We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Artistic and Nostalgic Hotel in Boracay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Regency Prince Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Regency Prince Resort
Ranked #111 of 146 Hotels in Boracay
Cebu City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Artistic and Nostalgic Hotel in Boracay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

as a travelling artist I was impressed with interior design of the hotel. The paintings in the lobby are very much a representation of the Filipino tradition. I love the antique furnitures in full display at the Lobby Lounge bringing a retro-atmosphere for a fine breakfast experience. One of the must-see in this hotel is the old bronze postal cabinet located inside the lobby, it's where they put our vouchers and depository items.

Its not really a big hotel but the atmosphere is worth the stay and I have a good time interacting with the other guests. There's a convenience store below that make our stay.. convenient. The hotel staffs are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lapiskamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
15
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The reviews are a bit misleading and the pictures associated to this hotel on tripadvisor are also very deceiving. We booked 2 nights originally at the crown regency PRINCE resort in station 1. We arrived and were greeted warmly by the front desk staff. The room was nice, decent size and clean - however the hotel lacked amenities. There was no pool, and the walk to the beach on station 1 was approximately 7 minutes through a back allyway road (which is 'normal' for boracay). I would have been a little frightened to try to make the walk via the allyway at night as it didnt seem like it was lit and it wasn't really an 'official' path so I am not sure how many other people would be around late at night to help you feel safe. With the distance to the beach and the lack of pool, we decided to change our second night to the crown regency beach hotel (in station 3). Although a little bit more expensive, it was well worth it to be ON THE BEACH, and to have a really nice pool with a beautiful view. The room was comparable in the crown regency beach - maybe even larger, just as clean, however I saw a few ants in the bed - they didnt bite, so it really wasn't too troublesome.

All in all, for the Crown Regency Prince the staff is very friendly and courteous and the rooms are clean. If you really prefer station 1 to station 3, then this could possibly be a better choice for your travels.

I would have originally given this hotel a 4 star rating (out of 5) - however the morning breakfast buffet was really sub-par. We arrived ~ 9:30 AM (the breakfast goes until 10 AM i believe), and there was hardly any food left. Where there was food, it was cold. The eggs were not very tastey, and the bacon soggy. I think they only cook for the amount of guests that they have, and if you miss out on the fresh food you are kind of out of luck - which is what I think happened to us. Because of the poor breakfast, I am only giving 3/5 stars.

The crown regency beach front in station 3 also has breakfast included in the room and it is much nicer - there is a made to order egg station, and other hot items which they kept hot and replenished. They may have kept the breakfast more fresh as it seemed there were many more travelers staying at the beach hotel versus the prince.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank NeonDian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This review is for Station 1.

The Pros:

The accommodations for this hotel were very nice. Rooms were very clean and the bathrooms up to date. I had a balcony view facing buildings and the busy street below. There is a convenience store/supermarket underneath the hotel which is open 24 hours and has everything you may need in case you forgot something. The staff was very nice and courteous.

The cons:

The free breakfast buffet was subpar. The food was cold both days I was there and there was a very limited selection. I was disappointed with the service. There were many attendants but none were very helpful. Although the beach was about a 2-3 minute walk, getting there was another story. You had to cross a busy street then navigate thru a series of back alleys to get to the beach.

Physically, the hotel was quite nice, but since Boracay is known for it's beaches and water activities, you are much better off staying at a hotel right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank genetorres3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I think this hotel either got some unfair reviews in the past, or they already addressed any complaints or shortcomings they had.

First of all, i noticed about HALF of the reviews here are for the Crown Regency BEACH resort. (hotel right smack at the beach in Station 3). This is for the Crown Regency PRINCE (hotel near Station 1, you have to cross the street and have 2 minutes walk to reach the resort).

I had the choice on which hotel to stay in, the BEACH front or this Prince hotel. The BEACH hotel at first seemed more ideal.. it has a pool, i think its bigger, and you're right there at the beach already. In the end upon doing some research, i hear Station 1 is the better location so we chose the PRINCE. YMMV.

Its a decent hotel for its price range, VERY courteous and smiling staff, even the security guards are very polite. Room is roomy, cool aircon, clean bathroom with strong and hot water. We have a balcony but its a lousy view (facing street and buildings). But there should be rooms facing the beach if you're into nice views from your balcony.

Breakfast was good.. nothing spectacular but average or a bit above average even for standard breakfast buffet. We stayed for 2 nights and im pleasantly surprised that they didnt have the same menu from the previous day. Their TAPA was delicious. Juice was "sparkling" Apple juice, so not the powdered juice i read in one review. At least they're trying to improve.

Free Wifi from the lobby which extends r\to the dining area, so you can surf while having breakfast. No wifi in the room, but they have a LAN cable for internet access (I assume its free, i didnt use it since i only have my ipad with me)

Location is good. Theres a 24-7 convenience store right downstairs. so you can buy anything even at the middle of the night (including burgers). The soap, shampoo and toothpaste in the hotel was inadequate for us so we just bought our preferred brands at the store. (im not gonna complain about the hotel's quality of toiletry supplies, its just a few pesos to get what we need downstairs so no big deal). They have JONAS Shakes right next door, we just order them on our way back to the hotel. You can get a quick ride to the D Mall for 10 pesos per person (because im too lazy or tired to walk :-) ). There is even a nearby ATM. AND there are not one, but TWO Spas right across the hotel. One is open 24 hours while the other is open till midnight. So after a tiring day swimming and walking, we got a massage first before retiring to our hotel.

The beach is not that far from the hotel, 2 mins walk tops. The only drawback is the "scenery" walking to the beach via alleyways and passing thru houses isnt that great. You wouldnt think that just a few meters past those dingy concrete jungle would lie the beauty and splendor of Boracay.

All in all, we definitely chose the right hotel for our Boracay trip. The sand is a lot finer at Station 1.. its so fine that i tracked some back into the hotel and in my bed.. i cant even SEE it, but i can FEEL it.. had to fluff our bedsheet a few times to get them out :)

Next time we go back, we wouldnt mind staying there again... although we just MIGHT try the Beach hotel just to see the difference..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dcuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Crown Regency Prince Hotel. Breakfast could be improved. It was cold and a bit basic and tasteless. Powdered orange juice. Additional pillow cost 200 pesos. Sand on the floor and no slippers. Be careful if you get a henna tattoo as it may mark the sheets and you will have to pay extra. Close to the beach. Room small and very slow fan. Convenience shop underneath hotel but no fridge in room. The room and was generally o.k. but we would not stay there again as there is better to be be found. We stayed 2 nights and moved to Astoria on the beachfront. More expensive but a 100% experience. We will stay at Astoria Station 1 next time without doubt. It is only just down the road from the Crown Prince.

Room Tip: It would pay to look around or just stay one night to source something better value and with a fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boracay hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed for 3 nights here and did not regret our hotel choice. I have a back problem, and I was very pleased that the bed mattress was comfortable for me.

The beach is only 2-3 minutes' walk away. It is a more pleasant walk if you use the "Real Coffee" path (not the pawnshop/ Patio Pacific path). And the newly-opened Jonas' Fruit Shake is only two doors down the street.

We had a rather disappointing experience -- not with the hotel-- but with the zipline at fairways and bluewater. We wanted to try out the zipline and phoned fairways. We were told that we would be picked up at 10am. We waited and waited and phoned again around 10.45am. Fairways told us that the pick-up van of the zipline was not not in running condition; that the zipline operator is only their concessionaire -- meaning, we cannot hitch a ride with the fairways van that drives to the beach/d'mall regularly. It was very inconsiderate of them not to inform us of the pick up problem earlier! Then, we were told that we could be picked up at 11.30am. (It was a good thing we decided to go on another activity instead of waiting for the promised 11.30am pick-up -- no van, not from zipline nor from fairways came for the supposed 11:30am second pick-up time! And not even an apologetic phone call -- the least they could have done.)

It seems the zipline operator and the fairways people cannot put their act together; pick-up lang, hindi pa magawa.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fil7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

These are 2 different resorts. The Crown Regency is beachfront. Crown Regency PRINCE (emphasis on PRINCE because I guess its smaller) is like a 5 minute walk from the beach. I've stayed on both so here's my side:

Crown Regency - beachfront, bigger, bathroom's bigger, spacious hallways, big swimming pool, bar, in house restaurants

Crown Regency PRINCE - a lil farther from the beach, has 24/7 Convenience Store (Thats the name of the actual store, no pool, accessible for trike rides.

I booked via hotels.com and got a 30% off (PHP2700.00 per night) so I decided to try staying at Crown Regency Prince. I've been to Boracay 20 times and bathrooms are very important. At Prince, it's kinda small, but it was VERY clean. We're mostly out in the sun, but we do appreciate clean rooms. Clean Sheets. Clean Floor. If I understood them correctly, ALL their rooms have 2 Double Beds. Flat screen TV, complimentary coffee, sugar, water pot, clean towels, toiletries. Aaaaaand it has a balcony. It also had very thick curtains to block off the sun. Crown Regency has it too plus a pool. But with a nice beach like that, we didn't need a pool.

Breakfast was nasty. There were few people there so no buffet. Instead, we were cooked 1 big breakfast. I chose the longganisa (filipino sausage) and something else. Not yummy. Not even the scrambled eggs. =( Life's too short to eat too much oil. Just eat elsewhere. Bread at Julie's just P5.00.

If the room rates are the same, then of course, bigger's normally better. But if you find one at a cheaper rate, I suggest you weigh your options.

Have a great summer!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jApdoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
1.7 km away
Crown Regency Beach Resort Boracay
2.1 km away
Crown Regency Courtyard Resort
3.0 km away
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
Arwana Hotel & Restaurant
#108 of 146 in Boracay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Alta Vista de Boracay
Alta Vista de Boracay
#57 of 146 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 km away
Las Brisas Boracay
Las Brisas Boracay
#132 of 146 in Boracay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.5 km away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#91 of 146 in Boracay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Regency Prince Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Regency Prince Resort

Property: Crown Regency Prince Resort
Address: Boat Station 1, Bolabog Road Brgy. Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Regency Prince Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unrivalled charm, understated sophistication, and sincere Filipino hospitality, Crown Regency Prince Resort is a beautiful beach haven with a distinct personality. Drawing inspiration from the element of fire, this resort is thoughtfully designed in sun-drenched hues. Located along the Main Road of Station 1, Boracay Island, the resort is only a 5-minute walk from the beachfront. This 3-star resort also features 36 fully furnished rooms and the signature Lobby Lounge. Island Tour options are available at the Tour Desk. Airport pickup and drop off from Caticlan and Kalibo are available. Check-in time is at 2:00 PM and check-out time is at 12:00 noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Regency Prince Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Regency Prince Resort Boracay Hotel Boracay
Crown Regency Hotel Boracay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing