We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stays in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alegre Beach Resort
Ranked #68 of 220 Hotels in Cebu Island
Reviewed 11 February 2012

All the staffs are greeting you with a smile and they are very helpful and friendly.
The service just make me feel like i am in the Club Med.
There has free transport from the Cebu city to the resort and from the resort to airport.anytime in a private car as request.
Cycling is free for the first 2 hours,snokeling and kayaking are free too with no extra charge.
The staffs even gave us extra mineral waters when we asked for it before we cycled.
They even go extra miles to dry our wet clothing while waiting for the transport to airport.
Excellent.

Room Tip: May ask for room facing the beaches or a room near the main facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Alegre Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

If you want a vacation away from all the stress and with all your needs are addressed in the highest of hospitality standards, then, this is the place for you. We stayed there for 2 weeks and every time we went out of our room we are still wowed by the beauty of it. The food was great. The rooms are very well maintained and very clean. The staff - very friendly and well trained. You get the highest possible security. Every time we went out of the resort and decide to have our own transportation they check the drivers and take note of your arrival and departures. The scenery is just beyond compare. I have never seen anything like. The beach, is full of marine life, the moment you get into the water put your snorkeling gear on and you see beautiful fishes the moment you get into the water. I will definitely recommend this place and would love to go back when we go to Cebu. We also get a wine from them after a week of stay. Very good resort. You can never ask for more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markjayonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I must say that my stay here last year was quite pleasant and restful. Alegre Beach Resort is around 2 hours north of Cebu City by private van, so it's a bit far from the city, in the town of Sogod. That's part of the charm - you are away from the maddening crowds. The property is huge, and the grounds are well-manicured. I love the individual villas each guest is put in, with an invitingly large bathroom, where you can soak all your stress away. They have a huge pool, and several steps down brings you to their private beach, which is also a marine sanctuary. The waters are alive with tropical fish, and because the place is so exclusive, most if the time it will only be you and the fishes. The beach and the water is clean and tempting, so you have not choice but to take the plunge.

Since you're so far away from everything else, you have no choice but to eat there. Food is expensive, but the choices are numerous, and the preparation well-executed. Breakfasts are divine, and lunch and dinner buffets are plentiful, with lots of fresh, sweet Cebu mangoes. The dessert section is divine, and I just love their chocolates!

It's a worthy splurge to spend a couple of days in this blissful resort. Better bring along a loved one to make the most out of this experience!

Room Tip: All of the duplex villas face the sea. But choose the ones closer to the shore, as the ones out back...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

What a beautiful place! Reasonably priced, staff were helpful but unintrusive, personable but not familiar. This place could easily rate 5 stars. Only drawback is that there are no external dining opportunities in the area. All meals had to be taken at the resort. The food was of good quality and reasonable price but I like variety and being able to experience life outside.
The rooms were excellent. I reserved a garden villa but this was located as were all the others one level up the hill and between the two sea view villas so you actually had a great view of the sea. Snorkelling was excellent. Saw Nemo and Marlin which the kids loved.We used the tennis court which was good basket ball court was so so.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The resort is stunning. The beaches are lovely and the pool is beautiful. Even thought the resort was fully booked over Chinese New Year we were often the only people around the pool!

The rooms are spacious and clean with a huge bathroom. All the usual things like TV, DVD, tea/coffee etc.

Breakfast was good with a range to choose from. The freshly cooked waffles were particularly nice. Don't get there right before breakfast ends as most choices will have run out!

The food in the restaurant was nice with a wide variety. The special pre-order meat dishes that are cooked in clay were beautiful. Well worth spending a little extra on. The beach BBQ was great. Lots of choices.

The service in the restaurant was a little slow at times but not too bad. We were there at the same time as the reviewer below and we certainly didn't experience service as bad as he/she described. It was usually drinks that we waited for, not so much the food. The waitors/waitresses were all really friendly.

The resort is pretty isolated so if you want to go out exploring and trying different bars/restaurants then this resort isn't fo you. If you just want to sit back and relax for a few days then this place is perfect. We were there for 4 nights. One week could be lovely, 2 weeks would probably get boring.

Arrange the transfer with the hotel. It's a 90 minute drive on some pretty hairy roads.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit of a walk from the facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlh1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Alegre Beach Resort is in an absolutely gorgeous spot. The private beach is split between 3 small coves (tip: take a towel and head past the beach bar for even more peace and quiet!). There is some nice snorkelling close to the shore and gear can be hired from the aqua sports centre. The rooms are large and the resort is laid out in a way that ensures each room is peaceful and secluded. The landscaping is lovely.

We booked direct with the hotel and arranged airport transfer through them. This, along with check in/out, was very efficient. Unfortunately, that's where the efficiency ended. Food and drink service was extremely slow, e.g. a 15 minute wait for 2 bottles of beer. On our first night, there was a buffet dinner on the beach from 6.30-10pm: we arrived at 8, half the dishes were finished and were not replenished. For the next two nights we ate in the restaurant. On both occasions we and all the tables around us had to chase up drinks orders and one couple waited over an hour for their food to arrive. All this made the atmosphere rather tense! As there really are no cafes or restaurants nearby there was no choice but to wait. Things may have been worse as the place was full due to it being Chinese New Year, but with only 40 rooms and seemingly plenty of staff they should have been able to cope. Food was average to good- the Filipino dishes were particularly nice.

Staff were extremely friendly though, sadly due to the slow service we would hesitate to return, a shame as the location is stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessicam_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Booked 2 adjoining rooms over Christmas 2011. What a wonderful experience. The food and service are above expectations. As for the scenery......the beaches, the coves, the setting -all breathtaking!.
2 people stand out - Elsie for the service in the restaurant and Gilbert the barman, whi made us feel very special.
The trip out to the island with a BBQ and snorkelling was a great experience too.
Highly recommended.
Thanks to Dottie, who manages on site and is hands on all the time.

Room Tip: Book!! It is worthwhile,
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu Island hotels
57.2 km away
Las Flores
Las Flores
#55 of 220 in Cebu Island
95 reviews
53.6 km away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
129 reviews
55.7 km away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Remigio
56 reviews
114.1 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
441 reviews
60.8 km away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Beach Resort

Address: Calomboyan | PO Box 1094, 6007, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cebu Island
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cebu Island
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cebu Island
Price Range: $220 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegre Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alegre Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegre Beach Hotel Cebu
Alegre Beach Cebu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing