two night, and two day have electricity failure, and become very hot...! It doesn't have AC there only fan. And don't include the transfer to airport. One trip to small will cost 100 peso. The breakfast is not included, too. But their balinghai mixed sandwich is great! We've tried their beach dinner for 850, but we're very disappointed, not very fresh seafood and some of them are very salty. We left many of them. Just enjoy the special room and sandwich.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoyoisqoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My wife and I stayed 7 days,
1 or 2 nights would have been better.
Its away from the main beaches, so its very quiet
its made of few huts on a clift, far away from anywhere
sorrounded by the jungle directly over a very small beach
great views from the room, great pictures, romantic
But:
-Far away from anywhere so you have to pay whatever price they say for their food
The least they should do is to arrange a discount for transport to the main village (Im not asking for a shuttle like other hotels), instead they overcharge you if you get a tricicle from them... why?? so that you dont go eating anywhere else?...
- insects of all kinds, it looks nice being in the jungle when you arrive, but after one night we already got feedup with insects bites, spiders, ants, and other insects of all kinds everywhere.
- The huts are very basic, they look quite romantic at first glance but again after one night you start feeling its not so confortable, no aircon, no isolation, power runs out, not so clean, insects,...
- The price is not cheap, you can find better rooms (these are more huts) for less plus here you have to add the food on top.
- even being far away it gets very noise with the engines of the boats passing by, specially from 7am

To sumarize, go for one night, for a romantic getaway, nice views, a hut in a clift by the beach, nice pictures for the facebook, bring loads of insect repelent and get fit going up and down the stairs

Room Tip: The hut called"Bat house" has good views, size is big and close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peterson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.5 km away
Artista Beach Villas
Artista Beach Villas
#56 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 km away
Nami Resort
Nami Resort
#35 of 147 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.5 km away
Lingganay Boracay Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Argonauta Boracay
Argonauta Boracay
#20 of 147 in Boracay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.0 km away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#27 of 147 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Boracay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baling Hai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baling Hai Beach Resort

Property: Baling Hai Beach Resort
Address: on the northern part of Boracay Island, Aklan Province, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Boracay
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
Hotel Class:3 star — Baling Hai Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Baling Hai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baling Hai Beach Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing