We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best on Boracay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Discovery Shores Boracay
Ranked #5 of 145 Hotels in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“This is the best on Boracay!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in Room 110, while my mom had a connecting room next door at 111. We loved every minute of our stay while in Discovery. We do plan to go back but will avoid the summer season because of the algae (E.Coli alert!!!). We prefer the cooler months of January and February because the water is clean (no algae!) and the nights are pleasantly cool and windy.

Our 1 bedroom unit was beautiful. Upon entering, the living room was converted to a kids' room with toys, mugs, etc. laid out for them. They had welcome cookies with each of the kids' names. We loved the in house drink they served. And my kids loved the free foot wash with massage. Room is true to the pictures on the website. We liked that the room was in the first level which had easy access to the pool. Some people might not like it because of the noise. We didn't find it noisy. But we found it very convenient. With 3 kids, we kept needing to go back to room to get forgotten stuff or use the bathroom! Discovery Shores is very child friendly. They made extra effort to make the kids feel very comfortable and special during their stay.

Service is incredible. We appreciated Rex's service at the beach front. He helped reserve our beach beds and took time out to clean our sunglasses for us. Food was yummy too and we ate them at the beach.He always checked in with us just to make sure we were ok or if there was anything he could do for us. He was always smiling.

Kids also made friends with the other kiddie guests at Discovery. They had fun playing in the pool and making sand castles while on the beach.

My husband loved the food. Lamb Ribs were his favorite. My mom loved the spa. She went for a massage everyday she was there.

Don't forget to use the airport lounge upstairs. It is spacious and quite comfortable. Kids were able to watch their Disney Channel and Cartoon Network while waiting for our (delayed) flight!

Overall, this was an excellent experience. I highly recommend Discovery Shores. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ground level, near the pool for easy access especially if you have kids :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    217
    59
    23
    18
See reviews for
499
362
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for three days in March. It is a beautiful hotel and a beautiful beach. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The drinks were great and the food was excellent. It really is paradise. They even massage your feet right when you get there.

Our biggest issue was this. We had made massage appointmenst for my wife and I and when we arrived for our massages we were told that there had been a scheduling error and only one of us could get a massage. We were appoligized to for this but nothing was done to make up for the mistake. I was a little surprised by this given the amazing customer service we had received during the rest of our stay.

There was one morning where we found the breakfast very crowded and the food old or just empty. It seemed like the whole hotel showed up at once though and they just got a bit overwhelmed so we forgave them for this.


All in all though this place is fantastic and we would definitely recommend it and hope to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_halloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

One of the most beautiful hotel in Boracay. Stationed in the remote area of the beach along side other luxury hotels. Staff are very accomodating and go beyond your expectations. Room is spacious with balcony over looking the pool. If you have the extra budget, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We arrived wanting nothing more than sun, beach chairs, and someone to bring cold drinks. This place offers so much more. The staff are amazingly kind (to their credit, most of the folks on the island were the same) and always ready to go the extra mile. Rooms are done up so well, large comfy beds, spacious shower and bathing area. Pool was enticing but we spent our time on the gorgeous white sandy beach. This place ain't cheap. Youre getting what you pay for though.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Location, beach, suites all amazing: food very good except breakfast service which is a bit off from a service perspective.

Staff are really friendly.

As other have said the beach is wonderful.

The place to stay in Borocay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

They really got it right. The location is superb - right on the beach. You get a good feeling from the minute you arrive at the Discovery boat station, just a few minutes from the airport. The boat captain and hostess make the short ride very enjoyable, and the drive through downtown Borocay (my designation) was lots of fun - a one lane road with two way traffic and parking on both sides of the street., Congratulations to our driver! The service is gracious and friendly. It so very pleasant to be able to take in the spectacular view and be just steps from your room. The guest room is beautifully designed, with enough light to read in bed, and a shower that makes you feel like a prince. When you first get to your room, a lovely young lady comes with a flower scented foot bath to give you a foot wash. In in room massage at bed time left me drifting off to sleep. The open air restaurant is comfortable and informal and I found the food just right for the tropics. This is a beautiful resort. It is one of my favorite places in the world. I think this must be what heaven is like. I hope so.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Having been to one of the best beach resorts, I must admit that Boracay is a bit of disappointment. Rooms were neat and clean, spacious enough. Food was strictly average and the property as such is just about decent.Not a luxurious one for sure and definitely not worth the price we pay for a room. It is probably on the main beach with shacks around the hotel. All the party places are within the walking distance and partying is one of the main reasons people go to Boracay.

There is a great Lebanese restaurant just beside and food is amazing. One of the plus points of staying in Discovery shores. Probably one of the best in Boracay bit definitely a disappointment if you consider world beaches and hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpionxylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.1 km away
The Lind Boracay
The Lind Boracay
#2 of 145 in Boracay
596 reviews
2.7 km away
Villa Caemilla Beach Boutique Hotel
1.3 km away
The District Boracay
The District Boracay
#7 of 145 in Boracay
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Henann Regency Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Ambassador in Paradise Resort
1.5 km away
Fairways & Bluewater
Fairways & Bluewater
#25 of 145 in Boracay
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Shores Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Shores Boracay

Property: Discovery Shores Boracay
Address: Station 1 Balabag, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Aklan Province > Boracay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boracay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boracay
#4 Spa Hotel in Boracay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Shores Boracay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Shores Boracay, a sprawling beachfront property located on the unspoilt shores of Boracay Island in the Philippines, is the first luxury resort built in this majestic region. Apart from its spacious 87 all suite guestrooms and the highly-acclaimed Terra Wellness Spa overlooking the beach, Discovery Shores' facilities include the Sands Restaurant, Indigo Restaurant, Platitos, Sandbar beach bar, Sandbox kiddie lounge, a swimming pool, recreation room, an events hall and a gym. Discovery Shores is one of five properties of The Discovery Leisure Company's portfolio of distinctive hotels and resorts, and is a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection. The resort embodies the hallmark of the Discovery brand: personalized and innovative service dispensed round-the-clock. Guests are guaranteed an unsurpassed level of quality, service and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Shores Boracay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Shores Boracay Hotel Boracay
Discovery Shores Hotel Boracay
Boracay Discovery Shores Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing