We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap bed in a clean room, hot shower, amazing staff. What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Cheap bed in a clean room, hot shower, amazing staff. What a find!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

So glad we stayed two nights at The Hive. The staff went way above and beyond our expectations when we arrived, even giving us directions to other nearby hostels to compare prices. No one could beat the S$25 for a dorm bed in such a nice environment. A light breakfast (toast & juice) was included and our bathroom was kept nice and clean. We ended up getting a 4 bed dorm to ourselves both nice...doesn't happen often! The location is so-so...the Lavender Street Food Market is a 5 minute walk away and it's a 10 minute walk to the subway's purple line entrances. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Hey GlobalVagabonds!

How was the Indian beer you bought? =)

We are very glad we met your expectations and that your first time in Singapore left you with pleasant memories (I know one of you visited Singapore before. =D)

We understand that you have many more months on the road so we wish you well and hope you enjoy yourselves!

We will be making some improvements to the hostel so if you do return, look out for the changes!

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    200
    72
    18
    3
See reviews for
49
55
109
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

5 min walk from Boonkeng Station.
Bus stops in front of the hostel - win.
One of the cheapest hostels in SG.

Bedsheet had stains.
Bathrooms In the main bldg were okay.
Booking is very easy.

Would probably stay here as a last resort, nothing more.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmdsalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hi Rmdsalv,

We are sorry to hear about the stains on the bedsheets. It is not our standard to place stained sheets for our guests. Rest assure the team will be reminded to look out for such details when they go about their duties.

However, we would like to thank you for this feedback and hope that we can be of service to you in future.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It's my first time to go out of the country (Philippines), first time to travel solo, first time in Singapore, and first time to book in a hostel!

I'm really expecting less (since it's cheap) so i have booked for 2 days only thinking to book in another hostel afterwards. But the first time I set foot on 'The Hive', the homey and comfy atmosphere welcomed me and I instantly fell in love with the place! Thus I decided to book there for the rest of my stay in Singapore (12 days, from Jan 31 to Feb 12, 2012)!

I have booked to a 12 bed female dorm but I was placed in an 6 bed female dorm (because it's fully booked already) which was just awesome since i got it for the same price! And to add that I have the room by myself for several days so it's like I'm in a private room! Cool! =))

The staffs were A-okay! They're really accommodating and friendly and would take the extra mile to make your stay comfortable!

For the breakfast, accommodation, location, rate and staffs, It'll be three stars for me!!!! =)

I'm really really thankful for 'The Hive' for making my stay in Singapore a memorable one! It has been my second home and would definitely stay there when I visit Sg again!

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: just ask for a place / room that's not fully occupied (if you're to choose a dorm type room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeAnde N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hey hey LeAnde N,

It is really heart-warming to know The Hive made you felt so comfortable. We do our best and hope every one that stays with us leaves with a positive experience.

Our staff will be very glad to hear that they have served you well.

If there is anything you think we can add or improve, feel free to drop us an email. Thanks and good day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Sorry for the late review but I traveled here way back in 2008, and it is very great . The staff back then were very friendly and helpful. I even got a chance to use their computer for free, and during the night, I can watch the television in the lounge area just like when I'm at home. They serve breakfast too, giving us some bread to make toast, and drinks like coffee or tea. Yeah, maybe I'm a bit late to review about this hostel, but I don't mind going back there and stay here again. Oh, I lied about going there in march 2011, it was actually march 2008 =)

Room Tip: Any room would be good , i guess .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicious1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hey Vicious1990,

This is indeed a surprise! We really appreciate you sharing your experiences with the world even if it is 4 yrs later (not late...but just later. =D)

We have changed over the years and if you do have the chance to come by Singapore, you might want to just pop by and say hi. Breakfast offerings have improved just so you know!

Thank you once again!! We really appreciate this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Friends and I flew in to Singapore for Laneway Festival. Originally, I suggested we all stay in the same hostel so we could occupy an entire dorm-type room but they dilly-dallied on their reservations so I went ahead and booked a twin-room for me and my mom (who tagged along the trip) for Feb 9 to 15.

We were given the Daisy room which had a balcony and a sink as a smoking area. Was pretty pleased because that meant I didn't have to go down to the street for a quick smoke lol. The twin room is pretty basic with ample space (especially compared to the two double rooms I saw in our building): two single beds, a small table, one chair, a shelf to put stuff on, and wall hooks for clothes (no cabinets but that wasn't a problem since we barely unpacked our suitcases anyway). There are two bathrooms on our floor but we took a particular liking to the one with windows that opened up into Lavender St and Serangoon Rd as it was bigger and cleaner than the other one. There is no shower curtain to divide the shower area from the toilet bowl and that really wasn't much of a problem; if wet toilet seats bother you, there is always toilet paper to wipe it dry anyway. There is also a blow dryer in one of the hallways, which I was glad for!

The building we were in is accessible with an electronic key card so safety/security wasn't an issue. Not that I was worried, I find Singapore to be such a chill, safe place.

I read reviews on TripAdvisor beforehand and knew that the blankets provided were basically thin, scratchy things. I thought about bringing my own blanket but decided to just save space, suck it up, and wear a jacket if I got cold in the night. I slept comfortably my entire stay, even though I'm used to having two pillows while sleeping. Could be due to exhaustion, too, lol.

Location is perfect. I chose The Hive because it was near the Boon Keng MRT. Mustafa Center is a quick walk down Serangoon and Drop Inn and Drop Inn Too (where a few friends were staying) are just down the road along Lavender. There are several bus stops in the area, too, which was very convenient for me, having discovered gothere.sg during the trip. There is a 24-hour hawker center along Bendemeer Rd with a 7-11 nearby. A Claypot Rice restaurant is across the street and there are a couple more hawkers along Beatty Rd (I think; the street across Gopal's along Serangoon), one with a very nice auntie who let us stay and drink beer way past closing. A cab ride from Clark Quay cost me 8SGD-10SGD (including the night surcharge).

My only complaint is the wonky wifi connection in our room, which kind of prevented me from getting much work done. Everything else was just right and well worth what we paid (55SGD a night). Would definitely stay at The Hive again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Hey hey Helga W!

It was a pity your friends wasn't staying with us. It would be so much fun having a big group in the hostel.

We hope the sign at the balcony door didnt force you to smoke more than you usually would. =p

I am glad on the whole The Hive has served you well. We will definitely work on the WiFi part so thank you for the feedback.

Till the next time, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Just got back from Singapore, stayed at Hive for a night. Made a booking via email, the staff replied me promptly. Me and my friends arrived Singapore early in the morning, the staff let us to leave our luggage at the hostel for free before check in and after we checked out.

I took 2 double bed rooms. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Toilets are also clean. Me and my friends enjoyed our stay and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derpette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Hi nabesh,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your kind compliments.

It is our goal to respond to emails within 24hours of receipt and I am glad we are keeping to that.

We hope to see you again if there's a chance because we are going through some major changes to make The Hive THE hostel to stay in.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My first experience of a backpacker . Had to travel to Singapore on 9th Feb for holiday and had my hotels already booked from 9th. However, had to come for some good reason I must say on 7th to Singapore and had no place to stay :-(
Called HIVE from airport. The first experience of customer service - Exellent. The way I was addresed over the phone by Mahesh(sorry if I got the name wrong), made me make up my mind for this place. Booked a QUAD private as was with my wife and IN-LAWS !!! So now u guys know that with inlaws and wife I stayed in this place and I AM HAPPY so this place have got something. The shared bathroom(it was not just the shower or a toilet, this as a BIG bathroom with all) was bang opposite to our room. Convinent and a 5 mins walk to MRT. This place is clean, safe and in very good hands. Definetly recomended for those who are not fussy and for those who do not expect for a 7 star facility for the price being paid.
To the Hive management - The biggest compliment for you guys is that my Father-in-Law said to me - Man u should have booked this place for all the 7 days of our stay in Singapore ... :-) I would have loved but I could'nt do so as I was booked on a NON-REFUNNDABLE rate in a 3 * hotel already :-( ..... Will C U guys soon.
Thanks...

Room Tip: If looking for a QUAD, must go for the MARIGOLD.. The DECENT breakfast if free for all with free co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitwikK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Hey RitwikK!

We are very very glad that you and your family slept well at The Hive.

We love your father-in-law! =) We loved that he didnt mind roughing it out at a backpackers' hostel.

As for Mahesh (yes, you got the name right!), we will pass on the compliments to him. It would make his day to hear such nice comments.

Wherever you are right now, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#51 of 231 in Singapore
294 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#46 of 231 in Singapore
496 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#23 of 231 in Singapore
492 reviews
Mitraa Inn
#41 of 231 in Singapore
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hive Singapore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hive Singapore Hostel

Property: The Hive Singapore Hostel
Address: 624 Serangoon Road The Hive, Singapore 218223, Singapore (Formerly The Hive Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hive Singapore Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Before we tell you more about us, you have to read this: _________________________________________________ FREE WIFI - Connections are strong and stable in all corners of The Hive all the time FREE BREAKFAST - Unlimited Toast, jam spread, milk and cereals FREE LUGGAGE STORAGE - Safe keep your backpacks with us after check-out FREE COFFEE & TEA WHOLE DAY - a way to say "Thank you" to our guests FREE LAUNDRY SERVICES - no charge to use our washing machines & dryer between 1900 to 0700 hrs FREE MAP - helping you to get around easier FREE OVERSEAS CALL - always helping you to feel at home LESS than five minutes walk to nearest MRT station NO CURFEW - armed with our hostel access card, you can enter our hostel anytime COMPETITIVE RATES - beating off many competitions FAMILY / GROUP FRIENDLY - with so many dorm configurations, you'll find something just for you TV ROOM WITH CABLE TV - if you like to stay in, you can enjoy HBO movies, basketball, football, Formula One, Tennis and more XBOX KINECT & BOARD GAMES - more to do if you want to stay away from the scorching sun SPACIOUS LOUNGE - what many hostels are unable to provide, we have a huge lounge just for everything BRANDED MATTRESS - providing you a good quality and comfortable sleep after a long day CLEAN LINENS - cleanliness will bring you back to us again ......and lots more for you to experience when you stay at The Hive. Established since December 2004, The Hive is one of the pioneer hostels in Singapore. We enjoyed a long history of providing our guests with affordable accommodation and excellent service. With such a rich history behind us, there is only one characteristic about us: CHANGE. The Hive is always improving to provide better for our guests and their feedbacks are our best testimonials. Located in the centre of Singapore, we are every reason a traveller should stay with us. Boon Keng MRT Station, which is just less than five minutes away from our hostel, has a direct train to most tourist attractions. We have a more welcoming atmosphere, a big communal lounge great for interaction, cable channels offering The Premier League, Champions League, F1, tennis - something the hotels are lacking. Surely the next best alternative to hotels??? The Hive is also the place for a family/group stay-over. Groupacking...why travel in pairs when it's much more fun in groups? Start packing for your next Groupacking trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hive Singapore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hive Backpackers Hotel Singapore
The Hive Singapore Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing