We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great white pepper crab”

JB Ah Meng Restaurant
Ranked #1,172 of 12,644 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighbourhood: Geylang
Reviewed April 4, 2018

As one might tell from all the reviews, there are some serious inconsistency issues at this restaurant and their menu, setting, service, is quite frankly not for everyone. The place has an industrial feel and the chinese speaking staff certainly dont help as the service was bad to awful (not much enthusiasm from the team or smiles) and communication was tricky but not impossible.

We ended up ordering the famous white pepper crab that was perfectly cooked and very well priced...simply delicious honestly!

However the fried chicken wings were fairly inedible, the stir fry bok choy was beyond boring, and the fried noodles were good but not terribly memorable. It is also worth mentioning there is an extremely short drinks menu and no alcohol is served so you might have to try to bring your own wine if you dont want to have a coconut juice with your crab.

In the end, while the owner does take great pride in his place and is happy to show off the photos of varying chefs that have stopped by, we did get the impression that he no longer takes a deep interest in the direct running of the place. That said, it is still a unique experience that may appeal to some visitors who want to get away from the more well known seafood restaurants of Singapore

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

These were hands down the best chilli clams I’ve had!

The crabs however I think were misses (we had the black pepper and chilli crab as we wanted to let some foreign friends try the signature flavours but they were a disappointment however, I hear the white pepper crab is more well known).

Beehoon was alright, distinctive burnt flavour, ai yu jelly drink was quite nice too! I think we had their salted egg fried prawn roll as well, a little dry if you asked me, but the fried corn was interesting; i’d say try it for the corn!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank kennethkongk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

must orders...crab, fried beehoon, stir fry lotus root, whatever they recommend. mixed crowd. do call to reserve as they are always
packed. a delicious experience worth repeating

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank junjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

Bad service and very rude boss and staff. Cramped environment. Raises his voice and speaks rudely to us and noticed them treating other customers very badly too. Most of the guests tried to ignore their bad treatment or had a change in their faces.

He said his business is vey good and if the table we reserved is too cramped we can queue again and that even if it is too cramped the table will still wanted by the many other people queueing. His staff were also seen shouting at other customers saying their boss ask them to clear their table immediately but they had only just finished eating.

We ended up leaving to head to another restaurant so we don't know if their food is good but there are many good food in Singapore. You need not pay to put up with disrespect.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

This is a spacious and bright restaurant, but extremely noisy. We were excited to be able to obtain a table booking at short notice as the reviews had been good. Most of the dishes we ordered today turned out average and below average. Only the egg plant and potato with salted egg was good. The tofu was best forgotten, the prawns with salted eggs were salty and not fragrant, fried fish head was average. The lala, whilst plump and large, contained a lot of sand, and was served to us cold. Even their signature dish of Sum Lor Fried Bee Hoon was not as exciting as expected. We were most thankful that their toilet was spacious and clean, but located up the stairs on the second floor.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Haebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JB Ah Meng Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to JB Ah Meng Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing